We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mango Tree

Market Square, Kirkby Stephen CA17 4QT, England
+44 17683 74960
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent64%
  • Very good22%
  • Average7%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“curry” (30 reviews)
“poppadoms” (21 reviews)
“indian food” (19 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Indian, Asian, Balti, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
DETAILS
Market Square, Kirkby Stephen CA17 4QT, England
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
Write a Review
Reviews (331)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 331 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago

Ok, the place is set in a lovely bit of the country and being that there's only a Chinese just around the corner for evening competition we thought we'd give it a whirl. A number of beers were on offer so I settled for an...More

Thank BoltonNoonoo
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

We were in Kirby Stephen for 1 night on our coast to coast walk and we fancied something different from pub food. This was an excellent choice, as it also seemed to be for all the other walkers we had met who were all here...More

Thank Richard F
Reviewed 6 days ago

we have eaten here before and food has been good once and not good once before. This time it was definitely not good and we were very disappointed as was our vegetarian guest who was so looking forward to it. The Korma was bright pink...More

Thank kathy a
Reviewed 1 week ago

Whilst staying locally we decided to try The Mango Tree after reading positive reviews. We were not disappointed the service was good and the food was excellent. Will definitely visit again if in the area.

Thank Caz231154
Reviewed 1 week ago

Four of us had an early meal here on Saturday 13th May. Very busy so book in advance. It's popular because it is fantastic. The food and service are magnificent. We were not disappointed and thoroughly enjoyed our meal. Already looking forward to the next...More

Thank LinaYorkshire
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

5 of us came in for a meal whilst doing Coast to Coast, staying at Black Bull Inn (they highly recommend we it). We all really enjoyed it - well looked after and excellent food thanks!

Thank Mark H
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Fab curry and pilau rice very tasty and lots of chicken. Staff very attentive and helpful re choices, strength etc of curry.More

Thank hjunefot
savasaachi, Guest Relations Manager at Mango Tree, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your visit at Mango tree . It's really good to know that our staff helped to make your visit pleasant. We are highly glad that you choose us. We hope to see you again soon....More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

It's a tradition of ours to always have a curry when we're away - no matter how short our stay is! Before visiting Cumbria we did a bit of research on TA and decided Mango Tree would be the one we tried. We had been...More

Thank JessieWelsh
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We really enjoyed our meal at The Mango Tree. The food was delicious and the staff friendly. We will definitely be back very soon !More

Thank honest_chick
savasaachi, Guest Relations Manager at Mango Tree, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Your kinds words and effort to share this with us is well appreciated. We are happy to hear, you had a memorable time here. It's really nice to see that our effort in Service and our arrangments find its recognition as well. Thanks...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Visited tonight with my wife for a birthday meal,starters were excellent but main meal was average,tables were too close together and the noise was very loud.

Thank _david2carter
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Black Bull Hotel
158 reviews
.08 km away
The Mulberry Bush
166 reviews
.09 km away
Century Chinese Restaurant
74 reviews
.03 km away
Nearby Attractions
Stainmore Railway Company
80 reviews
1.32 km away
Church Gallery
44 reviews
.07 km away
Platform 3 Play
23 reviews
1.20 km away
Sunsoar Paragliding Ltd - Day Courses
13 reviews
1.19 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
JessAtLife
Is the restraunt dog friendly ?
24 August 2016|
Answer Show all 6 answers
Response from Ruth290 | Reviewed this property |
No I don't believe dogs are allowed in
0
Votes
Al R
Hello, We are thinking of coming for a meal at your restaurant but couldn't see anything on your site about catering for dietary requirements. I have Coeliac Disease which requires me to be 100% gluten free or I will become quite unwell. In addition to dishes containing gluten, cross contamination from shared oil, utensils and preparation areas is also an issue due to the sensitivity of the intolerance. Can you please advise whether it is possible to accommodate this dietary requirement? Kind Regards, Al
14 August 2016|
What is your answer?
Posting guidelines
Submit
pishtico
Can I book in advance for a party of aprox 20 people for saturday and are there taxi available to get back to ravenscroftdale later
28 January 2015|
What is your answer?
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol
Good for
Romantic, Groups, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
17:00 - 23:00
Monday
17:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
17:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
17:00 - 23:00
Thursday
17:00 - 23:00
Friday
17:00 - 23:00
Saturday
17:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Market Square, Kirkby Stephen CA17 4QT, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cumbria  >  Lake District  >  Eden District  >  Kirkby Stephen
  • Phone Number: +44 17683 74960
  • E-mail