We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Lighthouse

$$ - $$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
124 Dickinson St, Dewey Beach, DE 19971-2403
+1 302-227-4333
Website
Tuesday
Closed
Hours:
Thu - Fri 16:00 - 01:00
Sat - Sun 11:00 - 01:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

81 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 80: English reviews
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2016 via mobile

Great location with wonderful sunsets. Good food & attentive staff. We were there on a quiet evening in the off season, so was not busy.

Helpful?
Thank Rhonda H
Dan P, General Manager at The Lighthouse, responded to this review

Thanks for sharing this lovely review, Rhonda! We're happy to hear you had such a great time with us. Nothing like a beautiful sunset to go with your meal, right? We believe you should always feel at ease when you dine with us. With this said, Rhonda, we'd love to share a much more positive experience with you. We're looking... More 

Frazer, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2016

This had to be the worst restaurant experience I've had in years. As a local, we decided to try this on the off season as it wouldn't be crowded. We sat at a table and the waitress walked past us at least 6 times without even saying hello. My husband got up to order our drinks from the bar. We... More 

Helpful?
Thank Joy M
Dan P, General Manager at The Lighthouse, responded to this review

We're deeply disappointed to hear you weren't pleased with your dining experience, Joy. We always strive to provide our guests with a fun and relaxing meal while they dine with us. We believe you should feel at ease when you're eating. It's unfortunate to hear your experience was not up to par with the high standard we're accustomed to sharing... More 

Rutherford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2016

Older restaurant, needs some updating. Service was a bit slow, but the Orange Crushes were worth it. Peel shrimp were average, but the Maryland crab soup was really good. My husband had the Old Bay wings and totally enjoyed them.

Helpful?
Thank alibell929
Dan P, General Manager at The Lighthouse, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to share your review with us, Ali. We're happy to hear you and your husband enjoyed your meals. We will take your suggestions and concerns into consideration and address them with the appropriate members of our team. We take your happiness very seriously. With this said, Ali, we'd love to share a much more positive... More 

Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2016 via mobile

We regularly eat at the Lighthouse when visiting Dewey. The views from the deck are unmatchable, except for the friendliness of the staff (Steven is the best!!!) Food is very good and decently priced for resort town dining. Very kid friendly and they don't mind if your dog dimes with you on the deck...

Helpful?
Thank Jon W
Dan P, General Manager at The Lighthouse, responded to this review

Thanks for sharing this lovely review, Jon! We're happy to hear you enjoyed your meal with us! It's our pleasure to accommodate you. Delicious food and beautiful views, what could be better? With this said, Jon, we'd love to share an even better dining experience with you. We're looking forward to your next visit! Until then, have an excellent day! More 

Youngstown, Ohio
Level Contributor
158 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2016

The service is poor at best - if you needed a server, you had to try and find her. The food was marginal and not a good deal for the price.

Helpful?
Thank Joe D
Dan P, General Manager at The Lighthouse, responded to this review

We appreciate the time you've taken to share your feedback, Joe. It's disappointing that you were not completely satisfied with your meal with us. We pride ourselves on providing excellent service to our guests at all times so please know your concerns will be addressed with the appropriate members of our team. If there's any way we can accommodate you... More 

Reading, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2016 via mobile

We visited the Monday before Labor day. My husband and I shared a dozen excellent raw oysters and a very generous iceberg blue cheese wedge salad which was also very tasty. The place was pretty empty with only a few other tables but service was excellent and the bartender was friendly. There's a beautiful view of the Bay and tables... More 

Helpful?
Thank weelass18
Dan P, General Manager at The Lighthouse, responded to this review

Thanks for sharing this stellar review! We're thrilled to see you and your husband had such a lovely experience with us. It's our pleasure to accommodate you to the fullest extent. We always strive to provide a meaningful and lasting dining experience. It's a joy to see you liked the oysters and salad. The atmosphere certainly helps add to the... More 

Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2016

We come to Dewey Beach often and the Lighthouse is one of those classic places that has been around for years. The best time to go is before sunset. The sunset on the bay is spectacular. They have an outside deck right on the water. Food is good, more of a seafood pub style menu. We had the Crab French... More 

Helpful?
Thank Vinced55
Dan P, General Manager at The Lighthouse, responded to this review

Thanks for sharing this glowing review, Vince! We're thrilled to see you enjoyed your dining experience. The sunset right on the water is the perfect atmosphere for a delicious meal. We believe you should always feel happy and relaxed before you eat. That feeling is​ enhanced with such a beautiful view. The Chicken Chesapeake is a classic choice, and the... More 

Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2016 via mobile

Miserable experience. Drinks were all messed up. 40+ minutes wait for food on a not busy night. Fish was overcooked, steak was undercooked to the point of being inedible. Every cup was empty before we finally got up and got our own refills. Dine here at your own risk. Only reason I didn't give it one star is management was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Don W
Dan P, General Manager at The Lighthouse, responded to this review

Dear Don, thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are very disappointed to see that your meal with us did not meet your expectations. We truly strive to provide everyone with an excellent dining experience and we are always willing to remedy a dish to your liking. With this being said, we hope to have another opportunity to... More 

Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2016

was there for dinner. Ate out on the deck- nice view. good service. I ordered steamed oysters, very small and when steamed resulted in meat about the size of my pinky nail. $8.00 for 1/2 doz was a rip off. The jumbo peel-n-eat shrimp were huge, worth it. But they forgot the Old Bay...hello? Crabcake was good, decent amount of... More 

Helpful?
Thank MommaChiara
Dan P, General Manager at The Lighthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. It's disappointing to see that your meal with us did not meet your expectations. We truly strive to provide everyone with an excellent dining experience at a great value and we are always willing to remedy a dish to your liking. With this being said, we hope to have another opportunity to... More 

South East
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2016 via mobile

Had a lovely evening watching the sunset. Went on a Wednesday - cheap wings night -BBQ ones were great and a bargain . Teenagers agreed the food was good. Reasonable too . The waitress was lovely . Would definitely go back

Helpful?
Thank pc-37
Dan P, General Manager at The Lighthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing this great review! We're thrilled to see you enjoyed our wing night! Nothing like a beautiful view with some delicious food. We're happy the kids like the food, too. Again, we appreciate the review! We're looking forward to your next visit. We'd love to share an even better experience. Until then, we hope you and your... More 

Travellers who viewed The Lighthouse also viewed

 

Been to The Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$20
Cuisine
American, Bar, Seafood, Pub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Kids, Bar Scene, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 01:00
Thursday
16:00 - 01:00
Friday
16:00 - 01:00
Saturday
11:00 - 01:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 124 Dickinson St, Dewey Beach, DE 19971-2403
  • Location: United States  >  Delaware (DE)  >  Dewey Beach
  • Phone Number: +1 302-227-4333
Description
Step into The Lighthouse for the classic Dewey Beach experience. Whether you're looking for Dewey's best Raw Bar, Sports Bar, our famous Orange Crush or just great seafood-inspired pub food, there's something for everybody at The Lighthouse.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Lighthouse and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Annapolis, Maryland
1 month ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Lighthouse staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?