We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Adega Grill

$$ - $$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
130 Ferry St, Newark, NJ 07105-2115 (Between Monroe & Madison)
+1 973-589-8830
Website
Today
12:00 - 22:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 - 22:00
Mon - Thu 11:30 - 22:00
Fri - Sat 11:30 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

111 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 109: English reviews
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Dined here a few days while traveling on business. Talk about ambience, presentation, and delicious food. The salmon stuffed with spinach, lobster, and crab was everything. Very good choice. I originally purchased the seafood pasta that was in a vodka cream sauce. It was a terrible choice. The sauce was runny and fishy. It tasted nothing like a cream sauce.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Anitra L
Marco O, Owner at Adega Grill, responded to this review

I apologize for the initial speed bump with your seafood pastas, Anitra. We certainly want every dish to knock it out of the park, and I'm thrilled to know that everything else about your meal was so delicious. I truly appreciate all of your input, and we look forward to having you back again some time for the full five-star... More 

Marlboro, New Jersey
Level Contributor
361 reviews
260 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Everything was plentiful and delicious with one exception. The appetizer of mushrooms and lobster was delicious but the crab legs were nearly impossible to get into. The little bit I tasted was fabulous but they all were mostly uneaten because the shells were unbelievably hard. They should have cracked them before serving them. The main courses of paella and mariscada... More 

Helpful?
Thank Joanne L
Marco O, Owner at Adega Grill, responded to this review

While it's certainly wonderful to know what a big hit your entree was, I apologize if some other aspects of your meal left you wanting more, Joanne. Our staff sincerely strives to make every dish a big hit, and I appreciate you sharing your input. There's nothing we strive to do more than give our customers a five-star experience, and... More 

Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Attended my uncle's 60th Birthday Party April 1st at Adega Grill. Started off rather aggravated due to the terrible parking conditions. You could barely make it through the streets because of double parking and God forbid you find a spot it's at least a couple blocks away. Once we got inside we were told that they have their own parking... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer J
Marco O, Owner at Adega Grill, responded to this review

I'm so thrilled to know that your family gathering went so well, Jennifer! Seeing that our staff provided you with such wonderful and attentive service means the world, and of course it's great that you loved all of your food so much. I am truly honored that you chose to have you family celebrate here with us, and I hope... More 

Marshfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
77 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Came here for a group business dinner. We had a private room, which was excellent, because we were loud. The menu is very extensive - and hard to choose, there are so many great choices. Adega also has several specials every night. Two people split the seafood platter - lobster, shrimp, mussels, rice - they loved it! We also had... More 

Helpful?
Thank opalkramer
Marco O, Owner at Adega Grill, responded to this review

I'm thrilled to know what an excellent experience you had with us! From the excellent service to all the great seafood you enjoyed, reading your kind words has made my day. Thanks for everything -- we all hope to see you again some time! Sincerely, Marco O., GM More 

Eastover, South Carolina
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed or visit. We visited on a Monday and arrived rather early in the evening. I am sure this is the reason we were the the only guest in the restaurant. The waiter came promptly and proved us with some delicious bread with an assortment of olives and tomatoes. Delightful. We ordered the assortment seafood... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ericka H
Marco O, Owner at Adega Grill, responded to this review

I'm honored to have earned your recommendation, Ericka. Knowing that your service provided you with such prompt service is wonderful, and I'm just as delighted to see that your food was equally enjoyable. Thanks so much for all your kind words -- we can't wait to have you back! All the best, Marco O., GM More 

Florham Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2017 via mobile

Just had lunch on Sunday with my family. Food was exceptional! By the way, one plate gives for two people in my opinion. If you like lobster try the stuffed lobster that's my recommendation. Everyone enjoyed it! By the way, the restaurant has parking on 98 Madison Street, Just remember before you leave to validate your ticket.

Helpful?
Thank LILY306
Marco O, Owner at Adega Grill, responded to this review

I'm honored that our stuffed lobster has earned your recommendation, Lily, and thank you so much for all your kind words. Seeing that your whole experience was so great means the world, and we can't wait to have you back again! All the best, Marco O., GM More 

Level Contributor
61 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2017

The food is great for late-night. For earlier dinner there are better places for food as well as wine. However the place is super pleasant and worth the visit.

Helpful?
Thank Maria Weronika R
Marco O, Owner at Adega Grill, responded to this review

I'm happy to see that you've had a nice time here, Maria, and I appreciate you sharing your recommendation with everyone. Our staff will always strive to deliver the true five-star experience, and I look forward to having you back again some time to show you just that. Thanks for everything! Sincerely, Marco O., GM More 

Newtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
151 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2016

I visited Adega for the first time in Dec and had a wonderful time. Food was excellent and the service first class. Appetizers were fabulous and as big as a normal entree. The entrees were very good and served in a stylish manner. Sangria was good and plentiful.

Helpful?
Thank fred5110
Marco O, Owner at Adega Grill, responded to this review

It's wonderful hearing you enjoyed a relaxing and delicious time at Adega Grill, and my staff and I look forward to your return visit. Warmly, Marco O., GM More 

Newark, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 December 2016

I went to Adega Grill for my team's Christmas luncheon. The food was good, well flavored. I have eaten at Adega plenty of times and the food is always on point. However, this time we sat at a table with the couch and there was a cockroach crawling on top of the couch. We reported it to the waiter, he... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank soca11
Marco O, Owner at Adega Grill, responded to this review

I'm very concerned to hear of this incident and will be looking into things immediately. Thanks for bringing this to my attention, and I'm sorry you had this experience. Please know my staff and myself abide by strict food and handling policies and only accept a clean and organized space. Thanks again for reaching out, and have a wonderful rest... More 

new jersey
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2016 via mobile

I have been going to the Adega Grill for years and highly recommend it. They have a long bar on one side and formal seating in a separate room on the other side The bar area is friendly and I have met people from all over the world that come on a lengthy stop over at Newark airport (10 min... More 

Helpful?
Thank bobbyk57
Marco O, Owner at Adega Grill, responded to this review

Sincerest thanks for conveying your happiness to me! It's absolutely wonderful you love our entrees and wine so much, and I'd love to have you back soon for another delicious time. Have a great day, and I look forward to your next visit. Best, Marco O., GM More 

Travellers who viewed Adega Grill also viewed

 

Been to Adega Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$31 - US$50
Cuisine
Portuguese, Seafood
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Parking Available, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
Good for
Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:00
Monday
11:30 - 22:00
Tuesday
11:30 - 22:00
Wednesday
11:30 - 22:00
Thursday
11:30 - 22:00
Friday
11:30 - 23:00
Saturday
11:30 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 130 Ferry St, Newark, NJ 07105-2115
    (Between Monroe & Madison)
  • Location: United States  >  New Jersey (NJ)  >  Newark
  • Phone Number: +1 973-589-8830
Description
With an accommodating and quaint atmosphere, Adega Grill in Newark is the hottest new place in the Ironbound section. Inspired by its name, Adega, meaning wine cellar in Portuguese, the motif of the decoration is of vineyards and wine making. From the moment you enter, tones of old world yellows, stone fireplaces, wrought iron cellar gates and sconces, soft candlelight, coves with upholstered sofa seating and friendly staff, it's an undeniable inviting space, nothing short of extraordinary. Two special occasion tables with antique throne chairs and live piano music add to the intimacy. Two romantic dining rooms cater to an elegant crowd, while the long narrow bar gathers a friendly and fun bunch nightly. The cuisine truly upholds the name of Fine Portuguese/Spanish Dining, seafood and fish, organic meats, the freshest ingredients and to maintain the tradition, huge portions are to be expected. The menu is seasonal and in addition to a varied selection of delectable dishes to satisfy any palette, daily specials are always featured. The wine list with over 180 selections is an ambitious one that keeps growing, but sure not to disappoint the discriminating connoisseur.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Adega Grill staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?