We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Plough & Harrow

) #3 of 3 Restaurants in Borden $$ - $$$ , British,
Oad Street, Borden, Sittingbourne ME9 8LB, England
+44 1795 843351
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent56%
  • Very good24%
  • Average11%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
Open Now
12:00 - 23:30All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Oad Street, Borden, Sittingbourne ME9 8LB, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2017

We had a great meal with 5 of us for a lunchtime, 4 of us had the roast and one had a vegetarian dish. We had a good time and were well looked after in the upstairs bit. Paying the bill took a bit loger...More

Thank john r
Reviewed 6 January 2017 via mobile

It was most delicious, I had the lamb shank, I had reservations about it being sinewy but the landlord told me it was cooked 3times. My Dad, My husband and my step mum all throughly enjoyed out meals. Landlord and staff all nice, didn't have...More

Thank Julie S
Reviewed 12 December 2016

A really fantastic night with a great quiz great company and superb buffet. really looking forwards to the next one on the 9th January 2017

Thank Paul P
Reviewed 1 December 2016

Food was good bit of a wait between courses(due to function upstairs).Overall very pleasant.Good atmosphere traditional old style pub.

Thank petebottle
Reviewed 27 November 2016 via mobile

Well I am so disappointed the food was cold, obviously through the taste and flavour it had been microwaved, cold chicken, reheated potatoes that were the only WARM thing on the plate and they still expected full payment !!! Never again nor will I recommend,...More

3  Thank Michelle c
K J, Owner at Plough & Harrow, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2016

Michelle, I can honestly say that we have never had a customer like you at The Plough & Harrow. The fact that you think you are entitled to leave a bad review after the way you behaved yesterday, is quite unbelievable. First of all, I...More

Reviewed 24 October 2016

This pub is so different from many others we have visited. It is a good old fashioned inn with two lovely coal fires and a friendly cosy atmosphere. The food was exceptionally well presented and the waitress was helpful and attentive. We thoroughly enjoyed our...More

Thank monkey7266
K J, Owner at Plough & Harrow, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2016

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for posting such a positive review. Out small business depends on good feedback, and we are very happy that you had a good time. Kind regards, The Plough & Harrow

Reviewed 12 September 2016

We hired the upstairs room for a 60th party of 20 full meals. Everything we asked for in the pre-event meeting was catered for. The owner and staff could not have done any more to make the evening more of a success and were so...More

1  Thank CS20032013
K J, Owner at Plough & Harrow, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2016

Thank you so much for writing such a great review! We are delighted that the evening was a success, and very much look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, K Jones The Plough & Harrow

Reviewed 18 July 2016

Recently re-furbished and menu revived. Great traditional fare, such as lamb shoulder, steaks and so on.

Thank Alan T
K J, Owner at Plough & Harrow, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2016

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your kind review. We hope to see you again soon. Best regards, K Jones

Reviewed 13 June 2016 via mobile

We used the function room for a 50th birthday meal, the room was lovely and it was a surprise meal and the staff were great at leading people to hide etc! Food was lovely proper homemade chips, I had the fish and chips which were...More

Thank JessLange
K J, Owner at Plough & Harrow, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2016

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for this lovely review. Our function room is proving very popular at the moment, and we are really delighted that you enjoyed your event there. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards, K Jones

Reviewed 18 May 2016

Old Git Barry took us on a mystery tour up the M2 to the the Plough & Harrow. Very nice Pub. Warm welcome. Good food and Beers. Reasonable prices and varied menu. A nice equine feel to it with pictures of race horses etc. Reason...More

Thank favershamfats
K J, Owner at Plough & Harrow, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2016

Thanks very much for the great review! Hope we see you again soon, now that all the fireplaces are lit and the pub is really looking its best with the Christmas decorations! Best regards, K Jones

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Tudor Rose
527 reviews
2.01 km away
Oad Street Food & Crafts
207 reviews
.10 km away
The Maypole Inn
128 reviews
1.70 km away
Nearby Attractions
Oad Street Centre
29 reviews
.08 km away
Bredgar & Wormshill Light Railway
55 reviews
2.51 km away
Chilton Manor Farm
12 reviews
4.13 km away
Swallows Leisure Centre
28 reviews
3.90 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Plough & Harrow staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$5 - US$23
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Private Dining, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 23:30
Monday
12:00 - 23:30
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:30
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:30
Thursday
12:00 - 23:30
Friday
12:00 - 23:30
Saturday
12:00 - 23:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Oad Street, Borden, Sittingbourne ME9 8LB, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Kent  >  Sittingbourne  >  Borden
  • Phone Number: +44 1795 843351
  • E-mail
Description
Traditional English pub dating back to 1654 with a luxurious country feel. Real fireplaces throughout. Unique interiors, freehouse. Real ales, cask beers, excellent wines. The food is locally sourced, regularly updated and delicious. A stunning private dining room available for all special occasions. A real find.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing