We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Dead Fish

20050 San Pablo Ave, Crockett, CA 94525-1028
+1 510-787-3323
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent45%
  • Very good34%
  • Average13%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“crab” (81 reviews)
“seafood” (33 reviews)
Closes in 5 min
11:00 - 22:00All hours
CUISINES
American, Seafood, Soups, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
20050 San Pablo Ave, Crockett, CA 94525-1028
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (382)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 377 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago

This little gem of a restaurant is a destination place for lunch or dinner. Located high on a bluff overlooking Cal Maritime and just over the Benicia Bridge, the restaurant serves delicious seafood. We had a great crab and avocado appetizer and main dishes were...More

Thank Elizabeth G
Cody G, General Manager at The Dead Fish, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thank you for the excellent review, Elizabeth! It's outstanding you had such an amazing experience with us! We're delighted you enjoyed our fresh and delicious dishes so much and that our team made you feel so welcome and assisted you in any way. We aim...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Their calamari steak melts in your mouth. I would highly recommend it. The roasted crab was a bit small portion for the price.More

Thank Deborah F
Cody G, General Manager at The Dead Fish, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thanks for your review, Deborah! It's fantastic you had such a wonderful experience with us! We're delighted you enjoyed our mouthwatering dishes so much. The calamari steak was a great choice, a real fan favorite. We strive to ensure our guests have a memorable experience...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

This restaurant is a small chain belonging to the same group as the Franciscan, Cioppinos, The Stinking Rose, etc. The crab is roasted and oh so good. They do roaseted combos like shrinp, mussels and crab too. The prime rib is also excellent. In fact...More

Thank Melinda B
Cody G, General Manager at The Dead Fish, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for sharing the outstanding review, Melinda! It was a pleasure hosting you and providing you with a perfectly cooked meal. Serving our guests only the most exceptional cuisine is something we take very seriously and we couldn't be happier that you had such...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Making reservations were easy and simple. No wait time until we were seated. Appetizers and food were amazing. You have the option to sit at the bar, get seated at a inside table or have the option to sit outside to enjoy the beautiful view....More

Thank Coco_8116
Cody G, General Manager at The Dead Fish, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for sharing, Coco! We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful meal with us at The Dead Fish. We're so glad that you loved your meal and our service. We aim to please our guests with our warm hospitality and delicious...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely location, great seafood and good service: overall memories are very good. One disappointment however. We booked over a week in advance for a party of 9: a Golden Wedding celebration, and we asked for a table with a nice view. We were place outside...More

Thank MichaelP24442
Cody G, General Manager at The Dead Fish, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for the 4/5 rating, Michael! We're happy you had a pleasant experience with us and appreciated our location and service. It's unfortunate you had such challenges with your seating. We're disappointed we couldn't accommodate your needs and fix the problem. We hold ourselves...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Well the view and location is spectacular. They have outside dining and binoculars at some tables near the windows. The food is very good a little spent what do you expect.More

Thank toohuge
Cody G, General Manager at The Dead Fish, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Guest, Thanks for the amazing review!  It's wonderful you enjoyed your time with us so much!  We're delighted you appreciated our convenient location with its beautiful views.  We love sharing our breathtaking sights with our guests and your praise lets us know we're succeeding!...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our favorite waiters, waitresses, and bus boy at The Dead Fish. Birthday girls dinner, and as usual, very very good. Just wish that they would not overcook the shrimp whenever I order the fish stew. Other than that, we had a great dinner. Wife ordered...More

Thank John F
Cody G, General Manager at The Dead Fish, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for the 5/5 rating, John! We're thrilled to hear you enjoy dining with us! It's fantastic that you were provided with excellent service and enjoyed your meals as well. We look forward to hosting you again soon during your next special occasion, and...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We spent a fabulous Friday evening, with some wonderful friends, at the Dead fish. Robert was our server and he was simply amazing! We shared the calamari, the shrimp and mussles, and the fish and chips. Also, the chocolate mousse bomb and slated caramel cake....More

Thank Tracy P
Cody G, General Manager at The Dead Fish, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for the great review, Tracy! We're happy your time with us was so wonderful!  We care about our guests so we strive to offer the highest levels of service as well as fresh and delicious food.  It's fantastic you enjoyed our mouthwatering dishes so much...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Great for groups and celebrations and or families, fun environment & beautiful view. Food was good, definitely would like to come back for brunchMore

Thank Lunarrr
Cody G, General Manager at The Dead Fish, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest. Thank you for the wonderful review!  It's outstanding your time with us was so fantastic!  We're thrilled you enjoyed our ambiance and stunning views so much.  We strive for excellence and your praise for our delicious food lets us know we're doing our job!  We can't wait...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We sat in the pub area. The service was wonderful. We had the best experience. I had the smoked salmon pan omelette. It was very yummy for the price. This place has character and the most amazing views

Thank Dane M
Cody G, General Manager at The Dead Fish, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks for your review, Dane! We're so happy you enjoyed your experience with us! It's wonderful to hear that our food an service met your expectations. We aim to please! We can't wait to host you again in the future! Have a fantastic day!

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Bull Valley Roadhouse
128 reviews
4.32 km away
The Nantucket
58 reviews
.31 km away
Ricky's Corner
5 reviews
3.81 km away
Nearby Attractions
Franklin Canyon Golf Course
5 reviews
5.43 km away
San Francisco Bay Ferry Vallejo Service
255 reviews
5.67 km away
Benicia Capitol State Historic Park
61 reviews
6.40 km away
Benicia State Recreation Area
59 reviews
4.21 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Cynthiafong
21 February 2016|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from KKLMinnesota | Reviewed this property |
I would Not recommend it! Too busy, too crowded! I would be surprised if it is allowed. I work at a restaurant , dogs are not allowed on the deck at all. We have a couple picnic tables down in the grass and if your dog is on... More
0
Votes
E4468HCjerryb
26 June 2015|
Answer
Response from GiantsFan23 | Reviewed this property |
I have never brought a bottle, but according to their menu, they do not charge a corkage fee. :)
0
Votes
Jan B
20 June 2015|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Karen C | Reviewed this property |
Only service dogs, I believe. The "patio" is more like upscale cabana's although there are some tables and chairs, too.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$20
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Dining Style
Casual Dining
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, View, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 22:00
Monday
11:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 22:00
Thursday
11:00 - 22:00
Friday
11:00 - 22:00
Saturday
11:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 20050 San Pablo Ave, Crockett, CA 94525-1028
    (Pomona)
  • Location: United States  >  California (CA)  >  Crockett
  • Phone Number: +1 510-787-3323
Description
Enjoy spectacular views of the new Carquinez Bridge and serene San Pablo Bay while dining on the lushly planted patio with heated and cooled cabanas and twinkling lights. Unique weekend brunch with specialty cocktails. Specialties include 100% USDA Certified Prime, Prime Rib and whole Dungeness crab. Unique dining rooms for an intimate dinner or a large group. "We may have a funny name but we're dead serious about our food!!"
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing