We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bear and Ragged Staff

Stoneymarsh, Michelmersh, Romsey SO51 0LB, England
+44 1794 368602
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent38%
  • Very good28%
  • Average17%
  • Poor14%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“liver” (6 reviews)
“rack of ribs” (4 reviews)
“potatoes” (13 reviews)
Closes in 16 min
11:00 AM - 11:00 PMAll hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Stoneymarsh, Michelmersh, Romsey SO51 0LB, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (403)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 401 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

My daughter booked this as a surprise for my wife's birthday. When we arrived the pub restaurant was almost full but we were quickly shown to our reserved table. The atmosphere was warm and it was fun to be in this old country style public...More

Thank Gasimen
Reviewed 1 week ago

Terrible experience, two of us had lasagne which was moderately hot, salad leaves were hotter than the lasagne though. Third member of group had pan fried lamb, which was served on a cold plate which made food cold. Reason given for this was that a...More

Thank masterbraitac
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Sadly I fear that I have finally given up on this pub. Up to 2015 it was privately owned and we and a number of locals had been going there regularly for about 15 years. The meals were generally of a very good standard for...More

Thank John M
Sorrel T, Manager at Bear and Ragged Staff, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for you comprehensive review John. I feel there is so much content that I shall not address each point separately, especially as it seems your complaints have been from over a period of 2 years. However, I do feel some justification is required...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a quick mid-week lunch here recently. The place is large but was surprisingly empty. The staff were all very friendly and efficient. One of our beer glasses arrived with dirt in the beer - it looked like tea leaves- but it was replaced...More

Thank Ovvin
Sorrel T, Manager at Bear and Ragged Staff, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review and good comments. We hope you pay us another visit to try out some other dishes on the menu.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

haven't been back for at least a year. . it was dreadful last time I came. Went with a friend and first thing we noticed was how empty it was. It used to be very busy. To be honest we weren't expecting much. but we...More

Thank sallyhampshire
Sorrel T, Manager at Bear and Ragged Staff, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for your review Sally. Glad you gave us another try and we exceeded your expectations. Hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Found the Bear and Ragged Staff prices for Fish and Chips lunch and Wine to be more expensive than average. Table not cleared or clean on arrival and had to clear used glasses myself. Paying top prices I do not expect to have to do...More

1  Thank matthewp133
Sorrel T, Manager at Bear and Ragged Staff, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your feedback Matthew, all noted.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My family and I ate at this pub on a sunday evening and there was so many things wrong with our meals that i wanted to write this review. Let me just say that I have been eating at this pub for over 16 years...More

2  Thank Andy D
Sorrel T, Manager at Bear and Ragged Staff, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review Andy. I am sorry to hear of your experience with us. I have address your point's raised with my team working on the evening and hope you will give us another try soon.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We haven't been lately but used to use The Bear And Ragged Staff regularly. The food was always good, and good value for money. The meal yesterday was dreadful. We all had different meals, all were poor. I had a 'Waldorf salad' with chicken and...More

Thank Andrew M
Sorrel T, Manager at Bear and Ragged Staff, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for the review of your visit yesterday, although I am saddened by it's contents. I would like the opportunity to discuss this with you further if you would take the time to give me a call at the pub on 01794 368602? Many...More

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Sunday lunch was poor the meat was very fatty.potatoes were dry very poor .had crumble had to wait a long time over 20 mins very poor

Thank jacquithomas512
Sorrel T, Manager at Bear and Ragged Staff, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for the review of your visit last Sunday. I have passed your feedback onto the kitchen team and we will continue to monitor our standard of roast dinners.

Reviewed 16 October 2017 via mobile

Visited with children as a treat. Meal was awful portions sizes like a child’s meals food burnt and overpriced . Wasn’t asked if meal was ok staff didn’t seem interested! Won’t be visiting again ☹️

Thank Jamie C
Sorrel T, Manager at Bear and Ragged Staff, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Sorry to hear of your disappointing experience with us Jamie, we do hope you will try us again in the future so we can improve on all the points raised.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Mill Arms
103 reviews
1.71 km away
The Wheatsheaf
258 reviews
4.16 km away
Star Inn at Tytherley
18 reviews
4.45 km away
Nearby Attractions
Mottisfont Abbey
1,028 reviews
1.41 km away
For Life Experiences (FLE)
10 reviews
6.61 km away
Sir Harold Hillier Gardens
478 reviews
5.04 km away
Houghton Lodge Gardens
99 reviews
7.46 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Bear and Ragged Staff staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$24
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Accepts Discover, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Kids, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 10:30 PM
Monday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Friday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Stoneymarsh, Michelmersh, Romsey SO51 0LB, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hampshire  >  Romsey  >  Michelmersh
  • Phone Number: +44 1794 368602
  • E-mail
Description
Surrounded by beautiful Hampshire countryside, you’ll feel right at home… at the Bear & Ragged Staff. Catering for two legs and four, we’re perfectly placed for a number of local walks and boast a delicious British menu and range of refreshing drinks - the perfect rambler’s reward!
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing