We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Matt's Fish Camp

28635 Coastal Highway, Bethany Beach, DE 19930
+1 302-539-2267
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent48%
  • Very good36%
  • Average12%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“lobster roll” (42 reviews)
“crab balls” (19 reviews)
“fish and chips” (41 reviews)
Open Now
11:30 a.m. - 9:00 p.m. Hours
CUISINES
American, Seafood, Soups, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
28635 Coastal Highway, Bethany Beach, DE 19930
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (478)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 478 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

If you want fresh well-prepared fish, friendly service and a pleasant casual atmosphere, this is your place. Not fancy, but just solid good. Enjoyed the maple Brussels sprouts, salmon and halibut this night. Fish served on a bed of couscous, not my favorite, a little...More

Thank PlatinumHoney
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

My wife and I have been back again, this time for lunch. We both ordered Fish and Chips. The best we have ever, The cod was lightly breaded with Panko and was cook perfectly, it was very moist. The portion size was amazing, four big...More

Thank Lawrence M
Reviewed 1 week ago

Both the food and service were a pleasant surprise. Helena was knowledgeable and helpful, enhancing the dining experience. All the wait staff was friendly and seemed well-trained. The restaurant was recommended by a local and our only regret was not having more time this trip...More

Thank Solittletime71
Caroline J, Marketing at Matt's Fish Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thanks so much for stopping in to dine with us and taking the time to write a review! We are so glad to hear you enjoyed everything and hope you get to stop in on your next trip :)

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This place looks like a shack from the outside but the fish, soups and onion rings are fantastic. We’ve tried several dishes and they have all been good and plentiful.More

Thank 3cuties1hunk
Caroline J, Marketing at Matt's Fish Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you for the kind words and taking the time to leave a review. We are so glad you stopped in to dine with us and enjoyed everything! Please feel free to reach me at caroline@sodelconcepts.com if you should ever need anything and we hope...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Place was crowded - mid-afternoon. Had seafood combo which was excellent. Service was good but not fawning - kept water and soft drinks refilled without asking. Place was a bit noisy but with a full house this was to be expected. We (wife and I)...More

Thank Tom B
Caroline J, Marketing at Matt's Fish Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks so much for the kind words and taking the time to leave a review. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed everything and we look forward to seeing you again soon! Please feel free to reach me at caroline@sodelconcepts.com if you should ever...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Matt's was a favorite of mine. Went there yesterday and was very disappointed. My dinner special for$19.00 consisted of 2 shrimp and a smattering of poor quality crab meat in a tasty cheese sauce with pasta. The favor was good but the value of the...More

Thank Tom S
Caroline J, Marketing at Matt's Fish Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we appreciate the feedback. We are sorry to hear you did not have a great dining experience as we always want our customers to leave happy and full. Please never hesitate to speak with your...More

Reviewed 12 March 2018 via mobile

A bit slow with an empty restaurant. Only offered 1 type of cream based soup . Was hoping for a lunch special soup and salad or sandwich? A bit pricy for a crab cake that had breaking mixed in it. My daughters had the soup....More

Thank KAT120
Caroline J, Marketing at Matt's Fish Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for the feedback. I am sorry to hear you did not have the best experience at our restaurant and please never hesitate to speak with your server or a manager if something is not...More

Reviewed 4 March 2018

Finally made it to matts fish camp. Great service and wonderful fresh food. Nice atmosphere and the specials offered were wonderful. Plan to go back again and again

Thank Carole P
Caroline J, Marketing at Matt's Fish Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks so much for the kind words! We are so glad to hear you enjoyed everything and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

This is a first class fish and seafood restaurant. Down home, super clean and good food and grog to go along. Naturally a Sodel property would be a cut above and this does not disappoint. Start with the Parker house rolls and go from there...More

Thank bobwineguy1
Caroline J, Marketing at Matt's Fish Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed everything and we hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 4 March 2018

I've been here years ago, they had specials advertised in the paper, so I thought we'd try it again, The crab cake entree was good (full of crab, little filler) but if it was 1/2 off would not have gotten it. Comfy, casual atmosphere which...More

Thank Nancy S
Caroline J, Marketing at Matt's Fish Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for the feedback, we appreciate it.

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Bethany Beach Hotels
Bethany Beach Ocean Suites Residence Inn by Marriott
548 reviews
5.46 km away
Holiday Inn Express Bethany Beach
317 reviews
6.28 km away
Meris Gardens Bed & Breakfast
111 reviews
6.39 km away
Sea Esta Motel II
53 reviews
10.08 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Off the Hook
611 reviews
5.19 km away
NorthEast Seafood Kitchen
205 reviews
5.22 km away
Big Fish Grill
64 reviews
2.95 km away
Seaside Gas & Grill
18 reviews
4.95 km away
Nearby Attractions
James Farm Ecological Preserve & Green Building
30 reviews
2.17 km away
Bethany Beach
500 reviews
5.46 km away
Dickens Parlour Theatre
82 reviews
5.81 km away
Ecobay Kayak Adventures
10 reviews
1.92 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Ida P
5 July 2016|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from Dianne G | Reviewed this property |
I'll bet they would. Just call ahead.
0
Votes
rockc123
26 September 2015|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Michael D | Property representative |
Hello! Our Tuesday night shrimp special typically consists of four to six dishes created weekly by our chefs. Obviously the shrimp are the focal point of each dish. They are usually entrees and range in price from 12-22... More
1
Vote
Fran F
12 July 2015|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Michael D | Property representative |
Hi Fran. Which menu were you looking at? We have prices listed on both our website & our menus in the restaurant. Please let me know if you need anything else. Thanks. Mike
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 a.m. - 9:00 p.m.
Monday
11:30 a.m. - 9:00 p.m.
Tuesday
11:30 a.m. - 9:00 p.m.
Wednesday
11:30 a.m. - 9:00 p.m.
Thursday
11:30 a.m. - 9:00 p.m.
Friday
11:30 a.m. - 10:00 p.m.
Saturday
11:30 a.m. - 10:00 p.m.
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 28635 Coastal Highway, Bethany Beach, DE 19930
  • Location: United States  >  Delaware (DE)  >  Bethany Beach
  • Phone Number: +1 302-539-2267
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing