We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Crab Trap

1209 Ocean Blvd, Saint Simons Island, GA 31522-4222
+1 912-638-3552
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent45%
  • Very good32%
  • Average14%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“crab soup” (55 reviews)
“hush puppies” (55 reviews)
“battered fries” (19 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
American, Seafood, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
1209 Ocean Blvd, Saint Simons Island, GA 31522-4222
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (454)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 454 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

After picking our son up from work we were all hungry. After narrowing in down we decided the Crab Trap on St. Simons. It was New Year's eve and we were hoping getting there as they opened we could get in. Dinner was terrific. Two...More

Thank SLCBQK
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

As a resident neighbor of this restaurant we find the constant trash and standing dirty water behind the restaurant, rude delivery people, and disconnected management a big turn off. May be back one day but not until they begin to respect that people actually live...More

Thank Anthony K
ramsey m, General Manager at The Crab Trap, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

This is a misrepresentation of The Crab Trap. Maybe you are confused with someone else. We are the cleanest restaurant around. All of our trash is deposited in the dumpster. Zero dirty water behind the building. Our management would love to connect with ALL of...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I love Crab Trap, but this one is not as good as the one is Amelia Island in my opinion! This place is okay, but there are so many options on St Simons!

Thank Brandi T
Reviewed 17 November 2017

The raw and steamed oysters were OK. The fries oysters were mainly batter, the shimp were tastless, and the fish was activly nasty. The fish had a bad sharp taste. So bad I had to spit it out. The manager reduced the bill and was...More

Thank vedjohns
ramsey m, General Manager at The Crab Trap, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2017

I am sorry for your poor experience with us. Please call me at the restaurant for a full refund. I hope you will give us another chance to earn your business. We order/serve the freshest seafood available.

Reviewed 9 November 2017 via mobile

Fresh seafood cooked lite and with great salad, hush puppies! Service was good and little wait! Shrimp and Mahi Mahi was fresh!

Thank Tamaraann2442
Reviewed 30 October 2017

Went with a large group we had in town for a senior retreat, the staff at the crab trap handled a party of 42 with ease and were very enjoyable. The soft shelled crab was excellent, no one in our group had a complaint!

Thank tsenkbei
Reviewed 20 October 2017

We stopped in for a late super and ate at the bar. I had the crab soup with a filet and baked potato. All of it was delicious and the bar tender was great. My son liked his shrimp dinner. Definitely will be back.

Thank TheSuze12
Reviewed 20 October 2017 via mobile

I was not impressed with anything that I ordered. The crab soup was buttery/greasy, the french fries are breaded? did not like that at all (and I love fries as a rule), the crab cake was very generic and not visually appetizing at all, and...More

Thank PeaceLoveReef
Reviewed 17 October 2017

My wife and I live about a half mile from this restaurant and have for years. Every month or so, one of us will say "I am ready for some Crab Trap food". That is all that needs to be said. If southern food, especially...More

Thank Jim O
Reviewed 16 October 2017

We've gone to Crab Trap in the past, but had skipped it on our visits in recent years as it just was not as good as it had been. We decided to give it another try this year, and we're very glad we did so....More

Thank Jessica R
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 10 hotels in Saint Simons Island
The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort
1,300 reviews
.31 km away
Ocean Lodge
597 reviews
.54 km away
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse
520 reviews
1.30 km away
Ocean Inn and Suites
328 reviews
1.31 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Georgia Sea Grill
894 reviews
1.32 km away
Del Sur Artisan Eats
625 reviews
1.43 km away
Crabdaddy's Seafood Grill
1,140 reviews
.04 km away
Palm Coast Coffee, Cafe and Pub
458 reviews
1.41 km away
Nearby Attractions
St. Simons Island
487 reviews
1.38 km away
St. Simons Lighthouse Museum
793 reviews
1.36 km away
East Beach
92 reviews
1.19 km away
Golden Isles Welcome Center
59 reviews
1.38 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Georgiades1
11 August 2016|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Ready2Go2Day | Reviewed this property |
Least expensive of all places we ate while vacationing on SSI.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
5:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Monday
5:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Tuesday
5:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Wednesday
5:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Thursday
5:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Friday
5:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Saturday
5:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1209 Ocean Blvd, Saint Simons Island, GA 31522-4222
  • Location: United States  >  Georgia (GA)  >  Georgia Coast  >  Golden Isles of Georgia  >  Saint Simons Island
  • Phone Number: +1 912-638-3552
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing