We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Old Borough

$Indian, ,
Main Street, Swords CO. DUBLIN, Ireland
+353 1 808 4103
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent37%
  • Very good27%
  • Average13%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible15%
Travellers talk about
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Indian, Gastropub, Bar, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Main Street, Swords CO. DUBLIN, Ireland
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (234)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 220 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I am a stickler for good food and service. Well with Nicole managing with her staff Christine ,Grace, Amy the chef they set a great standard. Nothing is to much trouble. Everything is value for money. Thanks again guys for keeping up the standards. Regards...More

1  Thank Chris C
Nicolle O, Manager at The Old Borough, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Chris , as always I value your reviews so thank you for taking the time to say a some great things about the pub and the Team. W love to hear that we are making our customers visit a good one and that they...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We ate here late as we had been traveling. The food was very good. It was clean and not too crowded. We will return next time we are in Swords. This was a return trip to The Old Boroughs for us.More

1  Thank Georgia M
Nicolle O, Manager at The Old Borough, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Georgia M, I am delighted that you have returned to us again and that we did not disappoint you . We pride ourselves on our great food and spotless environment and are glad you enjoyed your time with us again. We look forward to...More

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

I enjoyed an evening meal with a friend at the Old Borough recently and we were both very impressed. The food was very tasty and very reasonably priced. We both enjoyed our meal in a friendly atmosphere - not only were the staff very friendly...More

1  Thank Seán M
Nicolle O, Manager at The Old Borough, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Sean M, thanks you so much for the lovely review. We do have a great reputation for good value food and drink and it's always nice to hear from our customers and know we are doing something right. We are a very community based...More

Reviewed 24 September 2017

Went for lunch with two visitors from England. Had first class meal and service. Steaks were cooked to perfection. Lovely atmosphere and very clean. Special thanks to Lucy and Amy for their efficient service and pleasant manner. We will certainly be back.More

Thank yvonne n
Nicolle O, Manager at The Old Borough, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi yvonne n, I am so glad you enjoyed your steaks. We are one of the best around for our top quality 100% Irish Beef. Both Lucy and Amy will be delighted to hear your wonderful comments. And please do come back to see us...More

Reviewed 13 September 2017 via mobile

Nice place to go with friends to have a few drinks and some good food and all very affordable. Nice to spent the evening here.More

1  Thank Stefan H
Nicolle O, Manager at The Old Borough, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Stefan H, great to hear you like spending time with us and that we have made your visit a good one. We will continue to keep offering our great food and drinks at affordable prices day in day out. Hope to have you back...More

Reviewed 28 August 2017 via mobile

We went in with a group on a Saturday night at 10pm for a friend's Birthday. Drinks were very cheap, around €4 for a pint which was great. We were waiting a long time for a drink, far longer then you would expect, even on...More

1  Thank BrendanOBrienIRL
Nicolle O, Manager at The Old Borough, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

Hi BrendanOBrienIRL, Oh Dear your visit was not a good one and I apolgise for this and hope it didnt spoil the Birthday celebrations. I apologise for the slow service on the bar and have investigated this as its only when we are informed about...More

Reviewed 25 August 2017

My family and I were in swords a few weekends ago and decided to call in as we had never been in before. We were all delighted that we did!! The kids and some members of my family ordered pizza and we had a few...More

1  Thank Conehead798
Nicolle O, Manager at The Old Borough, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

Hello Conehead798, I am so pleased to hear the whole family enjoyed their visit to us. We have only just introduced Pizza to our menu and its going really well. It is all freshly made to order and is going down a storm with all...More

Reviewed 25 August 2017 via mobile

If your looking for that traditional Irish breakfast or even something different. Cooked fresh and served with a smile by Christiine and Amy Victor came up trumps on a perfect breakfast. Always consistant. Try it out. Great value for money. Fully recommended.More

1  Thank Chris C
Nicolle O, Manager at The Old Borough, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

Hi Chris , delighted that you enjoyed you your time with us. Its always great to hear that the Team have excelled yet again. We pride ourselves on our Friendly Front of House team and Christine and Amy will be so pleased to read your...More

Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

We found this place by chance ,we went in had lunch was the usual standard of weatherspoons good food .staff very helpful and great prices considering you are in a Irish pub ,we would go back when in area againMore

Thank plea772
Nicolle O, Manager at The Old Borough, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

Hi plea772 delighted to hear we helped make your experience a good one and that you will come back to us again. We pride ourselves on giving great service and quality and of course great value to each and every one of our valued customers....More

Reviewed 10 August 2017 via mobile

Great pub with amazing value and super food! Two dinners and two drinks for 22euro! Great value for money!More

Thank David C
Nicolle O, Manager at The Old Borough, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

Hey David C, great to hear from you and I am so glad you love our pub. Yes, we do have some great deals especially on our CLUB NIGHTS . Steaks , Curries, Chicken and Fish we always have something for you to try at...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Old School House Bar and Restaurant
816 reviews
.07 km away
Wrights Cafe Bar
388 reviews
.08 km away
Ruby's Pizza and Grill
280 reviews
.20 km away
Masterson's Steak House & Wine Bar
659 reviews
.27 km away
Nearby Attractions
Swords Castle
100 reviews
.37 km away
Swords Round Tower
11 reviews
.22 km away
Penthouse Casino & Card Club
13 reviews
1.37 km away
Pavilions Shopping Centre
75 reviews
.29 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
SHAUN B
13 October 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Nicolle O | Property representative |
Hi telveskid we dont have any Sports Channels, but we do have the best breakfast in town served from 8am to 12 noon. We also serve the best beers and Ales and with prices starting from €2.75 you know it makes sense to come... More
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$4 - US$20
Cuisine
Indian, Gastropub, Bar, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Waitstaff, Full Bar, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Bar Scene, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
8:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Monday
8:00 AM - 11:30 PM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 11:30 PM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 11:30 PM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 11:30 PM
Friday
8:00 AM - 12:30 AM
Saturday
8:00 AM - 12:30 AM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Main Street, Swords CO. DUBLIN, Ireland (Formerly Old Boro)
  • Location: Europe  >  Ireland  >  Province of Leinster  >  County Dublin  >  Swords
  • Phone Number: +353 1 808 4103
  • E-mail
Description
A must visit for anyone coming to Swords for the first time or for a repeat visit. Originally opened as a School in 1809 The Old Borough is located at the junction of Main Street Swords and Malahide Road. It is a stones throw from Dublin Airport. Now owned by JD Wetherspoon a very successful company established in 1979 and now has over 1000 Gastropubs in the U.K. It has been renovated to the highest standard and has a capacity for 400 people and has a beautiful beer garden and heated smoking area. The Menu is varied from Breakfast served from 8am to Steaks, Burgers, Pasta and Curry and Fish and Chips and a great desserts!! All food is served till 11pm every night. Our Drinks Menu has a large range of World Beers and Craft Beers and we are renowned for our selection of Ales and Draught Larger. The Old Borough is warm and friendly with a great community spirit. The staff are trained to the highest standards to ensure that all visitors are made welcome and receive 'THE PERFECT SERVE'. We look forward to seeing you soon and to reading your reviews.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing