We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Chef's Palette

1650 SE 17th St, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316-1735
+1 954-760-7957
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent66%
  • Very good26%
  • Average4%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible4%
21 Apr 2017
“A good dining experience”
9 Nov 2015
“chefs palette ft. lauderdale, FL”
Closed
All hours
CUISINES
American, International
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
1650 SE 17th St, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316-1735
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (50)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2017

My wife and I enjoyed lunch at the Chef's Palette. The three-course meal was well prepared with good flavor and a nice presentation. It was interesting to watch the students prepare and serve the meal. I was pleased with the portion sizes which provided adequate...More

Thank DetailsByBill
John M, Manager at Chef's Palette, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2017

Thank you for the feedback. We are thrilled you enjoyed your experience and special thanks for your compliments on Nick. We pride ourselves on our great students. Please join us again...thanks. John

Reviewed 9 November 2015

The service was very good. The food was terrible. I had the cream of cauliflower soup and it had absolutely no taste. then I had the "handmade turkey sausage" with pasta. This was not sausage, it was just ground turkey thrown on top of the...More

3  Thank morgans56
John M, General Manager at Chef's Palette, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2015

Thank you for the review. Most importantly, I am sorry you had a disappointing experience. Our goal is to ensure we exceed the expectations of all guests and we did not with you and your husband. I was aware of your comments on the soup,...More

Reviewed 7 November 2015

I went to the Chef's Palette with a group from a local Fort Lauderdale church,"Senior Group" We had a choice of either salmon or chicken for the main course. I chose the salmon. It was excellent! Before lunch, there was a demonstration on making a...More

Thank DennisU512
John M, General Manager at Chef's Palette, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2017

Thank you for your feedback. We enjoy serving larger groups like yours and can hold a maximum of 56 guests for our lunch service. Please come back and try our full menu offered for lunch on Wednesdays and Thursdays while school is in session. Thanks

Reviewed 4 September 2015

My wife and I made reservations at this culinary school restaurant for dinner on Thursday night. We were the ONLY customers in the place. 3 courses. 1 soup or salad. 2 entree. 3 dessert. Choices somewhat limited. 3 choices in each courses. All the food...More

1  Thank TravelingBill
John M, General Manager at Chef's Palette, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2017

Thanks for your review and feedback. We no longer offer dinners and now only serve lunches on Wed and Thurs. Please join us when you can....We are always trying to improve and would welcome to move up on your list of culinary school restaurants visited.

Reviewed 18 August 2015

Enjoy an affordable 3 course meal at a fast food price! Fun Environment watching the students! Atmosphere is casual, but the food is fine dining!

Thank CPierce60
John M, General Manager at Chef's Palette, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2017

Thank you!

Reviewed 31 March 2015 via mobile

We didn't even know it was there. Our hotel was across the street. I saw the trip advisor reviews and decided to make a dinner reservation. It was a great value at $20 per person. The food was outstanding! We had the salmon and short...More

1  Thank Terri B
John M, General Manager at Chef's Palette, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2017

Thank you for your visit. we are only open for lunch now and no longer serve or allow guests to bring their own wine, however we still have the same awesome food and caring students. Please join us for lunch when you visit again.

Reviewed 16 March 2015

Chef's Palette is very good. The students of the International Culinary School get their chance to work as server & chef. The meal was lunch I had snapper, veggies, tea, key lime pie.

Thank 387indy
John M, General Manager at Chef's Palette, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2017

Thanks!

Reviewed 4 March 2015

We had lunch last Feb at Chef's Palette, and I could NOT WAIT to repeat the experience this winter! We managed to go for lunch, and 3 weeks later, dinner. Both events were FABULOUS!!! I have NEVER had such great food served in such a...More

1  Thank cfrare
John M, General Manager at Chef's Palette, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2017

Thanks! We look forward to your return...FYI...we are only open Wednesday and Thursday for lunch only now. Thanks

Reviewed 28 January 2015

When I was there I asked the server how long he had been there. He told me that this was his first time serving. He then went on to explain that he would be a server for 5 weeks and then would be a chef...More

Thank John M
John M, General Manager at Chef's Palette, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2017

Thank you for your review. We would welcome you back to see how things go when it is not a students very first day. As I have shared with other guests, for many students it is their first time ever serving and it is a...More

Reviewed 2 January 2015

This is my second review for this place. I came for dinner last year and I was so excited to return this year - I invited 3 relatives. Once again everyone in our party enjoyed the beautifully prepared food. And at $20/person for dinner for...More

Thank Soliterre
John M, General Manager at Chef's Palette, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2017

Thank you for returning to visit us. We now have only lunch service on Wednesday and Thursdays. We no longer offer dinner service and only serve non-alcoholic beverages. We hope to see you again. Thanks!

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Laspada's Hoagies
900 reviews
.29 km away
Market 17
616 reviews
.18 km away
Boatyard Restaurant
488 reviews
.23 km away
Shula Burger FTLD
262 reviews
.17 km away
Nearby Attractions
Greater Fort Lauderdale & Broward County Convention Center
116 reviews
.28 km away
15th Street Fisheries
221 reviews
.60 km away
Balearia Caribbean
547 reviews
.50 km away
Coastal Yacht Tours
106 reviews
1.00 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Paul H
12 June 2017|
Answer
Response from John M | Property representative |
The restaurant will reopen starting next week, serving lunch on Wed and Thursday only July 12th and 13th. The restaurant is not open Friday July 21st.
0
Votes
Terry W
26 April 2015|
Answer
Response from John M | Property representative |
Yes. The hours at lunch time are Thursday and Friday 12:30pm-230pm. You may email your reservation request to jmasi@aii.edu or call and leave a message. We confirm reservations when we are onsite on Wednesday of every week... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$15 - US$20
Meals
Lunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Discover, Reservations, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol
Open Hours
Wednesday
12:30 - 14:15
Thursday
12:30 - 14:15
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1650 SE 17th St, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316-1735
  • Location: United States  >  Florida (FL)  >  Broward County  >  Fort Lauderdale
  • Phone Number: +1 954-760-7957
Description
We operate a fine dining restaurant in a unique and comfortable atmosphere. We have an open kitchen, so you can watch your lunch being prepared our students as you dine. We offer a fixed price 3 course meal with several options for Appetizer, Entree, and Dessert. Our Lunches are offered on Wednesdays and Thursdays at the great value price of $15.95 for the complete meal, not including any tax or gratuity. Nonalcoholic beverages are available at reasonable prices. We strongly encourage reservations due to our varying school schedule.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing