We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Riverside Pub & Kitchen

Certificate of Excellence
$$ - $$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
North End, Farndon, Newark-on-Trent NG24 3SX, England
+44 1636 710990
Website
Today
10:00 - 23:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Fri 10:00 - 23:00
Fri - Sat 10:00 - 00:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

450 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 450: English reviews
1 review
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We visited on a Saturday lunchtime, we were welcomed by very friendly , accommodating staff & the pub has a lovely atmosphere. We were very impressed with the options available on the menu , we all opted for the Fish & Chips . Some of the best homemade fish & chips I've had 😊 Connor looked after our table ,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Emma S
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

We went for my husbands birthday with my 2 teenage kids. The started were ok apart from the calamari which was inedible. When we complained this seemed to come as no surprise to the waiter and said he would not charge for it. The main course was 2 burgers and 2 pies, all with chips. The chips were inedible they... More 

Helpful?
Thank WhitefamilyEngland
DistinctiveInns, Owner at The Riverside Pub & Kitchen, responded to this review

I was extremely disappointed to hear that your recent visit did not deliver the experience you had hoped for. We are extremely proud of the quality and consistency of our food however in this instance it appears we were far from it, with standards which clearly, did not meet our own, or indeed your expectations. I would very much like... More 

Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

I have previously posted a negative review about the Riverside. We returned today with my mum and we had a very pleasant lunch. My mum and my husband has fish and chips and they say they really enjoyed it. I had the lamb shank with Moroccan spices and couscous and thoroughly enjoyed the flavours. Our desserts, though pricey at £6:50,... More 

Helpful?
Thank TraceyS1161
DistinctiveInns, Owner at The Riverside Pub & Kitchen, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Really pleased you enjoyed yourself! Many thanks, James Bull, Director More 

Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
458 reviews
199 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

When we arrived, for dinner, we were asked if we wanted to go to our booked table or or have some drinks in the bar. Their menu has plenty of choice with a good selection of drinks, all at reasonable prices. The food is all freshly prepared so do not expect it to be served quickly. If you are not... More 

Helpful?
Thank purpletravelat
DistinctiveInns, Owner at The Riverside Pub & Kitchen, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Really pleased you enjoyed yourself (on more than one occasion). I will pass on your comments to the team! Many thanks, James Bull, Director More 

Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Dropped in with my son for a beer and lunch, we sat outside and took advantage of the sun and views of the river. we chose a selection of Tapas style small plates including squid, wings, potato skins and deep fried chorizo. with the exception of the chorizo everything was great. we did point out the chorizo was overcooked and... More 

Helpful?
Thank richard c
DistinctiveInns, Owner at The Riverside Pub & Kitchen, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Really pleased you enjoyed yourself (on more than one occasion). I will pass on your comments to the team! Many thanks, James Bull, Director More 

Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had the early bird menu. The starters were good, especially the mushroom fricasse. The fishcake was ok but a bit greasy. The pork belly main was lovely but the minute steak wasn't very nice. It was burnt in places and was tough. I did point this out. It wasn't even warm enough to melt the garlic butter. The desserts... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lindaandin
DistinctiveInns, Owner at The Riverside Pub & Kitchen, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Sadly your experience has not lived up to the high standards we strive for. I would like to investigate the issues you encountered in more detail and will contact you privately to discuss in more detail. Kind regards, James Bull, Director More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

After checking the online menus and prices On arrival date after being ignored at the bar we where shown to the table which was fine slightly cramped We ordered the menus where ok but there was a sticker on the menu ref new drinks menu?? On paying the bill found we had been charged a different price from the Internet... More 

Helpful?
Thank Doug H
DistinctiveInns, Owner at The Riverside Pub & Kitchen, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Sadly your experience has not lived up to our usual high standards. I would like to investigate the issues you encountered in more detail and will contact you privately to discuss in more detail. Kind regards, James Bull, Director More 

Nottingham
Level Contributor
107 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We went with a friend for a midday meal she had been told it was worth a visit. First impression it was being painted outside so bits and pieces were laying around plus a smell of paint in the inside. We found a table and a waitress said she would be with us shortly she seemed she was on her... More 

Helpful?
Thank Whiskey176
DistinctiveInns, Owner at The Riverside Pub & Kitchen, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am really pleased you enjoyed yourself. I will be discussing the points you raised with my management team so we can get a 5* review next time you are with us! Kindest regards, James Bull, Director More 

Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very nice atmosphere within Pub made you very welcome. Although due to demand we could only get in at 2.30pm it was well worth waiting and very reasonably priced for the quality of service and food.

Helpful?
Thank JohnF8216GF
DistinctiveInns, Owner at The Riverside Pub & Kitchen, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments, much appreciated. I am pleased the quality of food and service are as good as ever. James Bull, Director More 

Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Popped in here as we often do for a pint and something to eat at lunchtime but the seemingly endless and awful 'rave remix' playing was too much. Sorry but we took our business elsewhere and the place was almost empty inside. Can't imagine why.,.

Helpful?
Thank TimM62
DistinctiveInns, Owner at The Riverside Pub & Kitchen, responded to this review

Thank you. We have looked into this and updated the music schedule, we apologise for any inconvenience caused and thank you for bringing it to our attention. More 

Travellers who viewed The Riverside Pub & Kitchen also viewed

Farndon, Newark-on-Trent
Southwell, Newark-on-Trent
 
Newark-on-Trent, Nottinghamshire
Newark-on-Trent, Nottinghamshire
 
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Southwell, Newark-on-Trent
 

Been to The Riverside Pub & Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$9 - US$24
Cuisine
Bar, Gastropub, British, Pub, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Drinks, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Reservations
Good for
View, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 23:00
Monday
10:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
10:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
10:00 - 23:00
Thursday
10:00 - 23:00
Friday
10:00 - 23:00
10:00 - 00:00
Saturday
10:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: North End, Farndon, Newark-on-Trent NG24 3SX, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Nottinghamshire  >  Newark-on-Trent  >  Farndon
  • Phone Number: +44 1636 710990
Description
Our philosophy is fresh, simple food, made with seasonal ingredients, served in an informal, friendly way in a warm, welcoming and relaxed atmosphere.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Riverside Pub & Kitchen and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
6 months ago
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
7 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Riverside Pub & Kitchen staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?