We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Avontuur Estate Restaurant

The Avontuur Estate, | Western Cape, Somerset West 7130, South Africa
+27 21 855 4296
Call
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent62%
  • Very good30%
  • Average5%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“duck” (63 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
CUISINES
European, International, Contemporary, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
The Avontuur Estate, | Western Cape, Somerset West 7130, South Africa
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (451)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

81 - 90 of 397 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2017

Good and friendly service, excelent food and nice atmosfare. You feel home and comfortable. Their own wine are excelent. We kindly recommend this nice restaurant.

1  Thank Kenneth O
Zed B, Owner at The Avontuur Estate Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2017

Dear Kenneth Thank you for the glowing praise. We hope to see you at Avontuur again soon. Best regards

Reviewed 7 March 2017

My husband and I went for a late lunch at Avontuur. We booked for 2.30pm but were not informed that the kitchen closes for lunch at 3pm. When we arrived there we wanted to do a wine-tasting first, however were told that as the kitchen...More

1  Thank MishRoy
Reviewed 1 March 2017

We have previously had excellent meals at this up-market Restaurant! Sunday 15 Family Members joined us and being a beautiful day the Restaurant had seated us outside, unfortunately, some sat in too much sun including the 2 year old so we asked for more umbrellas,...More

Thank atir24
Zed B, Owner at The Avontuur Estate Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2017

Dear Atir We are sorry to hear of your disappointing meal at Avontuur, especially in the light of having enjoyed so many great meals here before. Your waiter for the day was Michael who has been with us for many years, when he returned to...More

Reviewed 1 March 2017 via mobile

That's not quite true! We eat here in 2015, it was really good. We eat here in 2016, it was fantastic. Now we eat here yesterday and it was even better. So my guess is, it will be an even more amazing culinary and visual...More

Thank Lawrence H
Reviewed 21 February 2017

Started the day in lovely surroundings,watching the horses trying to keep cool with the water spray,and then enjoying coffee.

Thank Jim M
Reviewed 18 February 2017 via mobile

The entire experience was disappointing. From the bread to the mains. The view is the only upside. Go to Cavalli down the road! Much better !!More

1  Thank hntraveller
Zed B, Owner at The Avontuur Estate Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2017

Dear Hn Traveller Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. We are however surprised that you did not address your dissatisfaction with management immediately instead of on a platform like this where after the fact we are unable to make amends. Both...More

Reviewed 14 February 2017

-Repeatedly had to ask for water--3 times!. -Despite repeating that my duck had to be " crispy, crispy, crispy" it was not and had to be returned to the Kitchen-- with my wife's fish so that we could dine together.Hardly satisfactoyr---and the waiter blames the...More

Thank wayne1839
Zed B, Owner at The Avontuur Estate Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2017

Dear Wayne Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. We apologise for your disappointing experience. You have highlighted two issues that need addressing; service as well as food. We cook on average 6000 ducks a year and in so doing we...More

Reviewed 13 February 2017 via mobile

It was a very hot afternoon ,so the trout and avocado starter went down a treat.Having eaten here many times during our visits to Franschhoek over the years we know that the duck is to die for! Tender,well cooked,plenty of flavour with a tasty sauce,good...More

1  Thank isla001
Reviewed 9 February 2017 via mobile

We have visited The Western Cape at least once a year for the last 16 years but have never been to Avontuur Estate Restaurant. We went last week and were very pleasantly surprised. We had an excellent light lunch outside, under the vine covered seating...More

1  Thank Shanghailiz
Reviewed 4 February 2017 via mobile

Great place to enjoy a lunch with friends. The food is OK but not as nice as expected after reading the reviews. The service is good but could have a bit more smiles.

1  Thank Johan61
PreviousNext
1789101140
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 6 hotels in Somerset West
NH Cape Town The Lord Charles
394 reviews
4.53 km away
Somerset Lodge
20 reviews
5.86 km away
Somerset Links
1 review
6.57 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch
372 reviews
6.73 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Sweetwell Restaurant
133 reviews
.60 km away
96 Winery Road Restaurant
825 reviews
1.30 km away
Giovanni's at Eikendal Winery
127 reviews
1.45 km away
Nearby Attractions
Waterford Estate
501 reviews
5.57 km away
Iona Wine Farm
6 reviews
4.28 km away
Cavalli Art Gallery
42 reviews
3.58 km away
Ernie Els Wines
239 reviews
2.65 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
brendagin
30 January 2015|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Raymond B | Reviewed this property |
Hi Avontuur restaurant can accommodate 40 guests for dinner, they are only open on Wednesdays, Fridays and Saturdays for dinner from 6pm. There telephone number is 021-855-4296.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$10 - US$25
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa
Good for
Groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, View, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
9:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.
Monday
9:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Tuesday
9:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Wednesday
9:00 a.m. - 10:30 p.m.
Thursday
9:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Friday
9:00 a.m. - 10:30 p.m.
Saturday
9:00 a.m. - 5:00 a.m.
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The Avontuur Estate, | Western Cape, Somerset West 7130, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Cape Town  >  Somerset West
  • Phone Number: +27 21 855 4296
  • E-mail
Description
Put us on your G.P.S.... Avontuur Estate, nestled on the Helderberg mountain, with horses, vines and Table Mountain in the distance is a calm haven from the hustle and bustle of the city. A mere 45 minute drive from the airport with ample parking, Avontuur is a destination you should have on your GPS. Award winning wines and knowledgeable tasting room staff will pique your taste buds regarding our wines and our restaurant with inside as well as outside seating, has panoramic views to take your breath away. Hearty portions, aromatic flavours and delectable food is the order of the day at the Restaurant, with attention to detail and service excellence being the norm. Call us to book your table, your guests won't be dissapointed. 021 855 4296
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing