We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Shroppie Fly

) #5 of 5 Restaurants in Audlem $$ - $$$ , British,
Audlem Wharf Shropshire Street, Audlem CW3 0DX, England
+44 1270 812379
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent31%
  • Very good17%
  • Average13%
  • Poor13%
  • Terrible26%
Travellers talk about
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Audlem Wharf Shropshire Street, Audlem CW3 0DX, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (254)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 254 reviews

Reviewed today

Stopped for lunch as on canal boat, beautiful lunch, I had chicken madras, gorgeous curry, lots of fresh peppers and chicken, couldn't fault it. Staff lovely, well worth a visit.

Thank Pauline W
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had the three course meal for £10.95. Excellent value. I had tempura prawns, very tasty, then fish and chips, piping hot and well cooked, followed by two scoops of my favourite Cheshire farm ice cream. Another of our group had the sticky toffee pudding...More

Thank Doreen P
Sarah Y, Guest Relations Manager at The Shroppie Fly, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you Doreen P for this wonderful review, i'm so pleased you and your party enjoyed the food and the service so much we certainly look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We visited tonight whilst moored on canals. Was a bit hesitant due to reviews on here. But found totally the opposite. We had steak and ale pie and when asking for ample gravy received a large gravy boat of delicious gravy. The service was with...More

3  Thank Karen M
Sarah Y, Guest Relations Manager at The Shroppie Fly, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Karen M thank you so much for this wonderful review, I'm sorry to hear you were to full up for pudding perhaps when you visit again you'll get to try one, the crumble is one of my favourites!!! We look forward to seeing you...More

Reviewed 9 June 2017

The staff were very friendly and welcoming, but the place was quite empty so there was absolutely no atmosphere. Possibly due to the weather! Our meals were ok., typical pub grub but nothing special. I don't think we shall be eating there again although drinks...More

Thank Patsy10red
Sarah Y, Guest Relations Manager at The Shroppie Fly, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2017

Dear Patsy10red, Thank you for taking the time to leave us with your review and thank you for your kind comments about the welcoming manner of the team. Unfortunately, with the torrential rain that day it was a little quieter than usual. I'm disappointed to...More

Reviewed 8 June 2017

We stopping off at the Shroppie Fly during a narrowboat holiday expecting to enjoy an evening meal in a well respected local pub. We checked the meal times as displayed outside the pub and decided that we would eat at around 7.30pm with food being...More

1  Thank BarryArcher
Sarah Y, Guest Relations Manager at The Shroppie Fly, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2017

Dear BarryArcher Thank you for taking the time to leave us with your trip advisor review, I’m very sorry to hear that you were unable to dine with us during this visit and for that I can only apologise. I would however like to take...More

Reviewed 29 May 2017

Ate here one evening and enjoyed friendly efficient service from the staff and had a very good meal at a sensible price.

2  Thank BloggerJR
Sarah Y, Guest Relations Manager at The Shroppie Fly, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2017

Thank you BloggerJR for your kind comments we look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Reviewed 28 May 2017

Unbelievable. Went to Audlem festival 28th May had not been to the Shroppie Fly and wanted to give it a try after not a good experience a few years ago. Went in and was told you could have a Sunday Lunch or a burger or...More

2  Thank florence589
Sarah Y, Guest Relations Manager at The Shroppie Fly, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2017

Dear Florence589 Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your experience of your visit to the Shroppie fly. We appreciate all reviews both good and bad however there are certain things I would like to note from your review which I...More

Reviewed 12 May 2017

The Shroppie Fly is a pub which could be absolutely amazing. It's prices are competitive, variety of drinks are good, location is fantastic but it certainly needs some work. Mainly its staff. Living locally I have visited the Shroppie many times over the years but...More

1  Thank Lisa_Sian_H
Sarah Y, Guest Relations Manager at The Shroppie Fly, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2017

Dear Lisa_Sian H Thank you for taking the time to leave us with your review. I’m sorry to hear that you don’t feel that the service you received was what you had hoped for. We aim to give the best service possible to all our...More

Reviewed 12 May 2017

This pub is famous in canal circles. It is situated right on the side of the Shropshire Union Canal near the locks at the lovely village of Audlem. We went in for an evening meal whilst doing the Four Counties Ring and stayed long enough...More

2  Thank Dave H
Sarah Y, Guest Relations Manager at The Shroppie Fly, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2017

Dear Dave H, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your experience at the Shroppie Fly. I'm sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your experience as you had hoped to. Having read through your review I'm disappointed to hear you...More

Reviewed 11 May 2017 via mobile

Four of us for lunch. All had a different choice from the specials board, service was slow but we all enjoyed the meal.

Thank David D
Sarah Y, Guest Relations Manager at The Shroppie Fly, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2017

Dear David D, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review of your experience at the Shroppie Fly i'm pleased to hear that you and all of your party enjoyed your meals and we look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Lord Combermere
126 reviews
.05 km away
The Old Priest House Coffee Shop
38 reviews
.10 km away
Bridge Inn
79 reviews
.03 km away
The Deli
11 reviews
.04 km away
Nearby Attractions
Audlem Lass Boat service
19 reviews
.46 km away
Oxtail & Trotter
8 reviews
.17 km away
St. James the Great Church
7 reviews
.21 km away
Audlem Mill
6 reviews
.00 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
lizbb55
18 February 2017|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from ShroppieManager | Property representative |
Hi Liz. Thanks for your enquiry. On March 6th there is a new owner coming in to The Shroppie Fly. Regrettably until that time our kitchen will remain closed but please keep checking the local press and website after that... More
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$5 - US$20
Cuisine
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Kids, View, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Audlem Wharf Shropshire Street, Audlem CW3 0DX, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cheshire  >  Audlem
  • Phone Number: +44 1270 812379
  • E-mail
Description
Traditional busy water front restaurant/ pub. Reasonable prices for food and drink. Beautiful canal side with outdoor seating. Friendly helpful staff. Events throughout the summer months. Live music every Saturday nights. All round great experience.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing