We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hollybush Inn

1 Melbourne Lane, Breedon on the Hill DE73 8AT, England
+44 1332 865800
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent61%
  • Very good33%
  • Average4%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible0%
Travellers talk about
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
1 Melbourne Lane, Breedon on the Hill DE73 8AT, England
Write a Review
Reviews (108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Booked Sunday lunch for 6 near Christmas and enjoyed a lovely meal. We all had starters and they were very generous the mushrooms were delicious. The roast meals were wonderful and plenty of veg which was cooked to perfection. To finish were ordered a coffee...More

Thank Choosyfloss
HollybushBreedon, Owner at Hollybush Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much for your lovely review. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your meal and I hope that you can come again. Michael

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A really old pub with plenty of character. We called in on a Monday which was pie night. We thought it must be ok because we had to book (good job we did). The staff were really lovely and very friendly, almost like family. The...More

Thank Andy W
HollybushBreedon, Owner at Hollybush Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you fo r taking the time to review the Hollybush, I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit. Pie Night is popular so it was great to hear that everything was first class. Michael

Reviewed 8 May 2017

Called in early saturday evening, about 12 to 15 people in the bar. All conversation stopped, not a soul said 'hello' or 'evening'. wherever we moved around the bar we could feel all eyes on us. Not a very good impression as the bar was...More

Thank rainier94
HollybushBreedon, Owner at Hollybush Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2017

I'm really disappointed that you didn't enjoy your visit to the Hollybush as the team always pride ourselves in welcoming everyone. If you are able to email me at hollybushbreedon@gmail.com I would like to make contact directly to see what we can do. Please accept...More

Reviewed 29 April 2017

Lovely menu on specials board.varied choice catering for all tastes. Staff excellant made to feel welcome .lovely fire most welcome just returmed from canaries so was feeling the chill, ok only because wed been abroad it wasent really that cold outside. What a welcome back...More

Thank Gordon S
HollybushBreedon, Owner at Hollybush Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2017

Thank you for your review. Delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit . . . and the warm welcome 🔥Look forward to seeing you again. Michael

Reviewed 29 April 2017

We called here for lunch when visiting the area as we had visited the owner/landlords other pub/restaurant at Waltham on the wolds ( The Royal Horseshoes) and were eager to compare it to this one (as the other one is superb!) We were not disappointed,...More

Thank Willowfield8
HollybushBreedon, Owner at Hollybush Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review the Hollybush, lovely to hear that you enjoyed the visit and your lunch. Look forward to seeing you again. Michael

Reviewed 15 April 2017

Never been before. Very nice village location . Well set out dining room .Easy access for those who cannot walk too well. The meal was very good and service from the staff friendly. My elderly in-laws had an interesting chat with the landlords sister ....More

Thank paul d
HollybushBreedon, Owner at Hollybush Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2017

Thank you for your review, it's lovely to hear that you enjoyed your visit and will come again. Pleased to hear that Jackie made you feel very welcome. Michael

Reviewed 31 March 2017 via mobile

We had a very nice meal. Excellent food with an amazing Barnsley chop for the main. Well worth a visit for food and a drink in the bar. Mind your head on the beams!

Thank Sulaco750
HollybushBreedon, Owner at Hollybush Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2017

Hope you didn't bump your head! Thank you 😊 for your review. I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed the Barnsley chop and hope you come again. Michael

Reviewed 29 March 2017

Fantastic evening hosted by the team at The Hollybush Inn. Catered for 17 people food was delicious and the service was excellent. We had some overseas colleagues with us who had a taste of a traditional English Pub. Highly recommended

Thank lizsmith862017
HollybushBreedon, Owner at Hollybush Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review your evening, I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your evening. Hope to see you again. Michael

Reviewed 12 March 2017

Had a beautiful Sunday lunch today and our little frenchie was very welcome too. Eaten here before and have always be very happy with the food and lovely service.... today's Sunday lunch was outstanding so glad this place is pet friendly now we have our...More

Thank Penelope H
HollybushBreedon, Owner at Hollybush Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2017

Thank you for the review Penelope, so pleased you enjoyed lunch. We are always happy to welcome dogs in the bar so please call again. Michael

Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

Had my birthday meal booked for 18+ people the food was lovely service was brilliant and the dining room was stunning definitely will be going back soon and would recommend the hollybush to anyone wanting good food in a nice atmosphere! Thanks for having us!

Thank roxyl86
HollybushBreedon, Owner at Hollybush Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2017

Thank you so much for your great review, I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed your birthday meal. Look forward to seeing you again 😀 Michael

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Harpurs of Melbourne
431 reviews
2.86 km away
The Cross Keys Inn Newbold
51 reviews
3.68 km away
Gelsmoor
350 reviews
4.62 km away
Nearby Attractions
St Hardulphs Church
17 reviews
.05 km away
BitterSweet Chocolate Co
13 reviews
.23 km away
Derby Brewing Company
5 reviews
1.00 km away
The Brewery Tap
6 reviews
1.00 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
kenny58
Are you able to cater for a gluten free diet as I am coeliac and unable to eat any food containing wheat, barley or rye . Many thanks
10 May 2017|
Answer Show all 2 answers
Response from HollybushBreedon | Property representative |
Hello. If you can let us know when you are coming we are happy to offer gluten free options. Please feel free to call if you have any specific requests. 01332 865800
0
Votes
Dorothy W
The phone no is unattainable I have dialled 01332 862359 trying to book a table My no 0 1332 989971
16 October 2016|
Answer Show all 2 answers
Response from Dorothy W |
Thanks did manage to book Sunday lunch which was excellent will certainly be visiting again lovely old pub!!
1
Vote
Janet A
What times are food served?
16 July 2016|
Answer
Response from tiggerthefox | Reviewed this property |
Hi Janet - Lunch: midday - 3pm Dinner: 6pm - 9pm Sunday Lunch: midday - 3pm Monday night 'Pie Night' - 6.30pm - 9pm Closed on Tuesday
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Television
Good for
Groups, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 23:00
Monday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 23:00
Saturday
12:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1 Melbourne Lane, Breedon on the Hill DE73 8AT, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Leicestershire  >  Breedon on the Hill
  • Phone Number: +44 1332 865800
  • E-mail
Description
Located close to the village green in the historic conservation village of Breedon-on-the-Hill, the Hollybush Inn traces its origins back to the 17th Century. In the heart of the village, the pub is a protected Grade ll listed timber framed building which still holds its original charm. For anyone that hasn't been, the village is dominated by Breedon Hill, the site of an Iron Age period hill fort which is now home to the distinctive local landmark church of St. Mary and St. Hardulph. There are lots of lovely walks around this area including a circular walk up to the church from the pub where you will be treated to an amazing view of the surrounding countryside. We offer a friendly relaxed atmosphere and children are welcome. Dogs are welcome in the bar and we have free WIFI . . just ask for the password.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing