We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Swan Country Pub and Restaurant

Certificate of Excellence
$$ - $$$
Bar, British, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
41 Main Road, Higher Kinnerton CH4 9AJ, Wales
+44 1244 292933
Website
Today
12:00 - 17:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 - 17:00
Tue - Fri 12:00 - 20:00
Sat 12:00 - 19:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

84 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 84: English reviews
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

My friend and I visited the Swan for lunch. We were made very welcome and enjoyed a delicious meal. Nothing was too much trouble and the food was reasonably priced. I can't imagine why I have not been there for at least 18 months. I have already made plans to visit again in 2 weeks time with different friends.

Helpful?
1 Thank Handbells2013
neil b, Owner at The Swan Country Pub and Restaurant, responded to this review

thank you so much for the time you spent to write this review ,I hope you enjoy your next visit as well, comments like these really boost our staff and moral .We have a new menu offering more steaks and a different range of specials. Kind regards More 

2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2017

My husband and I were invited to the Swan for New Year's Day lunch. Our table was reserved and ready. Service was immediate at the table..........no queuing at a till to order. There were a choice of starters. I had the pate which was really nice. I then had the carvery for mains. They were generous with the meat, turkey,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Karin S
neil b, Owner at The Swan Country Pub and Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review. We look forward to welcoming you again here at The Swan. More 

Wrexham County, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2017

Every Sunday we used to go and try to find somewhere for proper Sunday Lunch, plenty of places advertise great prices but you could have better at home. Now we go to the Swan because fabulous choice of meats, roasties, mash to die for and fresh veg and so reasonable priced would definitely recommend

Helpful?
Thank yaliexpat
neil b, Owner at The Swan Country Pub and Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments. More 

1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2016 via mobile

Went as a family for a meal on boxing day was very disappointed we sat at our table and the waitress took our order they brought all adult starters out then said the kids starters would not be a minute we had all eaten starters so went to bar to find out were kids starters were they then told me... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank bekiboo135
derbyshire
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2016

Had a lunch meal pie &mash , pretty sure it was packet mash frozen veg ,price ok for what you got. Large place which was ok. My wife had a snack which was fine & good value.

Helpful?
1 Thank bucksDerbyshire
neil b, Owner at The Swan Country Pub and Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. In response to your comments, I'm pleased that your wife enjoyed her toastie. The peas on your meal were frozen as fresh peas are not in season, however the carrots were fresh and we have NEVER used packet mashed potato. If you had addressed your comments to me while you... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2016 via mobile

Visited with family for Sunday lunch greeted by a pleasant young waitress service was excellent as well as the food the pork was especially tasty . Would highly recommend and we will be visiting again.

Helpful?
1 Thank Robert D
neil b, Owner at The Swan Country Pub and Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you again. Kind regards, Neil and Barbara More 

2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2016 via mobile

Walked to this pub from a local caravan site for dinner. The food was lovely and very reasonably priced. The beer was excellent and the staff were very friendly. We will definitely be back.

Helpful?
1 Thank Nia E
neil b, Owner at The Swan Country Pub and Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review on here , we look forward to seeing you on your next visit Thanks again Neil & Barbara More 

Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2016 via mobile

I recently booked the Swan Pub for a gathering of 15 friends. Barbara and Neil the pub owners far exceeded our expectations in every aspect. After I made the booking they took care of everything for me, including suggesting and putting together an incredible selection of food. I know each of the guests who attended will now all be using... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Suprasurfer
neil b, Owner at The Swan Country Pub and Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks for your review and taking the time to give us positive feed back .hope all goes well at the wedding ,hope to see you soon Thanks Neil & Barbara More 

Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2016

Great pub ran by very friendly and accommodating people who went out of their way to get my stag do off to a great start. great food and would highly recommend it.

Helpful?
1 Thank drive0
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2016

Short walk from cottage where we were staying in village on Wednesday evening. Had not booked, but Pub was quiet so no problem getting food. Nice pint of Doom bar. Simple menu of pub food well presented and cooked. Plenty of it as well. Staff friendly.

Helpful?
1 Thank IMH1960

Travellers who viewed The Swan Country Pub and Restaurant also viewed

Higher Kinnerton, Flintshire
Penyffordd, Flintshire
 
Chester, Cheshire
Pontblyddyn, Flintshire
 

Been to The Swan Country Pub and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$6 - US$16
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Television, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments
Good for
Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Groups, Cheap Eats
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 17:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 20:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 20:00
Thursday
12:00 - 20:00
Friday
12:00 - 20:00
Saturday
12:00 - 19:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 41 Main Road, Higher Kinnerton CH4 9AJ, Wales
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Wales  >  North Wales  >  Flintshire  >  Higher Kinnerton
  • Phone Number: +44 1244 292933
Description
Since September 2015 we are trading as a value food pub with a range of entertainment .We are child friendly , but have a policy of no children after 9pm. We have a food hygiene rating of 5.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Swan Country Pub and Restaurant and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
5 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Swan Country Pub and Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?