We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cafe Portofino's

cnr Da Gama Rd & Goede Hoop St | 22 Da Gama Road, Jeffreys Bay 6330, South Africa
+27 42 293 3125
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent45%
  • Very good22%
  • Average16%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible13%
4 Feb 2017
“Good basic food”
30 Sep 2016
“Lovely restaurant”
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Pizza, Cafe, Seafood, Mediterranean, Grill
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
cnr Da Gama Rd & Goede Hoop St | 22 Da Gama Road, Jeffreys Bay 6330, South Africa
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2017 via mobile

The menu is what you would expect if you went to an American diner. The food is very basic but freshly made and at fair price. Try the jaffel. The service is good and attentive.

Thank Morten Kaas I
A TripAdvisor Member
3
Reviewed 30 September 2016 via mobile

Good fresh and tasty food, good price, personal service!! Seating inside and outside. We were served by the owner, who is present and available at the restaurant during business hours. What more can you ask for?

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 16 August 2016

Service not bad, but an hour and 20 minute wait for a soggy sandwich and a salad that was ment to be spicy chicken and avacardo (drowned in sweet chilli sauce) inedible!

Thank 655erikap
Reviewed 21 July 2016 via mobile

This is a lovely cafe, cool design inside and a good menu to choose from! Great milkshakes here! The prices are fair also. I would recommend cafe portofinos if you are looking for a nice cuppa or a light bite to eat!

Thank Derek O
Reviewed 28 April 2016 via mobile

From the first moment of walking into the restaurant me and my husband were taken on a unforgettable experience. The waitress was very helpful and the food was delicious! I strongly recommend it to all food lovers!

Thank Jolandi F
Reviewed 27 April 2016

I never write reviews of restaurants but i feel compelled to warn other travellers about the terrible horrific service i encountered here. My family and i had just been on a lovely safari and were making our way on the Garden Route to Plettenberg Bay....More

Thank Sian F
cafeportofinos, Owner at Cafe Portofino's, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2016

Good Day. Thank you for your review. I'm sorry for the experience you had with us. Please could you provide me with the date and time you visited our establishment? I would like to have a look at our CCTV system to address this matter...More

Reviewed 28 March 2016 via mobile

We had lunch there. Service was nice but the food took very long to arrive and one of our order got forgotten. Since it took so long we didn't want to reorder. Food was ok.

Thank Bruno G
Reviewed 20 February 2016

Well, never had a cheeseburger that was a burger bun, halved, sliced frankfurter, topped by grated cheese and sliced avocado. Different, quite tasty, but not what I was expecting! Ordered Windhoek draught beer - because it was draught - but of course got a bottle...More

Thank paulbloodworth
cafeportofinos, Owner at Cafe Portofino's, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2016

Thank you for your review. We appreciate any feedback from our customers. I would just like to inform you that the burger you received was our very popular Cheese Griller Burger. We do not use Frankfurthers in our restaurant. It looks like misread communication from...More

Reviewed 8 January 2016 via mobile

In 20 odd years of being lucky enough to go to many great places I've never been to the same restaurant twice in the same day. I have now. The utter charm of the staff combined with the superb food brought us back in the...More

Thank Phin W
Reviewed 4 January 2016 via mobile

We normally visit this establishment whenever we are in JBay. The food is good and the service friendly, although it can be a bit on the slow side. Worth a visit!

Thank NielMalan
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Tasty Table
148 reviews
.17 km away
INFOOD Deli/Restuarant
293 reviews
.26 km away
The Greek Restaurant and Wine Bar
324 reviews
.09 km away
Catch of the day
178 reviews
.08 km away
Nearby Attractions
Papiesfontein Beach Horse Rides
90 reviews
.47 km away
Jeffrey's Bay Shell Museum (Charlotte Kritzinger Shell Museum)
38 reviews
.46 km away
Wavecrest Surf School
100 reviews
.18 km away
Son Surf School
61 reviews
.50 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
occucare
23 August 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Braam F | Property representative |
Good evening. Yes they are welcome. Hope to see you soon
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Street Parking, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Waitstaff, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly
Open Hours
Monday
08:00 - 21:00
Tuesday
08:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
08:00 - 21:00
Thursday
08:00 - 21:00
Friday
08:00 - 21:00
Saturday
08:00 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: cnr Da Gama Rd & Goede Hoop St | 22 Da Gama Road, Jeffreys Bay 6330, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Eastern Cape  >  Jeffreys Bay
  • Phone Number: +27 42 293 3125
Description
Family restaurant with a mix of European and Kalahari (Afrikaans) dishes on the menu. Comfortable seating for backpackers to rest their legs. Wide variety of drinks, hot or cold, and milkshakes that you wont find anywhere else.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing