We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Pheasant

905 Main St, Dennis, MA 02638-1419
+1 508-385-2133
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent48%
  • Very good4%
  • Average16%
  • Poor12%
  • Terrible20%
Travellers talk about
“duck” (41 reviews)
“sole meuniere” (15 reviews)
“profiteroles” (11 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
American, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$$$
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
LOCATION
905 Main St, Dennis, MA 02638-1419
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (25)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 25 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

The food and the atmosphere at The Pheasant was top notch. The clean interior enhanced the historic nature of the building. The variety of food on the menu was great. We had the bluefish pate which was more than enough for 2. The accompanying pickled...More

Thank aspet27
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We were regulars at the old Red Pheasant and were pleased to see new owners and a new contemporary menu. My husband has the chicken dish and I had the monkfish and both were superb. We passed up on the dessert because we are full...More

Thank jan k
Reviewed August 25, 2018

Our entrees were generally quite good, but overpriced. The fish "special" was $39 (no wonder they don't tell you the price unless you ask). The clam pasta at $26 was just OK, with mostly pasta and only a taste of clams. The wine list was...More

Thank Paul G
Reviewed August 24, 2018 via mobile

We started with the charcoal grilled skewers and the squid skewer was particularly good. Then my husband had the hanger steak and I had the burger which came with house made chips instead of the shoestring fries as stated on the menu but we enjoyed...More

4  Thank AnAnthropologist
Adam D, Owner at The Pheasant, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2018

Hi There, Our apologies for any confusion regarding the cash discount program. The cash discount program is an incentive for guests who pay with cash. As you know paying with cash eliminates credit card processing fees, therefore we offer a flat 4% discount on bills...More

Reviewed August 19, 2018 via mobile

Note: Reviews before 2018 should be noted as under the prior ownership. It sounds like it was a lot better at that time. I'll start with the worst part of my experience and then move to the service and food later. For anyone who thinks...More

4  Thank FionaHematoma
Adam D, Owner at The Pheasant, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2018

Hi There, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I’m glad to have the opportunity to explain several points you have brought up. The cash discount program is an inceptive for guests who pay with cash. Paying with cash eliminates credit card...More

Reviewed August 17, 2018 via mobile

For starters we had the marinated olives, grilled carrots, and the shiitake mushroom skewer. Very nice. Wife had the clam pasta and I had seared scallops. Excellent! We’ll be back!!!!

Thank georgebmartin
Reviewed August 15, 2018 via mobile

Fabulous! We have been going to the original Pheasant for years and loved the homey vibe and food. We were a little worried when it changed owners but it has admittedly gotten even better! The menu is unique and pushes you to try new things....More

Thank Laura A
Reviewed August 13, 2018

We have been eating at the Red Pheasant for over twenty years. It was one of our "go to places" on the Cape. It is under new management. I did not like the renovations of the porch. No crisp white table cloths or flowers. The...More

4  Thank jamaplus
Reviewed August 7, 2018

We have been going to what was The Red Pheasant over the last 18 years whenever we go to the Cape, and have always enjoyed this. Under new management, The Pheasant has done some things well (enhanced the decor, streamlined the menu) and the flavors...More

Thank John C
Reviewed August 6, 2018

We ate at the Red Pheasant two years ago and loved it. We were pleased when friends suggested we eat there this year. We understand the ownership (and name) have changed, and it isn't the same place. Service was slow - thirty minutes between appetizers...More

2  Thank Mark K
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 25 hotels in Dennis
Sesuit Harbor House
232 reviews
1.70 km away
Starlight Lodge Cape Cod
93 reviews
2.16 km away
Kingfisher Lodging
41 reviews
2.24 km away
Blue Rock Resort
197 reviews
6.18 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Ice Cream Smuggler
245 reviews
.79 km away
Firestarter Pizza
14 reviews
1.03 km away
Fin Seafood
272 reviews
.45 km away
Scargo Cafe
869 reviews
.46 km away
Nearby Attractions
Corporation Beach
165 reviews
.91 km away
Scargo Tower
223 reviews
.74 km away
Cape Cod Museum of Art
73 reviews
.54 km away
Scargo Stoneware Pottery & Art Gallery
36 reviews
.85 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Pheasant staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
Average prices
US$30 - US$50
Meals
Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
5:00 p.m. - 9:30 p.m.
Monday
5:00 p.m. - 9:30 p.m.
Wednesday
5:00 p.m. - 9:30 p.m.
Thursday
5:00 p.m. - 9:30 p.m.
Friday
5:00 p.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Saturday
5:00 p.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 905 Main St, Dennis, MA 02638-1419 (Formerly The Red Pheasant)
  • Location: United States  >  Massachusetts (MA)  >  Cape Cod  >  Dennis
  • Phone Number: +1 508-385-2133
  • E-mail
Description
At The Pheasant (formerly the iconic Red Pheasant Inn) the focus is on farm to table dining offered with gracious and approachable service and hospitality. Utilizing the highest quality, seasonally-driven ingredients from local farms and purveyors, The Pheasant offers dishes with a unique Cape Cod identity influenced by classic New England flavors. Join us at the bar for creative cocktails, a thoughtfully curated wine list, and local craft beers and ciders. Closed Monday & Tuesday, open every other night until 10p.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing