We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Geno's Chowder & Sandwich Shop

$$ - $$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
177 Mechanic St, Portsmouth, NH 03801-4622
+1 603-427-2070
Website
Today
11:00 - 15:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon - Sat 11:00 - 15:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

128 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 126: English reviews
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2016

Went here for lunch and this is by far the best lobster roll in town. It's packed with claw meat, which is the best for sandwiches. Fish chowders delicious as well. I highly recommend Geno's.

Helpful?
Thank David S
francesca f, Owner at Geno's Chowder & Sandwich Shop, responded to this review

Dear David, Thank you for such great words!! We just try to keep it fresh and simple here.Hope to see you again in the Spring for our 52nd year! More 

West Orange, New Jersey
Level Contributor
107 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2016

This is a small place on the river and obviously has a strong local following. Simple throwback menu ,small but well done. By sharing your experiences, you're helping travelers make better choices and plan their dream trips. Thank you!

Helpful?
Thank verwO2013
Iowa
Level Contributor
72 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2016 via mobile

Amazing lobster rolls. And the young man who waits tables is very kind and pleasant. Love this place. Don't think many people know about it, and I'm quite fine with that :) Excellent lobster roll.

Helpful?
Thank Heath D
francesca f, Owner at Geno's Chowder & Sandwich Shop, responded to this review

Dear Heath D, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review! Our employees work hard to make your lunch experience great. Thank you again :) More 

Constantia, New York
Level Contributor
150 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2016 via mobile

I would go again for the view, atmosphere, homemade and fresh cookie ice cream sandwich, and the lobster roll. It doesn't have the best chowder. It is a buttery broth based soup. Not the traditional creamy New England clam chowder I am used to. I read that it was different on the menu. I wouldn't order it again. However I... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sarahe5682
francesca f, Owner at Geno's Chowder & Sandwich Shop, responded to this review

Thanks Sarah! More 

Islamorada, Florida
Level Contributor
86 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2016 via mobile

Get the jumbo lobster, cup soup special amazing! Lobster cold with mayo then cut it up with a bite dopped in butter.....truly incredible!

Helpful?
Thank TrinityFlKeys
francesca f, Owner at Geno's Chowder & Sandwich Shop, responded to this review

Thanks so much! We just try to serve simple fresh food- More 

Leeds
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2016

Having noticed this restaurants a couple of years ago on a previous visit and looking for a place which did good chowder we decided to give this a try a try. The two girls were really friendly and gave good , quick service but the chowder and lobster stew was really disappointing. Very watery and tasteless.

Helpful?
Thank BooMermaid
francesca f, Owner at Geno's Chowder & Sandwich Shop, responded to this review

Dear BooMermaid- We know not everyone will enjoy our chowder and that is why we offer a sample before you order. We want our customers to know exactly what they are getting. Our chowders are gluten free which makes them thin and brothy. Our employees work hard at making sure your lunch is quick and friendly. Thanks- More 

Saco, Maine
Level Contributor
130 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2016

Pouring rain, but the chowder house was cozy and bright. tables inside and out on the enclosed deck. Abby told me to sit in a place of our choosing and we opted for inside.She brought us iced tea immediately and took our orders. Two lobster salads and a large lobster roll. The plates were so beautiful I almost couldn't "dig"... More 

Helpful?
Thank happytraveler11122
francesca f, Owner at Geno's Chowder & Sandwich Shop, responded to this review

WOW , thanks happy traveler! More 

new hampshire
Level Contributor
43 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2016

good location , seated on the outdoor deck , ordered a lobster roll and seafood chowder ,it was very sparse and WAY overpriced, i heard other customers complaining , definitely would not recommend this place

Helpful?
Thank geraldo84
Fort Myers Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2016

On vacation with friends, we decided to try Geno's. Friendly staff and good service. Meals were good. I had the lobster chowder - which was very good but would have been better if it was thicker - needs more cream.

Helpful?
Thank travelwithdebbiek
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2016

Living only a few hundred yards from Geno's its an easy, uncomplicated dinning experience. My daughter and I enjoyed a late afternoon (almost closing time) snack that included a freshly, prepared Lobster roll and Lobster salad, very thick, juicy, succulent lobster, Also enjoyed a couple glasses of Wine in their signature glasses ....nice way to end a miserable, rainy day..

Helpful?
Thank Happygirlie66
francesca f, Owner at Geno's Chowder & Sandwich Shop, responded to this review

Dear Happygirlie, So glad your snack was a great one. I enjoyed your company too. See you around the neighborhood :) More 

Travellers who viewed Geno's Chowder & Sandwich Shop also viewed

 

Been to Geno's Chowder & Sandwich Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$5 - US$25
Cuisine
American, Seafood, Soups
Meals
Lunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff
Good for
Kids, Local cuisine, View, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Monday
11:00 - 15:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 15:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 15:00
Thursday
11:00 - 15:00
Friday
11:00 - 15:00
Saturday
11:00 - 15:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 177 Mechanic St, Portsmouth, NH 03801-4622
  • Location: United States  >  New Hampshire (NH)  >  Portsmouth
  • Phone Number: +1 603-427-2070
Description
Family owned and operated since 1964 by the Marconi family.Serving lobster rolls, chowders, sandwiches, salads and great desserts at an affordable price.Waterfront deck dining over looking the back channel and the fishing pier. Beer and wine.Boat docking available. Off the beaten path in the southend neighborhood of Portsmouth but worth the trip!
Featured in N.E.'S Favorite Seafood Shacks by Elizabeth Bougerol
"Dock and dine on plump lobster rolls and seemingly effortless bowls of chowder" 2010 -pg159

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Geno's Chowder & Sandwich Shop and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Wakefield, Rhode Island
4 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Geno's Chowder & Sandwich Shop staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?