We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Grouse Inn

) #2 of 2 Restaurants in Froggatt $$ - $$$ , British,
The Grouse Inn Longshaw, Froggatt, Peak District National Park S11 7TZ, England
+44 1433 630423
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent50%
  • Very good30%
  • Average8%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
Open Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
The Grouse Inn Longshaw, Froggatt, Peak District National Park S11 7TZ, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (159)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago

Excellent meal at a very fair price, small portions are available which is an added bonus if you want to leave space for dessert. Service very friendly and fast. Rather crowded in bar area as they had rotary club in big dining area, good job...More

Thank Cliff1952
Peta F, General Manager at The Grouse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you!

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

We stopped here for our evening meal whilst staying in nearby Froggat. Good sized pub with friendly bar staff. An excellent choice on the menu as well as a specials board. Very reasonably priced. For a Tuesday evening it was very busy, but meals were...More

Thank HazzaNorfolk
Peta F, General Manager at The Grouse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you!

Reviewed 1 week ago

We stopped off for a drink halfway through our walk. The staff were friendly. It is a large pub with plenty of space. We looked at the menu and it looked very good.

Thank Christine T
Peta F, General Manager at The Grouse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you!

Reviewed 1 week ago

I went to The Grouse after a long walk in the countryside only to be welcomed by a very rude lady who seemed to have it in for our table. When I went up to order food she was sighing as if I had asked...More

Thank celiaroseanderson
Peta F, General Manager at The Grouse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello, Thankyou for pointing this issue out to us and I assure you that we are currently dealing with the situation. I can only apologise and hope that it doesn't happen again to you or any other of our customers that we appreciate coming. Thankyou.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

First visit to this pub which is in great Peak District walking country. We had walked from Curbar for lunch and ordered Sandwiches. In a world where pubs are hell bent on charging £15 for 1 excessive plate of ordinary food (and therefore making me...More

Thank Chris B
Peta F, General Manager at The Grouse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thankyou very much.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Hip hip hoorah for this place says I. Tip top food & beverage. When I first nervously approached the rather intimidating bar staff I could not imagine the warm welcome and nice food that awaited.

Thank kevbutnobacon
Peta F, General Manager at The Grouse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you! Very pleased we didn't scare you away.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We organised a 10 mile work event on Wednesday 21 June 17 and walked 5 miles to The Grouse. We rang the day before to ask if we needed to pre-order food as there were 12 of us. We were told "No, it will be...More

Thank HEIDI C
Peta F, General Manager at The Grouse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello, I can only apologise if you were made to feel unwelcome. We did have a difficult day on Wednesday as two sets of our deliveries failed to arrive which put us under considerable stress. This is however no excuse for rudeness and we will...More

Reviewed 15 June 2017 via mobile

Just had a lovely meal with family at the Grouse. The food was good and plentiful. The staff, as always, were friendly and attentive. Recommended!

Thank ChrisE7100
Peta F, General Manager at The Grouse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2017

Thank you!

Reviewed 15 June 2017

It's quite some time since we visited The Grouse although it's always been a favourite due to its wonderful location and good, reasonably priced food. We were, however, extremely disappointed on our most recent visit with the drastically reduced portion sizes. I had my usual...More

Thank Alison1451
Peta F, General Manager at The Grouse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2017

Hello, Thank you for you review. We do offer bigger portion sizes for those that are hungry and smaller portion sizes for those with a lesser appetite. Our apologies if you had soggy pastry, unfortunately sometimes the gravy can make it soggy so please always...More

Reviewed 29 May 2017

After a 6 mile walk we had a lovely meal here. Very friendly and great atmosphere! The beef in the Sunday dinner could have been slightly less cooked up, but that's personal taste!

Thank suetinson
Peta F, General Manager at The Grouse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2017

Thank you!

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Restaurant at The Chequers Inn
158 reviews
.46 km away
Curry Cottage at Lovers Leap
184 reviews
2.08 km away
Jolly's Catering Company
7 reviews
2.15 km away
The Eating House
169 reviews
2.18 km away
Nearby Attractions
Grindleford Community Shop
19 reviews
1.34 km away
Eyam Plague Village Museum
454 reviews
3.04 km away
The Rutland Arms
7 reviews
3.96 km away
Chatsworth Estate Farm Shop
507 reviews
5.71 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Janet B
2 April 2017|
Answer
Response from Peta F | Property representative |
Hello Janet, We apologise if your visit wasn't as good as expected. We haven't made any changes purposely but we have had a change of chefs recently and sometimes this requires a 'bedding in period'. Despite this we would... More
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Reservations, Highchairs Available
Good for
Groups, Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, View
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 23:00
Monday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 23:00
Saturday
12:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The Grouse Inn Longshaw, Froggatt, Peak District National Park S11 7TZ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Peak District National Park  >  Hope Valley  >  Froggatt
  • Phone Number: +44 1433 630423
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing