We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Boatwerks

$$ - $$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
216 Van Raalte Ave, Holland, MI 49423-3154
+1 616-396-0600
Website
Today
11:00 - 21:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Thu 11:00 - 20:00
Fri - Sat 11:00 - 21:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

621 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 616: English reviews
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Some co-workers and I were I were in town for an overnight business trip. The manager at the hotel we stayed at recommended Boatwerks, and since we wanted to try something local rather than a chain restaurant we thought we'd give it a try. Everyone in our party liked their entree; I had the trout, which was excellent. It was... More 

Helpful?
Thank JclayG
Holland, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Food is quite good. There is a strong odor of fabulous steak upon entering that always makes me waver on my choice. Seafood chowder is good. Usually a long wait and they don't always take reservations-call ahead.

Helpful?
Thank blowersmary
Boatwerks, Manager at Boatwerks, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Unfortunately, during the summer season we do not take reservations, but reservations are welcome throughout the fall and winter seasons. Thank you again for your feedback, we love to hear how much our guests enjoy their time with us. More 

Howell, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
66 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Boatwerks location is perfect A great view of the lake and the facility has an activity center as well as a conference facility. In the summer parking is an issue. but off season no problem. Friendly service .... Only complaint was the main course was served right after the salad course was served.... we felt rushed. the food was excellent... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dennis G
Boatwerks, Manager at Boatwerks, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback. We will be sure to discuss the importance of timing with our serving staff, we never want our guests to feel rushed. We hope you'll join us again, and thank you again for your review. More 

Boulder
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We visited on a Saturday evening. We had a variety of meals and drinks and desserts. We had good service with an attentive waitress. Prices were in line with other restaurants! Great visit on Lake Macatawa!

Helpful?
Thank cjespinoza
Boatwerks, Manager at Boatwerks, responded to this review

We are very happy to hear to that you enjoyed your Birthday Celebration with us. Thank you so much for sharing your experience, and giving us your review! More 

Holland, Michigan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Visited there for lunch recently. Menu had plenty of selections. Service was very good and courteous. Definitely will visit again for dinner.

Helpful?
Thank rocky w
Boatwerks, Manager at Boatwerks, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your great review! We are please to hear that you enjoyed your visit, and glad to hear that you'll be returning. Thanks again for your feedback! More 

Holland, Michigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2017 via mobile

Love the hummus and outdoor seating... but we have had some of the worst waiter service ever. It's unfortunate because they could hire higher end staff and train them more. For the price the food could be better too. I'll keep coming back for the hummus and view but it's not a place to impress friends with when service is... More 

Helpful?
Thank travel_chicx
Boatwerks, Manager at Boatwerks, responded to this review

Thank you for giving us your review. Please do not hesitate to give us a call, or ask to speak to a manager if you ever have this type of experience again. We do consider our staff quite good, but that being said, there is always room for improvement, and mishaps do happen. We take this sort of feedback very... More 

Holland, Michigan
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2017

We had the Hummus for appetizers, a Burger, Fries, Perch Sandwich and a Cuban Panini. All the food was good, and the menu had some things I would like to try, but I thought the add on expense for Fries, (2.50), and a coke, (2.49), was a little steep. Nice views of the lake.

Helpful?
Thank vette350
Boatwerks, Manager at Boatwerks, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us your review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our food and menu options! Your feedback will also be passed on to our management team. Thanks again! More 

Holland, Michigan
Level Contributor
119 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2017 via mobile

Surprisingly good brunch. Usually smorgasbord brunches are so-so on food quality with thick tough meats and always slow refills of food. . The food for this holiday brunch was really good and there was never a wait for any of the foods. Tender roast beef, great turkey, wonderful sides, and a table full of fantastic deserts. These folks did a... More 

Helpful?
Thank hjb4971
Boatwerks, Manager at Boatwerks, responded to this review

We are happy to hear that we surprised you! We really try to go above and beyond when it comes to our food quality and selection. Thank you for your wonderful feedback! More 

Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2016 via mobile

I made a last minute reservation for New Year's Eve dinner. With no advance warning, I informed the waitress that I can't eat onion or garlic. I assumed that I would just go without sides, but my salmon came with very well prepared substitutes. On such a busy night, I was so grateful! Great service, very friendly and helpful staff.

Helpful?
Thank MurphKazoo
Boatwerks, Manager at Boatwerks, responded to this review

Wonderful to hear! Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your review! We have an amazing team here at Boatwerks, and we are so pleased that they were able to accommodate your needs. More 

Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2016

This is one of the most attractive restaurant settings in Holland; we live here and go there frequently. At the same time, we're never sure what to expect. Sometimes the meals are excellent; sometimes the meal we looked forward to is no longer on the menu. Sometimes the service is great and sometimes they're overwhelmed. Nonetheless, we still go -... More 

Helpful?
Thank Linda C
Boatwerks, Manager at Boatwerks, responded to this review

Hi Linda, thank you for your feedback. We are so happy to hear that you have continued to visit us despite some frustrations. Our menu does change, generally twice a year. We have a summer, and winter menu. That being said, we do try to keep our most popular items available for year round guests. Our Whitefish, Perch, Stir Fry,... More 

Travellers who viewed Boatwerks also viewed

 

Been to Boatwerks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$15 - US$40
Cuisine
American, Bar, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover, Private Dining
Good for
Groups, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, View, Bar Scene, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 20:00
Monday
11:00 - 20:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 20:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 20:00
Thursday
11:00 - 20:00
Friday
11:00 - 21:00
Saturday
11:00 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 216 Van Raalte Ave, Holland, MI 49423-3154
  • Location: United States  >  Michigan (MI)  >  Ottawa County  >  Holland
  • Phone Number: +1 616-396-0600
Description
Boatwerks Waterfront Restaurant is Holland's only waterfront restaurant! The indoor dining room and Runabout Lounge feature picturesque views of Lake Macatawa on three sides, or enjoy outdoor dining and unbeatable views from the outdoor patio and bar during warmer months. The New American Menu features fresh seafood and premium meats, with a focus on fresh preparations and quality produce. The building's design features exposed beams and brick, harkening back to the historic boat-building factories that lined the shore of Lake Macatawa in earlier days. The restaurant walls are lined with historic photos of Lakes Michigan and Macatawa and historic Holland, Michigan. The Boatwerks Event Center features the beautiful, 3,300-square-foot Black River Ballroom and an outdoor courtyard, suitable for weddings and family or corporate events of up to 300 people. Make your dining plans for Boatwerks Restaurant in Holland, Michigan today!

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Boatwerks and other visitors
4 questions
Ask a question
Grand Rapids, Michigan
over a year ago
Chicago, Illinois
8 months ago
Lake City, Michigan

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Boatwerks staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?