We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Fynbos Gourmet Restaurant

$$ - $$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
31 Marsh Street, Mossel Bay 6506, South Africa
+27 44 691 1366
Website
Today
08:30 - 17:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon - Fri 08:30 - 17:00
Sat 08:30 - 13:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

114 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 106: English reviews
Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 January 2016

The quality of the food offered and the service at the Fynbos has not changed for the last ten years. Always clean, service is pleasant and the decor is beautiful. It's great to browse around the shop before or after your meal. The outdoor area is wonderfully shady and quiet. A truly worthwhile visit every time.

Helpful?
Thank lemereis
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2016

On arrival I was told that my 7 year old son was not welcome as they are scared children might break something. This is unacceptable and we left immediately. We will never go there again.

Helpful?
Thank Guestwithkids
fynbos1, Owner at Fynbos Gourmet Restaurant, responded to this review

Due to the nature of our business we do not allow children under ten years. This is the rule for the last fifteen years. More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 8 January 2016 via mobile

We ordered a butternut soup as a starter, and a liver pate appetiser which was claimed to be accompanied with a 'small salad'. This salad soon proved to be a mere lettuce leaf, half a slice of tomatoe and a cucumber - this my dear comrades is a GARNISH! In addition to this, the poor service severely dissapointed. 15 minutes... More 

Helpful?
Thank Emilia N
fynbos1, Owner at Fynbos Gourmet Restaurant, responded to this review

It is very disappointing to receive a comment like this...we work very hard to offer good food and friendly service..we are sorry that it did not meet your expectations.It depends on the type of meal that the guests who came after you ordered...some food take longer to prepare than others. It is also the end of a very busy holiday... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2016 via mobile

Lovely coffee shop armosphere...quiche and toasted sandwiches enjoyable...hood servi e...lovely gift shop attached to coffee shop....lovely quaint old world feel..

Helpful?
Thank nadinav2016
fynbos1, Owner at Fynbos Gourmet Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for the positive comments and I am glad your visit was enjoyable. I will pass on to the team. More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2015 via mobile

Travelled a long distance after booking and we were not allowed due to my baby being under 10. I do not have a problem with rules...but please give the info when booking and update your website.

Helpful?
Thank coenrade
fynbos1, Owner at Fynbos Gourmet Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks for alerting us to this. We have done the update and apologise for the inconvience. More 

Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
52 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2015 via mobile

If you want to browse for gifts this is nice place, while I shopped my husband tried the curry on recommendations of the waitress and was hugely disappointed. I believe they should stick to tea and sandwiches they are allot of excellent competition in the same street

Helpful?
Thank KarenKay41
fynbos1, Owner at Fynbos Gourmet Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for the positive comment. We work hard to offer good food and friendly service to our customers. Our curry is a favourite among our guests ..and I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations. More 

Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2015 via mobile

A quaint and quiet restaurant which does not allow children under 10, but it does make for a pleasant break from the norm. My toasted mince, mushroom, cheese and tomato was lovely but my wife's chicken liver pate was pretty unexciting. It was a big plus for us that smoking is allowed in the pretty outside garden area. Will certainly... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hamish S
fynbos1, Owner at Fynbos Gourmet Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks for alerting us to this...we work hard to offer good food and friendly service and look forward to your next visit. More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 December 2015 via mobile

Stylish and classy. The food and ambiance is worth a visit. Beautiful gifts. Restaurant and outside seating area is tranquil and decoration stylish.

Helpful?
Thank Amelia v
fynbos1, Owner at Fynbos Gourmet Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the positive comments...it is always encouraging when customers acknowledge the good work of our team. Looking forward to see you soon. More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 21 December 2015 via mobile

Been there today, horrible service. Not very attentive, i had to go every time and ask to serve us. They NEVER CLEANED THE PLATES. They are so confused there regarding their own business. Wouldn't recommend going there soon.

Helpful?
Thank kobusk172
fynbos1, Owner at Fynbos Gourmet Restaurant, responded to this review

Accept our apologies for the "horrible service" ...You do not mention that the food was horrible...This is the silly season and we try our best to keep up the good standards that our customers are used to. More 

Rustenburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2015 via mobile

This is the cutest little resturand a MUST... food is realy amazing. We could'nt decide what to eat so we ate 2 disshes each and took pudding home aswell. Love this place

Helpful?
Thank Kati D

Travellers who viewed Fynbos Gourmet Restaurant also viewed

Mossel Bay, Western Cape
 
Mossel Bay, Western Cape
Mossel Bay, Western Cape
 
Mossel Bay, Western Cape
Mossel Bay, Western Cape
 

Been to Fynbos Gourmet Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$5 - US$10
Cuisine
Cafe
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch
Restaurant features
Wheelchair Accessible, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Outdoor Seating
Good for
Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Monday
08:30 - 17:00
Tuesday
08:30 - 17:00
Wednesday
08:30 - 17:00
Thursday
08:30 - 17:00
Friday
08:30 - 17:00
Saturday
08:30 - 13:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 31 Marsh Street, Mossel Bay 6506, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Mossel Bay
  • Phone Number: +27 44 691 1366
Description
This cosy coffee shop is situated in a Victorian-inspired pavilion, with outdoor seating available in the lush courtyard. Breakfast and lunch are served - and whether you feel like a cappuccino and a slice of cake, a breakfast or a light lunch, Fynbos Coffee Shop serves it with flair. It is a busy coffee shop and popular lunchtime meeting spot during the day. Dishes are inspired by local availability, trends and the seasons, with something for every taste. Due to the nature of our business we do not allow children under ten years.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Fynbos Gourmet Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?