We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Chowder Heads

Certificate of Excellence
$$ - $$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
2123 S US Highway 1, Jupiter, FL 33477-7322
+1 561-203-2903
Website
Today
11:30 - 21:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Tue - Sun 11:30 - 21:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

238 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 238: English reviews
Lake Worth, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The first time we went to Chowder heads we were looking to our return but... Today was our second visit. When we arrived, after awhile we received our menus and she asked if we knew what we wanted. We gave her our order and my husband told her that he wanted a diet coke. She told him that the coke... More 

Helpful?
Thank M S
Wayne
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

How hard is it to fully cook a lobster? Clams were inedible. Avoid this pretend seafood spot. Inside is unappealing. A few outside seats are better but not great. Waitstaff is nice.

Helpful?
Thank Nantucketer13
Lexington, South Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We were looking for great chowder when we moved to Florida and Chowder Heads brings it! Overall, their food is okay, much is deep fried and takes longer than expected but we like to stop in and buy a quart of chowder at the counter to go.

Helpful?
Thank zielbo
Edwin W, Owner at Chowder Heads, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. More 

Lansdale
Level Contributor
63 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Wife had the crab sandwich which was fine. I had the shrimp scampi which was mixed. Five very large shrimp which looked very good. However, they could have been cooked more - weren't raw but... Sauce was flavorless, , needed salt and pepper, garlic would have helped as well as some parmesan cheese. Salad was pedestrian - seemed designed (... More 

Helpful?
Thank country1944
Edwin W, Owner at Chowder Heads, responded to this review

Thank you for your review I will look into this asap More 

The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

The lobster bisque with extra Lobster was fabulous also the pan seared haddock was excellent. The stuffed clams were not that great. There was some kind of a strange topping on them that was kind of mushy. However the service was not good. The servers did not seem to care if we had an enjoyable time or not. They seemed... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Pam F
Edwin W, Owner at Chowder Heads, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. I noticed the issues you described on the cameras. This was a new server who just got out of training. I have removed that server from our employ. Please except my sincere apology. I hope you;ll try us again. More 

Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Look no further. One of the best lobster bisque's I've had in a really long time! I always order it when it's on the menu but it's usually just ok. This is extraordinary! Get it with the sherry. Perfect. A little taste of New England in Jupiter, Fl. The bisque is full of lobster and was served hot and the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jetdudef15
Edwin W, Owner at Chowder Heads, responded to this review

Thank you jetdudeef15 for your review. See on the next visit. More 

Redmond, Washington
Level Contributor
136 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2017

Tried the place for the first time, we had a Lobster roll, very good, the french fries were too salty..even though the roll was excellent it was a bit pricy at $25.00.

Helpful?
2 Thank Al S
Edwin W, Owner at Chowder Heads, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. More 

Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2017 via mobile

After our visit my daughter and I had the worst vomiting and diarrhea. It had to be the sea food (the others in our party had pasta or chicken fingers). It was awesome going down but we were sick as a dog. I see now if I added all the poor reviews it would have equaled or exceeded the good.... More 

Helpful?
Thank k d
Edwin W, Owner at Chowder Heads, responded to this review

Our seafood is brought in fresh every other day. We date each container and have a strick first in first out policy. We have had no other reports of anyone being sick and we serve over 100 people each meal. I hope your feeling better. Question did both of you have the same thing? More 

Lake Worth, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2017 via mobile

Nostalgia! Bought Manhattan chowder and it was ok. Went for lunch yesterday and found my New Jersey seafood goto. I had Ipswich clams MMM. My husband had the chocolate cake for desert and I had the fried lobster, yes for desert. I would walk across the desert for the fried lobster. Never had it before but will surely go for... More 

Helpful?
Thank M S
Edwin W, Owner at Chowder Heads, responded to this review

M.S. You are special and so is your lovely pouch. We support Save A Pet Florida and dogs are always welcome at chowder Heads. In fact we have YAPPY HOUR from 3 to 6pm Tuesday - Friday on the patio. Thank you for the review see you next time. More 

Cortland, New York
Level Contributor
133 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2017

I am finishing the chowder that we received last night as a gift from our waitress because she thought she had forgotten our order! This was after 8 pm and from a waitress who had probably worked a VERY LONG day! Such a NICE thing for her to have done! Thank you!!!! We were perfectly fine with the timing!!! We... More 

Helpful?
Thank cfrare
Edwin W, Owner at Chowder Heads, responded to this review

Thank you for your review cfrare. Our Clam Chowder has won so many awards I stopped counting. See you next time please ask for ED I would love to meet you. More 

Travellers who viewed Chowder Heads also viewed

 

Been to Chowder Heads? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$8 - US$32
Cuisine
American, Seafood, Soups
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Delivery, Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Discover
Good for
Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 - 21:00
Tuesday
11:30 - 21:00
Wednesday
11:30 - 21:00
Thursday
11:30 - 21:00
Friday
11:30 - 21:00
Saturday
11:30 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 2123 S US Highway 1, Jupiter, FL 33477-7322
  • Location: United States  >  Florida (FL)  >  Jupiter
  • Phone Number: +1 561-203-2903
Description
We serve "Traditional New England Seafood" only. We fly our seafood in from Boston fresh every other day. Maine Lobsters, fried clams, scallops, shrimp, baked stuffed Haddock and Cod. Everyday we have 3 clam chowders and Maine lobster bisque. Located 5 minutes from two of the most beautiful beach destinations in south Florida. Juno Beach Pier, Carlin Park and the Jupiter Lighthouse. From the north we are 1.5 Miles south of Indian Town Rd in the Driftwood Plaza on the east side of US 1.From the south we are 2.3 Miles north of Donald Ross Rd. On your right side in the Driftwood Plaza.Open everyday except Monday for lunch and dinner 11:30am to 9pm. Come in and feel like your back on old Cape Cod again.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Chowder Heads and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
Kanata, Ontario, Canada
over a year ago
Richmond
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Chowder Heads staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?