We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Coach and Horses

) #6 of 6 Restaurants in Croxley Green $$ - $$$ , British,
The Green, Croxley Green WD3 3HX, England
+44 1923 774457
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent36%
  • Very good24%
  • Average12%
  • Poor14%
  • Terrible14%
Travellers talk about
“sunday roast” (8 reviews)
“lamb shank” (3 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
The Green, Croxley Green WD3 3HX, England
Write a Review
Reviews (245)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 245 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had an excellent evening, great food and brilliant service. Pub has nice atmosphere, decor looking a little tired though

Thank Tina B
Reviewed 1 week ago

Took our two grandsons for lunch last Monday as it was was an inset day at their school. Ordered lunch which took a very long time to come. When it finally arrived we were so hungry that we ate what was brought up. As usual...More

1  Thank barbaracohen1945
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had lunch today at the Coach after a poor experience at the Artichoke up the road . Staff couldn't have been nicer at the Coach- excellent ploughman's to share - with the best scotch egg I've ever tasted. |Lovely garden out the back. Will...More

Thank Ali S
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Went here this evening with my wife and 2 young children to enjoy play area (which is quite good) and have a drink and some food. Ordered scampi and chips, cod and chips and margaretta pizza for children. Scampi was slimey and didn't looked cooked,...More

1  Thank Leon F F
Louisa-Landlady, Owner at The Coach and Horses, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Leon, I am really sorry that you didn't enjoy your visit with us, and I am sorry that we weren't given the opportunity to rectify this while you were here. We have taken your comments on the food on board, and we are working...More

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Came here on a sunny Sunday with family for a birthday dinner. We arrived at our pre booked table and were informed they had run out of all roast dinners,steak and fish!! Fortunately they still had a variety of food on the menu and once...More

1  Thank Drink_delights
Louisa-Landlady, Owner at The Coach and Horses, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi there, Many thanks for your feedback on your visit. I am sorry that we had run out of roast dinners when you arrived. We have gotten steadily busier on Sundays and we have learnt from this and increased our ordering to prevent this from...More

Reviewed 13 May 2017

My wife and I have been regulars at the coach for over 30 years, and have seen many changes over the years - some good and some not so good! It has been a while since we have eaten there, but we have heard some...More

Thank johnparslow
Louisa-Landlady, Owner at The Coach and Horses, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2017

Dear John, Many thanks for your feedback, I am pleased you chose to try us again for food and enjoyed your time with us! We hope to see you again at The Coach soon, Best Wishes Louisa

Reviewed 11 May 2017 via mobile

We visited the coach this week on a quiet evening for a spot of dinner. Wish I hadn't bothered. Both myself and my partner ordered the butterfly chicken burger, which we figured was a simple dish that you couldn't go wrong with. Oh how wrong...More

Thank mobilestc
Louisa-Landlady, Owner at The Coach and Horses, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2017

I am sorry to read this. Please can you contact me directly on info@thecoachandhorses.co.uk so that I can resolve this for you? Best Wishes Louisa

Reviewed 10 May 2017 via mobile

Visited last night with my wife and 2 kids. Hugely disappointing and significantly worse than a year ago. 15 minute wait at the bar to order food - 2 of the staff inc the manager appeared after a prolonged cigarette break without an apology to...More

Thank Jeremy F
Louisa-Landlady, Owner at The Coach and Horses, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2017

Dear Jeremy, I am sorry to read this. Please can you contact me directly on info@thecoachandhorses.co.uk so that I can resolve this for you? Best Wishes Louisa

Reviewed 5 May 2017

Situated right on Croxley Green's vast common in an old Victorian property, you can see why the locals enjoy a pint here. It provides both a bar and restaurant area but is it all it's cracked up to be? GOOD: Love the rustic and modern...More

Thank Craig M
Louisa-Landlady, Owner at The Coach and Horses, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2017

Dear Craig, Many thanks for your detailed feedback. I'm pleased you enjoyed your time with us, and hope to see you at The Coach again soon :) Best Wishes Louisa

Reviewed 3 May 2017

I organised a quiz night for 30 people and we had a great time. The pub put on the quiz just for us and we had the lovely restaurant room all to ourselves. We preordered the food for 8pm and it was ready and served...More

Thank windysurfer_uk
Louisa-Landlady, Owner at The Coach and Horses, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2017

Thank you very much for your review! We look forward to seeing you at The Coach again soon :) Best Wishes Louisa

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Amici's Cafe Ristorante
53 reviews
1.58 km away
Coffee House And Deli - Croxley Green
22 reviews
.55 km away
Artichoke on the Green
297 reviews
.16 km away
The Corner Plaice
23 reviews
.59 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Cooking Academy
86 reviews
2.39 km away
Cassiobury Park
550 reviews
2.51 km away
Sequoia at The Grove
89 reviews
3.25 km away
Chorleywood House Estate
10 reviews
3.30 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Coach and Horses staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$13 - US$32
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations
Good for
Groups, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:30
Monday
12:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 00:00
Saturday
12:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The Green, Croxley Green WD3 3HX, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hertfordshire  >  Croxley Green
  • Phone Number: +44 1923 774457
  • E-mail
Description
The Coach and Horses on The Green has always been associated with travel and has been providing the families of Croxley Green with journeys since 1744. Whether enjoying lunch on the decking or a beer on the patio, dinner in the restaurant or a quiet pint in front of the fire, The Coach has something for everyone. The larger of the two pubs on the famous Green, it has been lovingly restored to former glories and enjoys an enormous outdoor seating play area for families where you can bask in the warmth of the friendly service. The food served is simple, tasty, hearty and nostalgic with an emphasis on sharing and there is a wonderful range of cask ales, continental beers and a fabulous wine list too.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing