We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Castaway Restaurant

670 Kendall Drive, San Bernardino, CA 92407
+1 909-881-1502
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent43%
  • Very good25%
  • Average19%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible10%
Travellers talk about
“brunch” (18 reviews)
“rice pilaf” (2 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
American, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
670 Kendall Drive, San Bernardino, CA 92407
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have been here before so my wife wanted to go here for our anniversary. It was a very hot day and the climate inside was just as hot as the air conditioner was either not on or working in the man dining room where...More

Thank Jeffrey E
Castaway S, Manager at Castaway Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Jeffrey, Thank you for choosing The Castaway, San Bernardino, to celebrate your anniversary. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed most of your food. We will communicate with the team your experience. We always strive to deliver a five star experience to all of...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Very disappointed in our anniversary meal. Dined on a week night. Was in mood for prime rib..medium. paid $31.00 FOR prime that looked cooked in microwave. Medium on one side and well done on other side. Left over from other night and reheated? Had shrimp...More

Thank bretandkathleen
Castaway S, Manager at Castaway Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Bret and Kathleen, Thank you for choosing The Castaway, San Bernardino to celebrate your anniversary. We apologize we did not deliver the five star experience we always strive to deliver to all of our guests. We will communicate with the staff your experience, to...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The best thing about this restaurant is the view. It is way over priced for the quality of food that they serve. We live close by and would love to have a nice, fairly priced, good place to eat. Unfortunately, we feel that Castaway is...More

Thank execforkids1
Castaway S, Manager at Castaway Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for choosing The Castaway, San Bernardino. We apologize we did not deliver the five star experience we strive to deliver to all of our guests. We will learn and grow from your feedback. Thank you for taking the time to review us, and...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Castaway, an Inland Empire destination that came recommend from several friends as being a great place for a nice dinner. Neither were accurate- the view is the only thing that this place has going for it. Location: Its on a blind curve in the...More

Thank Nimisis303
Reviewed 14 June 2017

We have visited Castaways four times in the past 20 months and each time, our Sunday brunch experience has declined. . . . from the service to the food. The buffet boasts a wide variety, however, the food is lacking in flavor and uniqueness. The...More

Thank JO92373
Castaway S, Manager at Castaway Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2017

Hello, Thank you for choosing The Castaway, San Bernardino. We apologize your experience has not held up to the five star experience we always strive to deliver. We hear your concerns and want to better ourselves for all of our future guests. We will communicate...More

Reviewed 30 May 2017

Proves why I will drive over an HOUR for a Better Dining Experience. We made reservations for after seeing a great Performance of EVITA down the hill at the Ca Theater. We were in a festive mood and wanting to celebrate my sister's Bday with...More

Thank IESHORTIE
Castaway S, Manager at Castaway Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2017

Hello, Thank you for choosing The Castaway, San Bernardino to celebrate your sister's birthday. We sincerely apologize for not delivering the five star experience we always strive to deliver. If you wouldn't mind, we would like to gather a little more information from you. What...More

Reviewed 28 May 2017

I tried the loaded pasta which sounded great. However it lacked flavor and I could not add enough Tobasco sauce to enjoy it. Wasted $26 and was disappointed. My other friends were not impressed and we will not return. Great view of San Bernardino. Might...More

Thank Brenda O
Castaway S, Manager at Castaway Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2017

HI Brenda, Thank you for joining us at The Castaway! I'm glad to hear you enjoyed the view! We apologize for not delivering a five star experience we always strive to deliver. We will discuss with the team your review and will focus on improving...More

Reviewed 12 April 2017 via mobile

I've been to several weddings, meetings and Sunday brunch. The food has always been good and the view is spectacular on a clear San Bernardino day. In the evening the lights of the city are mesmerizing. The prices are definitely higher, but I don't think...More

Thank LBenson75
Castaway S, Manager at Castaway Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2017

Thank you for your kind words! And thank you for taking the time to review us. We are glad to hear that you are enjoying yourself, and we hope to you again soon! Alicia Chigbrow Restaurant Manager

Reviewed 21 February 2017

Ive been eating at the castaways for decades. It had different owners off and on, so the food was hit and miss. NOT ANYMORE. A few years ago it was purchased by a family owned business. The food, service is perfect. If you want the...More

Thank Mark J
Castaway S, Manager at Castaway Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2017

Thank you Mark for your kind words! We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed yourself. We always strive to deliver a five star experience to all of our guests! We hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 13 February 2017

The location and atmosphere is beautiful. Our waiter Caesar was great. The food service was HORRIBLE. We went last night (01/12) to celebrate valentines early since my husband works nights. I understand they were busy however I feel the service was unacceptable. Took a little...More

Thank tanayaramirez
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Rosa Maria's
90 reviews
1.18 km away
D J Coffee Shop
35 reviews
1.45 km away
Ye Olde Lamplighter
15 reviews
1.40 km away
Nearby Attractions
San Bernardino National Forest
100 reviews
4.82 km away
San Manuel Casino
204 reviews
6.24 km away
Original McDonald's Site and Museum
168 reviews
3.90 km away
San Manuel Stadium
52 reviews
7.04 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
joyojeda
28 April 2016|
Answer
Response from meshesha57 | Reviewed this property |
For adults $49.95, for kids $21.95.
0
Votes
gardenrose
24 December 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Leesa R | Reviewed this property |
When we got married there, we stayed at the Radisson on E St. A few miles away. Pretty sure it has closed now. I believe there are a couple motels not too far away, but there is nothing very nice. The restaurant is in an ok... More
0
Votes
Socorro V
3 January 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Julie J | Reviewed this property |
If you go for the early bird dinner before 6:00 I'd say no you don't! After 6:00 I would make one. And remember you have to ask for the early bird menu. They don't give it to you unless you ask. It's a good deal. Trust me.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Private Dining
Good for
View, Business meetings, Groups, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 14:00
16:30 - 21:00
Monday
16:30 - 21:00
Tuesday
16:30 - 21:00
Wednesday
16:30 - 21:00
Thursday
16:30 - 21:00
Friday
16:30 - 22:00
Saturday
16:30 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 670 Kendall Drive, San Bernardino, CA 92407
  • Location: United States  >  California (CA)  >  San Bernardino
  • Phone Number: +1 909-881-1502
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing