We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Woodman

$$ - $$$
Bar, British, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
238 Barnett Wood Lane, Ashtead KT21 2DA, England
+44 1372 274524
Website
Today
11:00 - 00:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 11:00 - 00:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

204 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 204: English reviews
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Nice pub with great seating However not the best service even when quiet :( Didn't try the food as wasn't impressed with the service at bar so didn't want to risk it

Helpful?
Thank Bill S
General Manager A, Manager at The Woodman, responded to this review

Bill S, we regret that you had a negative experience with us, but are glad you brought this to our attention. If you'd like, please contact us to make your experience a positive one. The Woodman, 01372274524 More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The quality of the roast dinners here are appalling. I would genuinely say this was the worst Sunday lunch I have ever had. The meat was meagre and had the texture of jerky it was so over cooked. The vegetables were also overdone and the gravy was flavourless. It took ages to come even though it was relatively quiet. The... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank EmmaHicks29
General Manager A, Manager at The Woodman, responded to this review

We regret that you had a negative experience with us, but are glad you brought this to our attention. If you are willing, please call us for further assistance with moving forward. Thank you for leaving your feedback, and we hope to hear from you in the future. The Woodman, Customer Fulfillment 01372274524 More 

2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Unfortunately the worst Sunday roast I have ever had! The roast beef was over cooked and the vegetables are clearly microwaved from frozen. The pub is in a great location, the bar staff are friendly but the food just terrible. Definitely would not recommend and many better places to eat in the area.

Helpful?
2 Thank Zein A
General Manager A, Manager at The Woodman, responded to this review

Zein, we regret that you had a negative experience with us, but are glad you brought this to our attention. If you'd like, please contact us to make your experience a positive one. The Woodman, 01372274524 More 

Greater London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Went here for a business lunch yesterday, we spoke to the Thai Chef as we was ordering , (he was grabbing a coffee for himself) he recommended the teriyaki noodles which I got & it was very tasty for the price ! The others had the burger & fish & chips , both looked & tasted great!!! A bird called... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank KC240811
General Manager A, Manager at The Woodman, responded to this review

Hi - thanks so much for your review - I will pass your feedback on to my team and we hope to see you soon. Many Thanks, Kim. More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We went here yesterday expecting great things like usual, however it seems the quality of the food has changed. Burger meat especially.

Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren H
General Manager A, Manager at The Woodman, responded to this review

Hi Lauren H, we appreciate you taking the time to respond. The staff at The Woodman take our reviews very seriously. If you'd like, please contact us to make your experience a positive one. The Woodman, 01372274524 More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

If you go for the fried stuff like fish or scampi you can't go wrong and it's actually good value. Other stuff like pie, roasts etc not so great as it's reheated microwave stuff - but that's to be expected at these prices. Otherwise it's great! Cheap drinks, very friendly welcoming staff, good atmosphere and laid back. No pretentiousness, and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Anintrepidfox
General Manager A, Manager at The Woodman, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback. Thank you very much for sharing these comments. Wishing you a great day and we hope to see you soon - Kim. More 

Ashtead, null, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

beautiful pub, great gardens front and back, served by an absolute diamond called Nikki, very friendly and always smiling, will definitely go back.

Helpful?
Thank Speedy M
General Manager A, Manager at The Woodman, responded to this review

Thank you very much for sharing these comments. Wishing you a great day until the next time we meet. More 

Ashtead, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Some time since we had been there and were pleasantly surprised how it had improved and that it was also quite busy. We were served by Michael who was very pleasant and helpful and gave wonderful service. The food was well cooked and well presented.

Helpful?
Thank kennethfcollins
General Manager A, Manager at The Woodman, responded to this review

Hi, Many thanks for taking the time to review our pub - I will make sure Michael receives your feedback - we hope to welcome you back soon. Kind Regards, Kim. More 

1 review
Reviewed 18 March 2017

Great seating areas, the kids meals are amazing! Great choice and value for money and good portion size for the larger kids.

Helpful?
Thank Helen C
General Manager A, Manager at The Woodman, responded to this review

Hi, Many Thanks for taking the time to review our pub - we hope to welcome you back soon. Kind Regards, Kim. More 

Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2017 via mobile

Went there for a few drinks and a meal with some friends. Drinks are good at a decent price. There is a very good range of food on the menu, dare I say high end pricing for pub food? The food it's self was fairly good. Nothing outstanding but acceptable. The service which a lot of people talk about wasn't... More 

Helpful?
Thank GWF93
General Manager A, Manager at The Woodman, responded to this review

Hi, Many thanks for taking the time to review my business - as an equal opportunities employer we have both men and women delivering food to our guests but I have passed your feedback on to the team member working that shift - you are right we are a pub so we don't offer table service and that is brand... More 

Travellers who viewed The Woodman also viewed

 
Weybridge, Surrey
 

Been to The Woodman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Reservations
Good for
Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 00:00
Monday
11:00 - 00:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 00:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 00:00
Thursday
11:00 - 00:00
Friday
11:00 - 00:00
Saturday
11:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 238 Barnett Wood Lane, Ashtead KT21 2DA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Surrey  >  Ashtead
  • Phone Number: +44 1372 274524

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Woodman staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?