We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Jake Culpeepers - The Steak Place - CLOSED

5923 Osage Beach Pkwy, Osage Beach, MO 65065-3325
+1 573-348-8989
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent59%
  • Very good18%
  • Average9%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible8%
1 Mar 2015
“Used to be good.”
23 Oct 2014
“Not bad”
Restaurant Hours Closed
CUISINES
American, Steakhouse, Southwestern, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
5923 Osage Beach Pkwy, Osage Beach, MO 65065-3325
All Details
Reviews (106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2015 via mobile

Been to this Resturant many times but must have a new cook as this last time fried pickles were soggy with breading falling off and tasted like old grease. Steak was fatty Told waitress but nothing doneMore

Thank heeticd
Mbcraig78, Manager at Jake Culpeepers – The Steak Place, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2015

I am terribly sorry top hear you last visit was subpar. I will say however that you noted you visit was in November of 2014, yet our last night of operation was October 19th 2014. We closed the restaurant down due to lack of traffic...More

Reviewed 23 October 2014

This is not bad for steak. Not very impressed with the variety on the menu and definitely not a kid friendly menu, which isn't very practical. I would say average.More

Thank K L
Mbcraig78, Manager at Jake Culpeepers – The Steak Place, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2015

We thank you for your visit to our restaurant. We did have dedicated kids only menu with a variety of choices consisting of chicken strips, kids steak, kids shrimp, kids burger, and a few other choices.. As far as variety of choices on our main...More

Reviewed 16 October 2014

First of all we waited 10 minutes at the hostess stand before anyone acknowledged we were even there. The service was beyond horrible. My steak was ordered medium, when it came it was beyond rare and full of fat. The waitress never once came back...More

Thank Jill B
Mbcraig78, Manager at Jake Culpeepers – The Steak Place, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2014

I am at a loss of words because there is no excuse for that type of service. If we knew approximately what time it was when you visited we can take action on this matter. We don't think of this as any kind of proper...More

Reviewed 9 October 2014

My husband and I went recently for my birthday. I didn't know anyone that had been here so didn't know what to expect. Hubby wasn't too hungry so got a fish sandwich, which he was very pleased with. I got the ribeye and was extremely...More

Thank rockylake
Mbcraig78, Manager at Jake Culpeepers – The Steak Place, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2014

We can't thank you enough for you business. It is always great to see the locals come out and support local businesses. Happy to hear about your wonderful visit. We try our best to put out a delicious dinner everyone can enjoy. Keep a look...More

Reviewed 12 September 2014

We were one of two - three tables.Came in about 5pm or so. Started with a biscuit and butter. Unique and very good. Got the onion sticks as an appetizer (good). Salad came out and was full of stalk and brown lettuce. I had the...More

Thank bbbrr04
Mbcraig78, Manager at Jake Culpeepers – The Steak Place, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2014

We sincerely apologize for your poor service. There is no excuse for the disregard you received from your server. There will be repercussions taken with the staff as this kind of service is not tolerated. In reference to the price of our steaks, we do...More

Reviewed 10 September 2014 via mobile

Im not much on big slabs of beef ...I'm more of a chicken girl....this place will change your mind...first place I've eaten an entire steak ...if they had treadmills to run it off I would of eaten another.. love this place ...More

Thank gidgettheyorkie
Mbcraig78, Manager at Jake Culpeepers – The Steak Place, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2014

Well we over joyed to hear that we may have converted a white meat eater to a red meat eater. We try very hard to separate ourselves from the crowd and provide a delicious quality dinner for anyone and everyone to enjoy. We thank you...More

Reviewed 6 September 2014

The restaurant was full when we arrived. The wait time was approx. 40 mins. The food was good but not great for the price. The steak was tough with quite a bit of fat.More

Thank Sharon Z
Mbcraig78, Manager at Jake Culpeepers – The Steak Place, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2014

What else is to say but thank you. I am sorry that things turned out to be an average meal for you as we do strive to be anything but average. We prepare the majority of the menu from scratch so that we don't copycat...More

Reviewed 20 August 2014

Had the steak and it was good. Our son raved about the apple crisps that accompanied the steak. Service and prices good.More

1  Thank chriscentralIllinois
Mbcraig78, Manager at Jake Culpeepers – The Steak Place, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

We would like to extend our thanks for your visit to our restaurant and a special thanks to your son about our home made apple fritters. We appreciate you taking the time to spread the good word and look forward to having you dine with...More

Reviewed 19 August 2014

friendly staff, manager pops over to day 'hi' - awesome. Special pricing to 6pm. Sirloin Steak cooked perfectly for only 9.99 including salad and potatoe - gotta try their homemade steak sauce that is delivered in a cold bottle. Great place with awesome internet connection.

2  Thank canadian175
Mbcraig78, Manager at Jake Culpeepers – The Steak Place, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Thank you for your you positive words about our establishment. We try everyday to make a quality meal the whole family can enjoy and afford. We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

My husband and I were in Osage Beach for a Honey Moon and came to Jakes. We were really disappointed with the food quality. Steaks were tough and burnt. For 25$ a steak... Ridiculous. Won't be back.More

Thank Mary B
Mbcraig78, Manager at Jake Culpeepers – The Steak Place, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

We do apologize on our lack of quality on your visit. It is not our standard to send out tough and burnt steaks. We do try to send out quality meals at an affordable price that the whole family can enjoy. We could only ask...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Cozy Cafe
172 reviews
.24 km away
Pancake House
214 reviews
.28 km away
Jeffrey's
40 reviews
.99 km away
Wacky Knacky Diner
26 reviews
.12 km away
Nearby Attractions
Ozark Distillery
154 reviews
2.73 km away
Seven Springs Winery
134 reviews
4.61 km away
BigSurf Waterpark
61 reviews
4.31 km away
Osage Beach Outlet Marketplace
367 reviews
6.15 km away
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Average prices
US$7 - US$28
Cuisine
Good for
Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Monday
11:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Tuesday
11:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Wednesday
11:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Thursday
11:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Friday
11:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Saturday
11:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 5923 Osage Beach Pkwy, Osage Beach, MO 65065-3325
  • Location: United States  >  Missouri (MO)  >  Lake of the Ozarks  >  Osage Beach
  • Phone Number: +1 573-348-8989
  • E-mail
Description
The exterior is multi-colored(can't miss it)! The interior features an eclectic collection of antiques from an 1890 Back Bar, Brass Cash Registers to a collection of Steamship Bells, as well as great steaks and choose from 12 homemade fresh sides! We try to be competitively priced with others in the area, and provide a meal the whole family can enjoy. We are across the parking lot from Super 8. If you are heading to us by way of the new highway just head to the KK exit. If you are coming from the south you turn right to the park way. If you are coming form the north you turn left to the parkway. At that point you turn left onto the Osage Beach Parkway, drive roughly 200 yards and we are on the left!!
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing