We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Pheasant Inn

Certificate of Excellence
$$ - $$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Higher Burwardsley | Chester, Tattenhall CH3 9PF, England
+44 1829 770434
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

431 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 430: English reviews
Level Contributor
84 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

This has to be one of the most perfect country pubs I have visited!!! Excellent food, atmosphere, real ales and a real piece of countryside! This place was recommended to us and we were not disappointed!!! Lovely and we will return!

Helpful?
Thank L W
David C, Group Revenue and Relationship Manager at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for your 5* review, following your recent time with us at The Pheasant Inn. It was nice to hear that we are one of the most perfect country pubs that you have visited, and that everything met your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back sometime soon, and once again many thanks for your lovely review. Kind... More 

Kelso, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A large group of us visited for a family birthday meal, having not been for many years I was looking forward seeing how it had changed. The surroundings and views are lovely, very cosy and welcoming inside too and tastefully decorated for Christmas. I had Sunday roast but was rather disappointed with the beef which was really tough and difficult... More 

Helpful?
Thank Debb330
David C, Group Revenue and Relationship Manager at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this review

Debb, many thanks for your review following your recent meal with us at The Pheasant Inn. It is always nice to welcome back returning diners, and I am sorry that on this occasion the food did not meet your expectations, particularly as we get a lot of positive comments regarding our Sunday roast offering. I will ensure that your comments... More 

Chestertown, Maryland
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had not been to the pheasant for a while but have always enjoyed it in the past. Went last night . The quality of the cooking is still very good but the potion size was so poor ,despite having a starter I came away hungry. Had venison which was very nice but the 6 off 1/2" square potatoes and the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stevehux
David C, Group Revenue and Relationship Manager at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this review

Steve, many thanks for your review, following your recent meal with us. It is always nice to welcome back returning guests, and I am sorry that on this occasion we did not meet your expectations regarding the portion sizes, as we do get a lot of positive comments regarding the size of the food and how it leaves people full.... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My boyfriend took me here as part of my birthday celebration! It was perfect... the views were amazing, there was an open fire in every room of the pub, the food was delicious and reasonably priced. Our accommodation was very cosy and lovely and clean. All the staff were very friendly and accommodating. I would definitely recommend it anyone wanting... More 

Helpful?
Thank Andrea H
David C, Group Revenue and Relationship Manager at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this review

Andrea, many thanks for your 5* review, following your recent stay with us at The Pheasant Inn, to help celebrate your birthday. It was nice to see that he made a good choice, and that you enjoyed your time with us and that everything met your expectations. I do hope we can welcome you back again sometime soon, and once... More 

Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This restaurant pub, has probably the best views in Cheshire as it overlooks the Cheshire plain from the mid Cheshire ridge, better known as the sandstone hills. Best on a good walking day as is is on the centre of the lovely Sandstone trial along the ridge. However, on a cold dark evening (without any views) the general atmosphere, and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cloudman2u
David C, Group Revenue and Relationship Manager at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review, following your recent visit to The Pheasant Inn. It was nice to read your review, and to see what a lovely time you had, and how it all met your expectations. We are indeed blessed with an amazing position on the Sandstone Trail, and on a clear (and sunny day!!) you can see for miles... More 

Church Stretton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Historic pub with fabulous views. Imaginative and varied menu served by attentive friendly staff. We will certainly be back for more.

Helpful?
Thank Richard C
David C, Group Revenue and Relationship Manager at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this review

Richard, many thanks for your 5* review, following your recent meal with us at The Pheasant Inn. As you have mentioned we have a wide and varied menu, with something for everyone, and with those amazing views, we really are the ideal destination for a fantastic meal. Once again many thanks for your review, and I do hope we can... More 

Llangollen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were invited here by friends who treated us to lunch. It was pouring with rain outside but we received a very warm welcome as soon as we stepped through the door and were seated at a lovely table by the window overlooking the beautiful Cheshire views and close enough to a wonderful real log fire to feel cosy, but... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dylaffyn
David C, Group Revenue and Relationship Manager at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for your 5* review, following your recent meal with us at The Pheasant Inn. It was nice to read your review, and to see how much you enjoyed your meal with us. It was pleasing to see that the team looked after you during your meal with us, and that they all looked after you. As you have... More 

Cheshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We've been going since we starting dating over 20 years ago and thought what a perfect place for a child free night. Unfortunately we were sat on the smallest table under the stairs & asked to be moved but still ended up on a small table when the better ones were empty for our whole visit. The food was ok... More 

Helpful?
Thank Miss0Piggy
David C, Group Revenue and Relationship Manager at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review, following your recent meal with us. I am sorry that on this occasion we did not meet your expectations, and I would like to find out more about your experience, and would ask that you contact me directly on david@nelsonhotels.co.uk, so that I can ascertain more information. With regards to the empty tables, then it... More 

Thornton Watlass, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Really lovely meal at the pheasant and what a view ! Let down by lack of vegetarian options for our gluten intolerant member of our party and forgetting things we had ordered but all round it was a lovely meal

Helpful?
Thank Naomi B
David C, Group Revenue and Relationship Manager at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this review

Naomi, many thanks for your review, following your recent meal with us. It was nice see that overall you had a good meal, however I am sorry that the lack of vegetarian options did detract from the meal, and i will ensure your comments are relayed to the kitchen team so that they can investigate, and potentially look at new... More 

Pentre Halkyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Despite the lengthy journey this is one of our favourite restaurants/gastro pubs. Visited yesterday and found it quieter and than usual due to Bonfire Night. However the food was again superb, beef wellington cooked to perfection, my wife's starter fish cake along with main( 1/2) measure lobster risotto was again well accepted and eaten with taste buds exploding. Fantastic food.... More 

Helpful?
Thank TravellingTaffyKevo
David C, Group Revenue and Relationship Manager at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for your 5* review, following your recent meal with us at The Pheasant Inn. It is pleasing to see that you always enjoy your time with us, and that it is one of your favourite destinations. It was nice to see that as normal the food all met your expectations, and I do hope we can continue to... More 

Travellers who viewed The Pheasant Inn also viewed

 
Tattenhall, Cheshire
 

Been to The Pheasant Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
European, Gastropub, Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating
Good for
Kids, Business meetings, Groups, Child-friendly, View, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Higher Burwardsley | Chester, Tattenhall CH3 9PF, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cheshire  >  Tattenhall
  • Phone Number: +44 1829 770434
Description
Sitting atop the Peckforton Hills, The Pheasant enjoys the most magnificent panoramic view of the Cheshire plain. The Pheasant serves good, honest wholesome food using fresh, local produce. The bar features four real ales and a fantastic selection of renowned wines from around the world. The Pheasant is without doubt one of the most picturesque inns in Cheshire.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Pheasant Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?