We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Brooklin Inn

$$ - $$$
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
22 Reach Rd, Brooklin, ME 04616-3556
+1 207-359-2777
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

55 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 55: English reviews
DownEast and Acadia Maine, Maine
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2017

Was asked by the owner how the food was. Told him it was satisfactory, as it was. Was told that he has had 44 plus chefs in the decade he has been the owner and that he just cant find anyone to do a quality job. Strange thing to say to a customer.

Thank bernabetelfor
emmett, Owner at Brooklin Inn, responded to this review

We aren't satisfied with satisfactory, and are sorry that's all that meal was. Although some of his other meals were quite good. Now, that Chef is gone. We worked too long with him trying for improvement and consistency. We can find Chef's who do a wonderful job over the sixteen years I have been here. I can name six or... More 

North Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
523 reviews
292 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2016

We attended a wine tasting dinner. The subject was Bordeaux. We had a lot of choices and most were good to very good. The problem was the food that accompanied the wine. While my dishes were fine but pretty small others had uncooked or burned dishes depending on their luck. The dessert was quite good.

Thank BobxxxxCindy
emmett, Owner at Brooklin Inn, responded to this review

Yes, I will agree with Bob that the tasting menu...there were 5 courses...was a little light. I wondered if I would get enough to eat, myself, but after the dessert, I felt it was just right. For next month's wine dinner we will have a veg with the meat course and some potatoes somewhere in the meal as well. Thanks... More 

Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2016 via mobile

I agree with diane_h (good food poor service). I actually did not think the food was that great (we had scallops and haddock). We were welcomed not with 'good evening how are you?' but 'do you have a reservation?' (which we did) and half of the tables remained empty the whole evening. Did not set a good tone to start... More 

Thank BoulderFrenchie
emmett, Owner at Brooklin Inn, responded to this review

When something goes wrong at the beginning, it can spoil the whole meal. As for our question " Do you have a reservation?" I see nothing wrong with that. We need to know that in order to check off the reservation book and take you to the table reserved for you...if you have a reservation. If you don't have a... More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2016

At in the pub this year. Everything was good and the dessert was world class. (it was from the "upstairs" menu.)

Thank Bensage
Pattison, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2016 via mobile

The staff was so rude to our group tonight we almost left before we got served which took forever to even get waited on. From the Minute we walked in it was obvious we were not welcome . I guess because we didn't have a reservation even though there were plenty of open tables . All they had to say... More 

Thank diane h
emmett, Owner at Brooklin Inn, responded to this review

I am very sorry you did not have the great dining experience you expected. That night was one of the busiest of the summer and coming without a reservation in the middle of it could make it dicey. That said, we should have done better. I wish you had brought this to my attention that evening when we might have... More 

Tutukaka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
88 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2016 via mobile

Great restaurant with excellent food and a fabulous wine list. The amberjack was delicious, as were the scallops. If you are a couple, sit at the table on the porch. Very cozy.

Thank Kathryn M
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 July 2016

My husband and I recently spent a well needed, peaceful evening at Brooklin Inn. Our room was very comfortable and cozy. The place just feels so homey and well loved. It's filled with local art and a terrific collection of old photographs celebrating the rich Maine coast history of boat building. The restaurant and pub were an added bonus with... More 

Thank clcd
Level Contributor
109 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2016 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at the Brooklin Inn while we were visiting friends in the area. The Inn is rustic and quaint with a very nice Innkeeper and lovely morning breakfasts! We slept well in a comfortable bed and enjoyed their lovely dining room with a welcoming table set for us and coffee immediately available. We will definitely book here... More 

Thank NanNorth
Northeast Harbor, Maine
1 review
Reviewed 16 June 2016

I came to the Brooklin Inn with some friends and it happened to be Pasta Night. We all ordered a pasta dish including lobster ravioli, mushroom ravioli, and a carbonara dish. The pasta is all homemade and the sauces were SO GOOD. We also ordered some salads for an appetizer and they only used fresh and local greens from a... More 

Thank Kristen T
Blue Hill, Maine
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2016

Good food, congenial service, particularly when Chip, the proprietor, is around. Food is sourced locally as much as possible and is substantially organic.

Thank kevin482

Travellers who viewed Brooklin Inn also viewed

Brooklin, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Brooklin, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Blue Hill, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Sargentville, Sedgwick

Been to Brooklin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$25 - US$45
Pub, American, Steakhouse, Seafood
Dinner, Drinks, Lunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol
Good for
Child-friendly, Romantic
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 22 Reach Rd, Brooklin, ME 04616-3556
  • Location: United States  >  Maine (ME)  >  DownEast and Acadia Maine  >  Brooklin
  • Phone Number: +1 207-359-2777
Fine Dining, exclusively Organic or Local ingredients, Irish Pub, Bed and Breakfast. Open year round, daily in summer, 5 days a week November to May. Fresh Fish, 7 page wine list, Aged steak, our own desserts, Guinness on tap and local beers on tap. Pizza, burgers and nightly specials in the Pub...Full menu upstairs and down.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Brooklin Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?