We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sonny's BBQ

$$ - $$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
2684 W C 48, Bushnell, FL 33513-8493
+1 352-569-0200
Website
Today
11:00 - 22:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Thu 11:00 - 21:30
Fri - Sat 11:00 - 22:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

94 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 94: English reviews
Brooksville, Florida
Level Contributor
377 reviews
263 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 352 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We love Sonny's as they are usually fairly consistent from location to location. We frequently get to go orders from this location and the food is always great and hot but the orders are often not quite right. It's a little difficult to go through every single meal to double check everything and really you shouldn't have to but it's... More 

Helpful?
Thank Travelergirlfrom1972
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
208 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2017 via mobile

Good prices for quick BBQ. Nothing too special but tastes good. Portions look small but it's plenty once you start eating.

Helpful?
Thank Ehuntsch
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2017 via mobile

We were here 2 months ago and had St Louis style ribs. They were very good. Today I ordered again. The ribs were half the size of first trip with minimal meat and burnt. Fries were almost cold. This meal was poor at best. Also, waitress never came back to table after delivering food. Just lost my business.

Helpful?
Thank Don B
SonnysBBQ, Digital Manager at Sonny's BBQ, responded to this review

We're sorry to hear that your recent visit was not up to expectations, Don B. Please allow us to help. Email us at Social@SonnysBBQ.com with the details about your experience, including the location, along with your phone number. We appreciate your feedback, and hope you’ll give us another chance! More 

Greenfield Twp., PA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2017 via mobile

Typical barbecue food, with average taste. Customer service was very good. Seemed to be quite clean.

Helpful?
Thank TULLFAN
SonnysBBQ, Digital Manager at Sonny's BBQ, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, TULLFAN. We’re always open to hearing further feedback from our guests and invite you to email us your ideas to social@SonnysBBQ.com. We look forward to speaking with you! More 

Apollo Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2017

We have always liked Sonny's in the pass but have changed our mind after this visit. The waitress was very crude and over bearing . When my wife was ordering the waitress starting to holler at the top of her voice to the waitress at the back of the room instead of taking my wife's order and the worst of... More 

Helpful?
Thank ED R
SonnysBBQ, Digital Manager at Sonny's BBQ, responded to this review

Thank you for bringin' this to our attention, ED R. Please email social@SonnysBBQ.com with the details of your experience, along with your phone number and the location you were at. We appreciate your feedback, and would like to get you in touch with our team! More 

Waterloo IL
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2017

We had the pork which was pretty good but the salad bar and corn muffin were both disappointing. The lettuce on the salad bar looks like cheap bagged lettuce and it wasn't very fresh.

Helpful?
Thank Myra77
SonnysBBQ, General Manager at Sonny's BBQ, responded to this review

Thanks for bringin’ this to our attention. Please email Social@SonnysBBQ.com with the details of your experience, along with your contact information and the location you were at. We do appreciate your feedback, and we’d like to make sure your next visit is better. More 

Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
143 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2017

Always a fan of their ribs and their chicken. Salad bar at this one was very good as well. Love their baked beans and potato salad.

Helpful?
Thank KL S
SonnysBBQ, General Manager at Sonny's BBQ, responded to this review

Thanks! We’re glad to hear you enjoyed your visit, and we can’t wait to see you again for your next visit. More 

port Charlotte
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2017 via mobile

Was there Sunday ordered the ribs. 1st order was great. Went for the all you can eat, 2nd order dried out couldn't eat. Ordered again still dried out. Bait and switch. Waitress was nice, food sucked. Will never go back.

Helpful?
Thank Big Bob M
SonnysBBQ, Digital Manager at Sonny's BBQ, responded to this review

Thank you for bringin’ this to our attention, Big Bob M. Please email Social@SonnysBBQ.com with the details of your experience, along with your phone number and the location you were at. We appreciate your feedback, and hope you’ll give us a another chance! More 

Minot, North Dakota
Level Contributor
104 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2017 via mobile

Right next to our hotel so we didn't ha e to drive anywhere after a long day of traveling. Good food and fast service. Maria was a great waitress. Will eat here again if we are back in the area.

Helpful?
Thank 49909Fiona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2017

Don't know what happened. This was a local haunt for all the locals but over the past couple of years just have experienced repeatedly not up to par food. Dried out, just not very good. What the heck happened ?

Helpful?
Thank Barbara M
SonnysBBQ, Digital Manager at Sonny's BBQ, responded to this review

We appreciate you takin' the time to reach out, Barbara M. Please allow us to help. Email us at Social@SonnysBBQ.com with the details about your experience, including the location, along with your phone number. We appreciate your feedback, and hope you’ll give us a another chance! More 

Travellers who viewed Sonny's BBQ also viewed

Bushnell, Central Florida
 
Bushnell, Central Florida
Bushnell, Central Florida
 
Bushnell, Central Florida
Bushnell, Central Florida
 

Been to Sonny's BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$10 - US$20
Cuisine
American, Barbecue
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol
Good for
Groups, Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 21:30
Monday
11:00 - 21:30
Tuesday
11:00 - 21:30
Wednesday
11:00 - 21:30
Thursday
11:00 - 21:30
Friday
11:00 - 22:00
Saturday
11:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 2684 W C 48, Bushnell, FL 33513-8493
  • Location: United States  >  Florida (FL)  >  Central Florida  >  Bushnell
  • Phone Number: +1 352-569-0200
Description
In 1968, we were just a local BBQ joint in Gainesville, Florida. Today, we're still a local BBQ joint. We just happen to be in a few more locations. But we still do things the same way Floyd "Sonny" Tillman and his wife, Lucille, did back then. We still slow-smoke over oak for up to 12 hours at a time. We still serve generous portions. And we still believe people should be able to go out to eat and feel right at home.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Sonny's BBQ and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Leesburg, Florida

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Sonny's BBQ staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?