We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bugle Horn

Oxford Road, Hartwell, Aylesbury HP17 8QP, England
+44 1296 747594
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent21%
  • Very good31%
  • Average19%
  • Poor15%
  • Terrible14%
Travellers talk about
“pudding” (31 reviews)
“rump steak” (7 reviews)
“sunday roast” (6 reviews)
Open Now
12:00 PM - 11:00 PMAll hours
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
$$ - $$$
Oxford Road, Hartwell, Aylesbury HP17 8QP, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (521)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 520 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago

Just returned from the Bugle Horn. I received a voucher for my birthday of which Vintage Inns was one of the establishments where it could be used. To be fair I wasn't expecting much and so in that respect, it met my expectations. You have...More

Thank Steve B
General Manager A, Manager at Bugle Horn, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thank you for your review, Steve! We welcome all comments and feedback so that we know what areas we can improve on, so thank you for that and we hope to see you again. Bugle Horn

Reviewed 1 week ago

I ordered a salad with avocado, pomegranate, and goats cheese - sounded delicious. Unfortunately, it was ATROCIOUS. There was NO goats cheese, 2 seeds of a pomegranate, a teaspoon of black mashed up avocado, 3 whole undercooked carrots, and very large amounts of Iceberg Lettuce.......More

Thank customer164
General Manager A, Manager at Bugle Horn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

This has been replied to directly from your contact with us via other channels. Bugle Horn

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Leah served us beautifully, and the lunch was lovely. Food was delicious. Settings very good. We go at least one a month.

Thank June S
General Manager A, Manager at Bugle Horn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your kind review June! We'll be sure to pass on your comments to Leah! Bugle Horn

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

While waiting to be served, I was flat out ignored at an empty bar by a bar maid that was far more interested in other things for so long, that I was forced to start wondering whether I should use my new powers of invisibility...More

1  Thank Adam R
General Manager A, Manager at Bugle Horn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Adam, I apologise for the wait you had at the bar but glad you enjoyed your meal with us. Many Thanks, Bugle Horn

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Went in at 3pm for a late lunch. Been here quite a few times in the past. Been hit and miss. They allow dogs-which is fine but not great when you watch them pick up the dog water bowl and pour it down the same...More

Thank bakerr1983
General Manager A, Manager at Bugle Horn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

I would like to discuss this with you further, if you'd like to email me on buglehornhartwell@vintageinn.co.uk with your comments I will happily discuss this. Many Thanks, Aarron General Manager Bugle Horn

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We visited here end of October on our visit from Cornwall for our Grandsons birthday, the table was pre-booked 10 people, to be honest was very disappointed with the food. To start with we asked I assume either the head waitress or manageress what was...More

Thank Barry V
General Manager A, Manager at Bugle Horn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Barry, I apologise for the visit not being up to standard, your comments will be used to further train our team to provide more accurate descriptions of food and provide a better experience. Many Thanks, Bugle Horn

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We went to the Bugle Horn on a Friday evening with 8 people in total. We had prebooked so no problems getting a table. The menu is quite varied and they also have an offers menu with 2 courses for £15 I think. I had...More

Thank Phil M
General Manager A, Manager at Bugle Horn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for the warm, positive review Phil! :)

Reviewed 31 October 2017 via mobile

Poor information about gluten free choices on menu, but better advice from the waitress. Completely forgot to bring starters. Felt expensive for fairly average chain pub. Burger in bun - £12.50 (a la carte) when served with small ramekin of chips, felt under-whelming. Recently paid...More

Thank WykehamGateGuy
General Manager A, Manager at Bugle Horn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2017

Thank you for your review. Our menus do not state what allergens are contained within our dishes, these are provided upon request when we are presented with a guest informing us that they have an allergy or intolerance, so that we can spend the time...More

Reviewed 21 October 2017

popped in for dinner with Mum and Dad last night, all 3 of us were enticed by the chicken & thyme pie and we were not disappointed! Generous portions and a wonderful crusty pastry top. We just about had room for pudding, which was also...More

Thank Joanna W
Reviewed 21 October 2017 via mobile

As a Coeliac I asked the staff if I could see their allergy book before ordering. Smart**** staff member refused and said he knew exactly what was safe on the menu and suggested I had the black pearl scallops starter. I ate it and felt...More

Thank Liz B
General Manager A, Manager at Bugle Horn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2017

Hi Liz, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us. I am saddened to hear of your experience with us and this is being investigated internally. I sincerely apologise for the team member not referring to our allergy guide, which is...More

Nearby Restaurants
The Rose and Crown
19 reviews
.87 km away
The Jeera
92 reviews
1.05 km away
Hartwell House
265 reviews
.10 km away
Nearby Attractions
Hartwell House Spa
67 reviews
.46 km away
The Bell - Stoke Mandeville
28 reviews
3.80 km away
Orchard View Farm
80 reviews
5.19 km away
The Bucks Goat Centre
179 reviews
4.64 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Bugle Horn staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
12:00 PM - 10:30 PM
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Oxford Road, Hartwell, Aylesbury HP17 8QP, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Buckinghamshire  >  Aylesbury Vale  >  Aylesbury  >  Hartwell
  • Phone Number: +44 1296 747594
Embracing the rural charm of its tranquil, scenic setting, The Bugle Horn offers a modern twist on traditional country pub dining. As well as offering a beer garden for enjoying summertime dining, the cosy dining room is filled with rustic original features and toasty fires for warming winter dining. Championing favourite British recipes, guests can enjoy evenings devoted to the inn's freshly-baked pies, as well as gourmet roast dinners and seasonal cocktail mixes.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing