We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Boone Tavern Restaurant

100 Main St, Berea, KY 40403-1763
+1 859-985-3700
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent51%
  • Very good31%
  • Average13%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“brunch” (48 reviews)
“spoon bread” (185 reviews)
“spoonbread” (61 reviews)
Open Now
7:00 a.m. - 10:00 a.m. Hours
CUISINES
American, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$$$
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
100 Main St, Berea, KY 40403-1763
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (689)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 688 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Where do I start? Thanksgiving meal gone wrong!! We had reservations for 4 and were promptly seated, at a card table I might add. There were several full size adult tables that were empty but never got filled. The food was subpar and definitely not...More

Date of visit: November 2018
4  Thank troypKY
PatrickDOS, Director of Sales at Boone Tavern Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Troy P, We are sorry to hear that your Thanksgiving experience was not as you had hoped. However, we are happy to hear that you were pleased with your service. We do hope that you will join us again. Andrew J.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the Tavern for our honeymoon and the food at the restaurant certainly added to the already perfect experience. I was mostly surprised at the reasonable prices of such high quality food. This will be a new go-to when we’re...More

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank matthewdS1305MZ
PatrickDOS, Director of Sales at Boone Tavern Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear MattthewdS1305MZ, We are thrilled to receive your 5 star review and kind words especially on such a such a special occasion as your anniversary. We hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon. Andrew J

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband and I have eaten here a few times, and, so far, we have not been disappointed. The food and service has always been great for us. It is a little pricey but is a nice treat every now and then.

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank DAWN T
PatrickDOS, Director of Sales at Boone Tavern Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Dawn T, Thank you for your kind words and taking the time to share your Boone Tavern experience with the online community. We look forward to serving you again. Andrew J

Reviewed November 12, 2018 via mobile

Lunch stops at 2 pm. But do not walk in and hope to get a seat at 1:30. Too late for a 2 pm closing. Front desk not feiendly. They need to learn how to treat customers. Third time we have received this treatment. There...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Larry J
PatrickDOS, Director of Sales at Boone Tavern Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Larry J, We are saddened to hear of your unfortunate experience. We do take these matters seriously and are working to correct them. We do hope that you will reconsider and give us another chance. Andrew J

Reviewed November 7, 2018 via mobile

Service was unacceptably slow. Menu is limited and weighted toward southern dishes like turnip greens. For the price, food was just so-so. But our waitress was a joy and very personable.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank jackson591
PatrickDOS, Director of Sales at Boone Tavern Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Jackson591, Thank you for taking the time to share your Boone Tavern experience with the TripAdvisor community. Management is aware of your concerns and is working to correct those matters. We hope to have you join us again soon. Andrew J

Reviewed October 26, 2018

My wife and I just spent the night at Boone's Tavern. The dinner was among the best I've ever had. I recommend the deep-fried deviled eggs for the appetizer, the filet mignon the entrée and the Kentucky Derby pie for dessert. As always, the food...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank charlesclemens2017
PatrickDOS, Director of Sales at Boone Tavern Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2018

Dear Charlesclemens2017, We appreciate that you took the time to share your Boone Tavern experience with the online community. We are thrilled that you and your wife were pleased with your dining selections. We do hope that you will join us again soon. Andrew J

Reviewed October 24, 2018

We were planning our trip from Chicago to Smoky Mountains. Checking the website, I've found few attractions near our route. The Boone Tavern was on the list. I've decided to invite my wife for a lunch. I made reservation on the website(good idea!). We started...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank romanpiekosz
PatrickDOS, Director of Sales at Boone Tavern Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2018

Dear RomanP, We are thrilled to receive your 5 star review and kind words. We want to thank you for taking the time to share your Boone Tavern experience with the TripAdvisor community. We do hope that you will join us again soon. Andrew J

Reviewed October 23, 2018

I visited in July and left worried that one of my favorite restaurants was losing its character, as well as some of my favorite dishes, but during this visit I was reassured. The food was very good - lovely flavors, carefully balanced, and the service...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank RIkiS_11
PatrickDOS, Director of Sales at Boone Tavern Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2018

Dear Rlki S, Thank you for your kind words and 5 star review. We appreciate that you would take the time to share your Boone Tavern dining experience with the online community. We do hope that you will join us again soon. Andrew J

Reviewed October 21, 2018 via mobile

My wife and enjoyed a truly excellent dinner during a day trip to Berea. Despite a crowded hotel due to the dedication of the new science building, the service was unhurried and we were able to enjoy a relaxing meal. While I suspect the menu...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank apassen
PatrickDOS, Director of Sales at Boone Tavern Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2018

Dear Apassen, We are thrilled to receive your 5 star review and kind words. We are happy to hear that you and your wife enjoyed your entree selections and that you would take the time to share your Boone Tavern experience with the online community....More

Reviewed October 19, 2018

We stayed the night in the Boone Tavern Hotel...had a reservation for dinner in their restaurant. We got the best seat right by the window in a very pretty dining room. I had Sea Bass that was good, but needed salt which is unusual in...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank sandytampa
PatrickDOS, Director of Sales at Boone Tavern Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2018

Dear Sandytampa, Thank you for taking the time to share your Boone Tavern experience with the online community. We appreciate your kind words and do hope that you will visit with us again soon. Andrew J.

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 10 hotels in Berea
Boone Tavern Hotel
642 reviews
.00 km away
Knights Inn Berea
24 reviews
1.75 km away
America's Best Value Inn
57 reviews
1.88 km away
Holiday Motel
49 reviews
1.98 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Noodle Nirvana
88 reviews
.69 km away
Papaleno's Restaurant
439 reviews
.11 km away
Berea Coffee & Tea
175 reviews
.07 km away
Nearby Attractions
Berea College
113 reviews
.09 km away
Berea Welcome Center
122 reviews
.93 km away
Student Crafts on the Square Gallery
56 reviews
.14 km away
Boone Trace Marker
28 reviews
.14 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
GlobeTrotting128028
October 16, 2018|
AnswerShow all 10 answers
Response from travels_with_red | Reviewed this property |
I remember the day when Boone Tavern required jackets for men and at least "nicer" pantsuits for ladies. In fact, I volunteered as a host for a while. We kept a stock of men's jackets just for the fellows who "forgot... More
1
Vote
IkeA14
March 2, 2017|
AnswerShow all 9 answers
Response from pjwhite51 | Reviewed this property |
$17.95 adults, $9.95 for children 12 and under
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$30 - US$30
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Free Wifi
Dining Style
Fine Dining
Good for
Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
7:00 a.m. - 10:00 a.m.
11:30 a.m. - 2:00 p.m.
5:00 p.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Monday
7:00 a.m. - 10:00 a.m.
5:00 p.m. - 8:00 p.m.
11:00 a.m. - 2:00 p.m.
Tuesday
7:00 a.m. - 10:00 a.m.
5:00 p.m. - 8:00 p.m.
11:00 a.m. - 2:00 p.m.
Wednesday
7:00 a.m. - 10:00 a.m.
5:00 p.m. - 8:00 p.m.
11:00 a.m. - 2:00 p.m.
Thursday
7:00 a.m. - 10:00 a.m.
11:00 a.m. - 2:00 p.m.
5:00 p.m. - 9:00 p.m.
Friday
7:00 a.m. - 10:00 a.m.
11:00 a.m. - 2:00 p.m.
5:00 p.m. - 9:00 p.m.
Saturday
7:00 a.m. - 10:00 a.m.
11:00 a.m. - 2:00 p.m.
5:00 p.m. - 9:00 p.m.
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 100 Main St, Berea, KY 40403-1763
    (100 Main Street N.)
  • Location: United States  >  Kentucky (KY)  >  Berea
  • Phone Number: +1 859-985-3700
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing