We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Otto's Place

100 Bouthillier St, Galena, IL 61036-2302
+1 815-776-0240
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent79%
  • Very good16%
  • Average3%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“brunch” (32 reviews)
“quiche” (84 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
American, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
100 Bouthillier St, Galena, IL 61036-2302
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (859)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 858 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago

Had a lovely breakfast a Otto's place last Saturday morning. Even though the restaurant was full, our waitress checked on us often to make sure we had everything we needed. Our food came quickly and was delicious; really good food, far above the usual breakfast...More

Thank Liz R
Reviewed 5 days ago

Great food for breakfast or lunch with a beautiful historical story and touching philosophy - We Wish You Enough. We enjoyed the quiche of the day ad the biscuits and gravy.More

Thank S8897CEpatrickk
John S, Owner at Otto's Place, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you very much for your review! Our quiche of the day is always popular and we are glad you enjoyed it! WE make our biscuits in house from scratch and we use local organic pork for our gravy. We hope you will be able...More

Reviewed 6 days ago

Came in with my family today only to be shut down at the door by the host reprimanding us for not having a reservation. She made no apologies for her rude behavior. Basically was told that the restaurant was not interested in accomadating our group....More

Thank jeanglodek
John S, Owner at Otto's Place, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

It is unfortunate that you perceived the question of 'any call ahead' as a reprimand. It really was just a simple fairly straight-forward question, nothing more. As it was Father's Day Sunday we had approximately 87 people who had called ahead, in addition to the...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I stopped at Otto's on a spring weekday while we were in Galena and both enjoyed marvelous breakfasts. We sat at the counter and had a nice conversation with co-owner John, who served us and made sure our coffee cups were always...More

Thank AnneLRooney
John S, Owner at Otto's Place, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much! I love having folks join me at the counter, always a fun time! Our sweet potato hash is always one of our most popular! Thanks for joining us and we hope to see you again soon! John

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The restaurant is in a beautiful old building. Part of the charm comes from the story of how the restaurant got its name, which can be found on a card on each table. It is small, so on the weekends I imagine it fills up...More

Thank L1164
John S, Owner at Otto's Place, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

We appreciate your taking the time to give us a review. We do fill quickly, especially on weekends so we always suggest calling ahead. Our Bloody Mary's are made from scratch and they are very popular! Thanks for joining us! We wish you enough! John

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

As a local, I have been to "almost" every restaurant in town. This is one of the few places I always recommend to people. I have never been disappointed with the service or food. The owners are genuine, honest, and caring people who are not...More

Thank Lily S
John S, Owner at Otto's Place, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your review! Our Sweet Hash is indeed one of the favorites! We greatly appreciate your recommendations and your kind words! We look forward to having you join us again, and as always we wish you Enough!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We both had omelets and they were delicious — nicely seasoned, well prepared, and chock full of ingredients. Delicious cinnamon roll. Our server, Niki, was great. Very interesting old building. Great breakfast spot.

Thank hammerwrite
John S, Owner at Otto's Place, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We appreciate your review! Happy you were able to enjoy one of Dans' cinnamon rolls. He only makes them on weekends and holidays and we always sell out! Hope you will join us again on your next visit to Galena!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We often use trip advisor to pick restaurants so we chose the number one listed in Galena for lunch. I think maybe we ordered the wrong things. I'm guessing the quiche is good? The corned beef hash and eggs was fair but a little heavy...More

2  Thank Annjo2015
John S, Owner at Otto's Place, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We appreciate your review. Sorry that your choices weren't up to what you were looking for. As you can see from the vast majority of other reviews most people enjoy our food very much. Food, like art is subjective. We are not for everyone and...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had the best food. The cinnamon buns were light an the frittata was great. I love the motto of having enough that they hold to. Just enjoy what you have and hopefully it's enough. Great service and the view of the river and old...More

Thank IloveLL
Reviewed May 15, 2018 via mobile

This is a fantastic, charming little breakfast and lunch spot in Galenia. My parents come here for special occasions, as they live two hours away, but were excited to share it with me. They have a few tables and a small bar downstairs for seating...More

1  Thank krisy00725
John S, Owner at Otto's Place, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2018

Thank you so very much for your review! What a great overview of Otto's! We appreciate the time you took writing this and we hope to se you again! As always, we wish you enough! John

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 11 hotels in Galena
DeSoto House Hotel
620 reviews
.29 km away
Best Western Designer Inn & Suites
706 reviews
.96 km away
Irish Cottage Boutique Hotel
863 reviews
1.10 km away
Stoney Creek Inn
909 reviews
1.65 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Root Beer Revelry
217 reviews
.29 km away
Fried Green Tomatoes
1,579 reviews
.53 km away
Log Cabin Restaurant
1,208 reviews
.50 km away
Nearby Attractions
Grant Park
203 reviews
.15 km away
Washburne House State Historic Site
57 reviews
.25 km away
Mangelsen - Images of Nature Gallery
34 reviews
.19 km away
Linmar Gardens
55 reviews
.26 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Fondy2015
November 29, 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Maureen S | Reviewed this property |
I️ don’t know about lunch but whatever time you go, I️ would call ahead and put your name on their waitlist. They don’t take reservations.
1
Vote
cldeergirl
April 26, 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from John S | Property representative |
Certainly! We have a great wine list and a full bar!
1
Vote
Karyn C
March 4, 2017|
Answer
Response from John S | Property representative |
Yes we do.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant features
Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Discover
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly, View, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
7:00 a.m. - 2:00 p.m.
Monday
7:00 a.m. - 2:00 p.m.
Thursday
7:00 a.m. - 2:00 p.m.
Friday
7:00 a.m. - 2:00 p.m.
Saturday
7:00 a.m. - 2:00 p.m.
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 100 Bouthillier St, Galena, IL 61036-2302
  • Location: United States  >  Illinois (IL)  >  Galena
  • Phone Number: +1 815-776-0240
  • E-mail
Description
Breakfast and Lunch
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;