We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The White Horse

) #1 of 1 Restaurants in Easton $$ - $$$, European, British, Gluten Free Options
The Street, Easton IP13 0ED, England
+44 1728 746456
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Find a table
  • Overview
  • Reviews
  • Location
  • Q&A
  • Details
Overview
  • Excellent64%
  • Very good19%
  • Average4%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“coq au vin” (4 reviews)
“amuse bouche” (8 reviews)
Closed
All hours
CUISINES
European, British, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
DETAILS
The Street, Easton IP13 0ED, England
Service
Food
Value
Write a Review
Reviews (120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Hadn't been here for a long while. Mixed views as it is an upmarket restaurant now but the gardens are still nice. I liked my food but had to agree with my husband that the portions were small for the price. He was very grumpy...More

Thank morselover
ChestnutGroup, Guest Relations Manager at The White Horse, responded to this review

Dear morselover, Thanks for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your food. However your comments have been noted and will be dealt with accordingly. Kind regards, The White Horse

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is my second visit to The White Horse since it has changed hands. The ambiance and decor inside is nice and the staff are friendly enough. The meal on the first visit I thought was very pleasant although the salted caramel ice cream tasted...More

1  Thank family349
ChestnutGroup, Guest Relations Manager at The White Horse, responded to this review

Dear family349, Thanks for sharing your feedback with us. I am sorry to hear you and your family didn't enjoy the experience at the White Horse, we pride ourselves on delivering brilliant food and receive an abundance of positive feedback about our food and service;...More

Reviewed 16 April 2017

Lovely food and friendly staff but portions far too small and service very slow. We should have read other reviews before booking.

2  Thank Sue F
ChestnutGroup, Guest Relations Manager at The White Horse, responded to this review

Dear Sue F, Thanks for your review. Sorry to hear we did not live up to expectations. I have noted your comments and will be looking into this accordingly. Kind regards, The White horse.

Reviewed 10 April 2017

We visited this establishment in September 2016 and had a fabulous time with excellent food and great ambience. Unfortunately our last experience was not so good. We had to wait 40 minutes for our starter and when they did arrive one was missing. We asked...More

1  Thank carole4329
ChestnutGroup, Guest Relations Manager at The White Horse, responded to this review

Dear carole4329, Thanks for the review. We do apologise that we did not live up to expectations on this occasion. Your comments have been noted and will be dealt with accordingly. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, The White Horse

Reviewed 31 March 2017

We visited as a group of 6 for supper having been recommended by friends. Our experience was great, but note the varied reviews, and in fact one of our friends had had a similar experience to others of long waits. So perhaps consistency in service...More

1  Thank Jessie238
ChestnutGroup, Guest Relations Manager at The White Horse, responded to this review

Dear Jessie238, Thanks for the lovely review. We're delighted to hear you had such a great experience. I will pass on your kind comments to the team. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, The White Horse

Reviewed 29 March 2017 via mobile

Food was well prepared but the offerings were minuscule - their "68 day aged steak" consisted of two tiny strips of steak (they assured me it was 4oz!) a blob of celeriac, a blob of something that looked like watery mash potato, some small strips...More

3  Thank Glyn H
ChestnutGroup, Guest Relations Manager at The White Horse, responded to this review

Dear Glyn H, Thanks for the review. We do apologise that we did not live up to expectations on this occasion. Your comments have been noted and will be dealt with accordingly. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, The White Horse

Reviewed 22 March 2017

After all the rave reviews we wanted to give it a try. We booked a table but it wasn't their night. We arrived on time and a cheerful girl welcomed us. We ordered a drink and went to the table and waited. And waited and...More

1  Thank infoking68
ChestnutGroup, Guest Relations Manager at The White Horse, responded to this review

Dear infoking63, Thanks for the review. We do apologise that we did not live up to expectations on this occasion. Your comments have been noted and will be dealt with accordingly. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, The White Horse

Reviewed 19 March 2017 via mobile

Visiting relatives in the area on our holiday. They suggested the restaurant as we were visiting the farm near by. The pub was quiet as we lunch early with the kids. My wife and I ordered fish and chips & ordered fish fingers for kids...More

Thank Jonoparry13
ChestnutGroup, Guest Relations Manager at The White Horse, responded to this review

Dear Jonoparry13, Thanks for the review. We have had a look at your photo and we agree. We will be reviewing this immediately with our executive chef. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, The White Horse

Reviewed 9 March 2017 via mobile

Absolutely love the latest iteration of The White Horse. The one place in the area to which we book a taxi as their wine list is as competent as their delightful food! Back in November they had a chocolate desert which was declared by one...More

Thank SwissNomad1
ChestnutGroup, Guest Relations Manager at The White Horse, responded to this review

Dear SwissNomad1, Thanks for the lovely review. We're delighted to hear you had such a great experience. I will pass on your kind comments to the team. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, The White Horse

Reviewed 7 March 2017 via mobile

Thank you!!! We had a lovely dinner in san valentines day. We had to wait a bit for our table but everything was compensated when we tasted the delicious menu. Definitely looking forward to go back again. Great people and great food. Highly recommended

Thank Virginiasteve
ChestnutGroup, Guest Relations Manager at The White Horse, responded to this review

Dear Virginiasteve, Thanks for the lovely review. We're delighted to hear you had such a great experience. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, The White Horse

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Chequers
20 reviews
2.36 km away
The Bengal
49 reviews
3.41 km away
The Queen
127 reviews
3.92 km away
Nearby Attractions
Valley Farm Equestrian Leisure
8 reviews
2.11 km away
Framlingham Castle
592 reviews
5.04 km away
Skirmish Paintball Games Ipswich
33 reviews
5.66 km away
Glemham Hall
7 reviews
6.32 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The White Horse staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$16 - US$34
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Groups, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 17:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 21:30
Thursday
11:00 - 21:30
Friday
11:00 - 21:30
Saturday
11:00 - 21:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The Street, Easton IP13 0ED, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Anglia  >  Suffolk  >  Easton
  • Phone Number: +44 1728 746456
  • E-mail
Description
Nestled within the Deben Valley, 12 miles from the Suffolk Coast, The White Horse is situated in the picturesque village of Easton Our beautiful 17th century, dog friendly Inn is part of multi award-winning Chestnut Group - delivering quality food, fantastic service and stylish interiors.