We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
28635 Coastal Highway, Bethany Beach, DE 19930
+1 302-539-2267
Website
Today
11:30 - 22:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 11:30 - 22:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

409 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 409: English reviews
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Suggested to a friend that we have dinner at Matt's Fish Camp in Bethany Beach, DE - this was my third visit to this location. The waitress suggested the Lobster Reuben and she was so right on. The fist bite into this sandwich you thought you were in heaven, so, so good. We each had a salad thinking that it... More 

Helpful?
Thank Darlene J
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

We drove up to Matts Fish Camp and my husband said r you sure ? I said we are here so why not . Inside was very interesting . So as Alway my husband ordered his fish and chips . He really liked it said it was flakey .Me I'm not a fan of sea food lol so I had... More 

Helpful?
Thank Laurie B
Mechanicsburg, PA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My wife, son and I ate here tonight. This was our first time eating dinner. Our dinners consisted of soft shell, crabs, shrimp and grits, and tuna. Our meals were prepared to perfection. The tuna was sushi grade and prepared raw. The shrimp and grits was fantastic. My wife had soft shells, after finishing her meal, she stated we need... More 

Helpful?
Thank Olemiss1970
Caroline J, Marketing at Matt's Fish Camp, responded to this review

Thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review. We are so appreciative that you stopped in to see us and so happy to hear you enjoyed everything! Please feel free to reach me at caroline@sodelconcepts.com if you should need anything and we hope to see you again soon. More 

West Chester, PA
Level Contributor
402 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is the first place my wife thinks about when we talk about going out for lunch or dinner. The place is not fancy but the food is always very good. Enjoyed crab soup and clam chowder and lobster po boys on a cold winter day. The po boys were a treat. Came to $56 w/o tip. Anna was our... More 

Helpful?
Thank WC-Travelers-75
Caroline J, Marketing at Matt's Fish Camp, responded to this review

Thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review. We are so glad you enjoyed everything and are so appreciative you continue to come in and dine with us. Please feel free to reach me at caroline@sodelconcepts.com if you should need anything and we look forward to seeing you again soon! More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Bright upbeat service. Fresh food that is cooked expertly. Good decor and great atmosphere . Would certainly recommend.

Helpful?
Thank Peter K
Caroline J, Marketing at Matt's Fish Camp, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed everything and we hope to see you again soon! Please feel free to contact me at caroline@sodelconcepts.com if you should need anything. More 

Arlington, Virginia, USA
Level Contributor
270 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It's easy to drive past this great fish restaurant at 55 mph. It's at Bay Street and DE route 1 (Coastal Hwy). I had a delicious Fish Camp Stew--kind of a Cioppino--a red sauce with some spice loaded with tuna (Yellowfin, I believe), scallops, shrimp, clams, mussels, and sausage with bits of potato, onion, etc. They also have my favorite... More 

Helpful?
Thank Neal P
Caroline J, Marketing at Matt's Fish Camp, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for continuing to come in and dine with us, we really appreciate it. We are so glad to hear you enjoy everything and we are looking forward to your next visit! Please feel free to reach me at caroline@sodelconcepts.com if you should need anything. More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My first visit was excellent. I had the Day Boat Scallops with a pork shank app. The biggest suprise came from the dirty brussel sprouts. They were amazing. The menu is fish based. No steak for you unless it is a special. There is plenty here though - swordfish, tuna, trout plus clams, oysters, crab and lobster. Matt's cocktails are... More 

Helpful?
Thank Larry H
Caroline J, Marketing at Matt's Fish Camp, responded to this review

Thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review and for stopping in to dine with us! We are so glad to hear you enjoyed everything and hope to see you again soon. Please feel free to reach me at caroline@sodelconcepts.com if you should need anything. More 

Selbyville, Delaware
Level Contributor
71 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The atmosphere is typical of a "fish camp" with decor of the ocean. Clean and acceptable. Wait service was pleasant but the food was disappointing. We were a party of four and two of us had the lobster roll. It was nice to have it without mayonaise but where was the lobster!! Small pieces that were dry at the edges.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Fenwickgal
Caroline J, Marketing at Matt's Fish Camp, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are sorry you had this experience at our restaurant as we always want our customers to leave happy. If something is ever not to your liking please feel free to make your server or manager aware so we can make it right. I would be happy to discuss this... More 

Milford, Delaware
Level Contributor
84 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had stayed the night in Lewes, then did some shopping at the Outlets, so we decided to take a little drive further south and try Matt's Fish Camp, a restaurant we were looking to dine at. In addition to a wonderful drive, we love Delaware Seashore Park and the Indian Inlet Bridge, the dining experience was worth the drive. We... More 

Helpful?
Thank Taowalker239
Caroline J, Marketing at Matt's Fish Camp, responded to this review

Thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review and for stopping in to see us! We are glad to hear you enjoyed everything and hope to see you again soon. Please feel free to reach me at caroline@sodelconcepts.com if you should need anything. More 

Parsons, West Virginia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We ate here for lunch in April of 2017. We were actually on our way to another eatery we had tried before when he saw this place and decided to try it. I wish we had stuck to our original plan. The fish and chips I had was just average and overpriced. The same could be said for my wife's... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tom551
Caroline J, Marketing at Matt's Fish Camp, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are sorry to hear you did not have the best experience at our restaurant as we always want our customers to leave happy. If something is ever not to your liking, please do not hesitate to mention it to your server or the manager so we can make it... More 

Travellers who viewed Matt's Fish Camp also viewed

 

Been to Matt's Fish Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
American, Seafood, Soups, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Highchairs Available
Good for
Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 - 22:00
Monday
11:30 - 22:00
Tuesday
11:30 - 22:00
Wednesday
11:30 - 22:00
Thursday
11:30 - 22:00
Friday
11:30 - 22:00
Saturday
11:30 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 28635 Coastal Highway, Bethany Beach, DE 19930
  • Location: United States  >  Delaware (DE)  >  Bethany Beach
  • Phone Number: +1 302-539-2267

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Matt's Fish Camp and other visitors
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Matt's Fish Camp staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?