We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Duke of Wellington Inn

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Newton NE43 7UL, England
+44 1661 844446
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

262 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 262: English reviews
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Like most of the reviewers of this pub', my family totally enjoyed our recent visit. It is located in the lovely village of Newton and has wonderful terraces that afford a magnificent view of the Tyne Valley. On arrival, we were greeted by a friendly member of staff who quickly brought drinks to our terrace table. The table d'ote menu... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kirky99
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

There is a wide choice to suit all tastes with the meals expertly cooked from fresh produce. I can thoroughly recommend the duck or venison main courses - both cooked to perfection. Great portion sizes with a three course meal leaving you perfectly satisfied. Beautiful view on a sunny evening too

Helpful?
Thank Graeme W
Gateshead, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Great food in a lovely little village pub/ restaurant. Top quality customer service. Very clean and bright place. Reasonably priced. Definitely recommend for a Sunday lunch.

Helpful?
Thank Bigmick76
rob h, Owner at Duke of Wellington Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and we are very pleased you enjoyed your sunday lunch with us, we look forward to welcoming you back soon. More 

sunderland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

Decided to head out for an early evening meal after recommendation from visiting family members. Good local ales. Friendly staff and a great location overlooking country side with a fab view over a valley. I had the best steak and ale pie ever and was informed that the fish and chips were great too.

Helpful?
Thank Kenny P
rob h, Owner at Duke of Wellington Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and leaving us such a nice review, we are pleased you enjoyed your visit and hope to welcome you back soon. More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is the second time we have visited the Duke of Wellington and had problems with the staff. The first time when we asked to look at the menu it was thrown down on the table. We got a sheet of paper. However we thought we'd try again, today, 16th May,2017. The premises were empty and we were told we... More 

Helpful?
Thank Copperknob685
rob h, Owner at Duke of Wellington Inn, responded to this review

Firstly, I would like to thank you for taking the time to write about your recent visit. It is only through feedback such as yours, that we are able to maintain, and where necessary, improve upon the service we provide for our valued guests. However, we are disappointed to read of your experience during your visit, This isn’t acceptable and... More 

Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Three of us attended without appointment on Monday 1sr May. Although it was busy we were shown to a table in a dinning area. The building itself is an olde world style and looks great from the outside. Inside this is spoilt,just a little by a modern looking bar. The dinning area save things tho and is a good mix... More 

Helpful?
Thank Shahzeen
rob h, Owner at Duke of Wellington Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at The Duke Of Wellington Inn. It’s great to read that you enjoyed your lunch experience. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future. More 

N. E. England
Level Contributor
88 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The last time we visited for a meal the review reflected what we thought a poorer dining experience than we usually have at the Welly. We were pleased to find good service and the cooking of a better standard than our previous experience.

Helpful?
1 Thank PeterN.E.England
rob h, Owner at Duke of Wellington Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at The Duke Of Wellington Inn. It’s great to read that you enjoyed your dinining experience. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future. More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Visited Monday 1st May,We visit often and sadly this is the third time that we have been so dissatisfied .We were only after a small snack.On arrival we asked to be seated in the bar area as we had a dog.There was a large table and one really small table,We asked to sit at larger table and were informed it... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank mandy02h
rob h, Owner at Duke of Wellington Inn, responded to this review

We are very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your visit to The Duke on Monday. I have discussed your comments with our Manager and she has said it was a successful service with no complaints. If you had raised attention to the issues you describe on the day; our staff would then have done their utmost to... More 

Hexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My heart sank as I walked into the restaurant, crowded to the gunnels with a large birthday party table running the whole length of the restaurant. Alas our table was in the top corner next to the big table, noisy and as I have hearing problems would not have been able to take any part in any conversation. My request... More 

Helpful?
Thank Fantant00sh
rob h, Owner at Duke of Wellington Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your Sunday lunch experience with us this week. The fact that you mention that you have been in the hospitality business yourself; therefore appreciating the effort and skill it takes to provide a good experience means alot. I have printed off your review to pass onto the kitchen and front of house staff. It... More 

Alnwick, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 April 2017

Met some friends for lunch who we haven't seen in years. The food was excellent, very reasonable, service great and the atmosphere very relaxed. We weren't rushed and had a very enjoyable lunch and were able to sit and chat without being disturbed. Definitely somewhere to visit again and tell people about.

Helpful?
Thank gillian473
rob h, Owner at Duke of Wellington Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your experience at The Duke Of Wellington Inn; it's great to read that the food, service and atmosphere added to the special time you had meeting old friends. We very much hope you will visit us again soon! More 

Travellers who viewed Duke of Wellington Inn also viewed

Riding Mill, Northumberland
Corbridge, Northumberland
 
Hexham, Northumberland
Barrasford, Northumberland
 
Langley-on-Tyne, Hexham
 

Been to Duke of Wellington Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Validated Parking
Good for
Bar Scene, Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, View
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Newton NE43 7UL, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Northumberland  >  Newton
  • Phone Number: +44 1661 844446

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Duke of Wellington Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?