We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Italian Underground Restaurant

715 Grand Ave, Glenwood Springs, CO 81601-3401
+1 970-945-6422
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent53%
  • Very good24%
  • Average15%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“lasagna” (46 reviews)
“sherbet” (31 reviews)
“bread” (67 reviews)
Open Now
5:00 PM - 10:00 PMAll hours
CUISINES
Italian, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
715 Grand Ave, Glenwood Springs, CO 81601-3401
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (597)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

181 - 190 of 592 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2016 via mobile

Good food. Great atmosphere. Get there right at 5 for no wait time. Best midweek with less crowds. Love the Italian sours

1  Thank Tiffanie R
Owner-TheIUgws, Owner at The Italian Underground Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2016

We love our locals!!! Thank you so much Tiffanie for the review, you just reminded me what I wanted to drink after work... mmmm... Italian Sour... yummy!

Reviewed 25 April 2016

If you don't want to wait better come when they open at 5 or wait until after the dinner rush. Maybe 7 ? If you do need to wait let me tell you that it is well worth the wait. This basement restaurant has a...More

1  Thank Kenneth M
Owner-TheIUgws, Owner at The Italian Underground Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2016

Thanks so much Kenneth and thank you for waiting!! We're glad you did!! See you again soon!

Reviewed 23 April 2016

Based on the other reviews, we tried the Underground. Cute place, good service but the food was not great....not horrible but completely uninspired. The homemade "italian bread" was like Wonder Bread. Once was enough!

Thank marilyn798
Owner-TheIUgws, Owner at The Italian Underground Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2016

Doesn't everyone like Wonder Bread?? Kidding... everyone loves our bread! Once is never enough... thanks for the review and feedback!

Reviewed 20 April 2016

We dined our first night on our stay at the Underground. It came highly recommended by friends from Denver. We certainly could see why. It was understandably very busy the Friday night we were there. Our wait was about 30-40mins and we did not mind...More

1  Thank ColoradoTravelguy
Owner-TheIUgws, Owner at The Italian Underground Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2016

Yay! Thank your friends for us and thank you for the fabulous review!

Reviewed 19 April 2016

this little hideway, is amazing, red checked table cloths, service great., family friendly, great food, but the atmosphere is so nice., down under the stairs, there is a tiny Italian restaurant, kinda hidden., but once you fine it, you will go back. swing bye, you...More

1  Thank Paula U
Owner-TheIUgws, Owner at The Italian Underground Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2016

Thanks so much Paula! What a great review! Hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 14 April 2016 via mobile

My cousin and I ate dinner here this evening and the wait staff was phenomenal! We both have young infants (under one) and they made us feel at ease and welcome. The food was great and reasonably priced. The drink selection was top notch. We...More

1  Thank Samantha R
Owner-TheIUgws, Owner at The Italian Underground Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2016

It's great to hear you had a nice time with your kiddos! It's good to know you felt welcome... I can understand how it is to have kids and get looks from servers. We're a family place, everyone is welcome! Thanks so much for the...More

Reviewed 11 April 2016

Authentic Italian. Great atmosphere and delicious food. Staff is friendly and the food is authentic!

1  Thank Glenn M
Owner-TheIUgws, Owner at The Italian Underground Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2016

Thanks so much for the review Glenn M. and the 5 stars!! So happy our food makes you happy, good 'ol comfort food!

Reviewed 8 April 2016

Service was adequate but not great. Waitress was not terribly friendly. The pasta was over cooked--almost mushy. The pesto was Ok as was the linguine with shrimp--but the pasta was so mushy it took away from the meal. The bread was dry--not fresh by any...More

Thank 3kidshome
Owner-TheIUgws, Owner at The Italian Underground Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2016

Sorry to hear your experience did not stand up to what you heard... very strange about the pasta being mushy, did you get gluten free pasta? That's what it sounds like, that stuff is mushy because it's not really pasta. If we over cooked the...More

Reviewed 26 March 2016 via mobile

When we first got there at around 6 pm the hostess told us the wait was about 15 minutes so we decided to wait and eat. Once we finally got seated we had waited for 45 minutes. The food was pretty good. Great value because...More

Thank kiko42
Owner-TheIUgws, Owner at The Italian Underground Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2016

And don't forget the bread that comes with the meal too! Thanks for the feedback and review kiko42!

Reviewed 22 March 2016

A friend recommended this place. The atmosphere is really cool. You go downstairs into an old building off the main street. Brick walls, red checked table cloths, just an old feeling. The food was good. We had the pizza and lasagna. The sauce was a...More

1  Thank jsink369
Owner-TheIUgws, Owner at The Italian Underground Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2016

Thanks for the review jsink369! Keeping it old school, we want you to feel like you're in Italy... and can you believe our sauce has barely any oregano in it... it's all fresh veggies!

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Riviera
196 reviews
.05 km away
Slope & Hatch
540 reviews
.05 km away
The Pullman
1,164 reviews
.10 km away
Glenwood Canyon Brewing Company
1,369 reviews
.14 km away
Nearby Attractions
Frontier Historical Museum
54 reviews
.39 km away
Glenwood Springs Branch Library
22 reviews
.14 km away
Cooper Corner Gallery
20 reviews
.12 km away
Art on 8th
8 reviews
.07 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Brenda M
1 October 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Ivebeenjudging | Reviewed this property |
Pastas yes, bread and pizzas no. Many things you can enjoy though.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$15 - US$20
Meals
Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Discover, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
5:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Monday
5:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Tuesday
5:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Wednesday
5:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Thursday
5:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Friday
5:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Saturday
5:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 715 Grand Ave, Glenwood Springs, CO 81601-3401
  • Location: United States  >  Colorado (CO)  >  Glenwood Springs
  • Phone Number: +1 970-945-6422
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing