We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Riva

Rottnest Lodge, Kitson Street, Cockburn, Rottnest Island, Western Australia 5440, Australia
+61 8 9292 5161
Call
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent41%
  • Very good23%
  • Average20%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
“duck” (4 reviews)
“pizza” (10 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Australian, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Rottnest Lodge, Kitson Street, Cockburn, Rottnest Island, Western Australia 5440, Australia
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (116)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Had two dinnners here and one elsewhere. No doubt Riva made the best, also for the price. Fantastic musician in the bar to begin with, and just very good sea food and Asian kitchen. Highly recommended, including the hotel where we stayed.

Thank htc32
Glen T, General Manager at Riva, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Hi Htc32, Thank you for your recent review of Riva restaurant, Im pleased to hear that you enjoyed your mexperience with us, looking forward to welcoming you back to Riva in the near future. Regards Management

Reviewed 8 January 2018

Went there for lunch having been tempted by a 25% discount offer. Probably not bad value with 25% but I would have been pretty miffed had I had to pay full price. Lets look at the positives first. Venue is convenient, comfortable and being alongside...More

Thank SandzDK
Glen T, General Manager at Riva, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

Hi sandzDK; Thank you for your recent review of Riva restaurant.Im sorry that you didn't enjoy your luncheon as our food normally receives favourable comments.I have addressed this with my chef to ensure that our usual high standards are maintained. We look forward to welcoming...More

Reviewed 3 January 2018 via mobile

The seafood was tasteless overcooked and pre frozen; the venue was shabby and not clean enough, eg. we sat outside with a dirty windowsill and dead moth to look at. Water in glasses had been pre poured and was warm and undrinkable. It was extremely...More

Thank chillimussels
Glen T, Management at Riva, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear chillimussels Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion on your recent experience with us and we are sorry to learn of your disappointment after this years successful Christmas Lunch offering. We would like to reassure you that we do not purchase...More

Reviewed 31 October 2017 via mobile

Had dinner on a Tuesday night. Walked in as wasn't a busy period Warm welcome by waiter Nice menu which was illuminated, making much easier to see. Both of us had the fish of the day, red emperor with lentils and orange sauce. Very nice...More

Thank Paddington B
Glen T, General Manager at Riva, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2017

Hi Albert ; Thank you for your recent review of Riva restaurant here at Karma Rottnest ,Im glad that you enjoyed your evening and we look forward to welcoming you back to Karma Rottnest in the near future. Regards Management

Reviewed 3 October 2017

Riva is attached to the Karma Rottnest Lodge. We enjoyed the restaurant so much we dined both nights. It was a lovely and unexpected fine dining experience. The menu was excellent and the space beautifully set out with some lovely historic pictures on the walls....More

Thank travelc60
Glen T, General Manager at Riva, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Hi travelc60: Thank you for recent review of Riva Restaurant , I'm glad that you enjoyed your experience with us and that you found everything to your liking. We look forward to welcoming you back to Riva on your next visit to Rottnest nad Karma...More

Reviewed 23 September 2017 via mobile

Romantic - nice meals but don't be late on weekend or Saturday night as band noise next door - linen tablecloths - great staffMore

1  Thank janine p
Glen T, General Manager at Riva, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Hi Janinep; Thank you for recent review of Riva restaurant here at Karma Rottnest,Im thrilled that you found the evening to be romantic and found the meals to your satisfaction .Unfortunately we do have Live music every Saturday night in Govs bar situated at the...More

Reviewed 4 September 2017 via mobile

Amazing food. Reasonably priced. Plating skills are excellent. Amazing service. 😆 Eye fillet $38 and amazing. Light up menus good for older people to see in the dimmed lighting.More

Thank Jaime M
Glen T, General Manager at Riva, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Hi Jaime M ; Thank you for your recent review of Riva restaurant . Im glad that you enjoyed your evening and found the food and presentation to your liking . We look forward to welcoming you back to Riva on your next visit to...More

Reviewed 4 July 2017 via mobile

We went here for dinner on a recommendation, and we have been here several times before but a few years ago. The menu was typical for Perth prices, but all 3 meals were really average. We agreed we could've cooked each meal better at home,...More

Thank Katrina Z
Glen T, Manager at Riva, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2017

Hi Katrina Z, We always receive fantastic reviews in regards to dinner in the Riva Restaurant as you will notice from other reviewers here on trip advisor and the friends who recommended Riva for you. We are disappointed to that you did not thoroughly enjoy...More

Reviewed 31 May 2017

....when the place was a reformatory for boys in the 19th century as this was one of - if not the - worst buffet lunches that I have ever had. There was a poor choice of poorly prepared, lukewarm, dried out stuff in trays. The...More

Thank Lexus51
Glen T, General Manager at Riva, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2017

Hi Lexus51; thank you for your recent review of Riva restaurant. I am sorry to hear that you were unimpressed with our buffet lunch. We do offer a option of either the buffet luncheon or a luncheon a la carte menu. We Run the buffet...More

Reviewed 23 May 2017

We had a wonderful dinner here during our stay at the Karma Rottnest Lodge - just delicious. My partner had pork belly which he was in raptures over - I had squid ink pasta with crab - delicious! and this was preceded by a superb...More

Thank naturegirl15
Glen T, Manager at Riva, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2017

Hi naturegirl15, Thankyou for taking the time to review your recent dining experience at Riva. I will pass on your kind words to Dawn and we hope to welcome you back for another fabulous dining experience on your next visit to Rottnest. Regards Management

PreviousNext
12345612
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Rottnest Island Hotels
The Cottesloe Beach Hotel
168 reviews
20.06 km away
Ocean Beach Hotel
231 reviews
20.13 km away
Be. Fremantle
256 reviews
20.40 km away
Quality Suites Fremantle
220 reviews
20.62 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Rottnest Bakery
391 reviews
.08 km away
The Lane Cafe
104 reviews
.09 km away
Hotel Rottnest Bar + Bistro
302 reviews
.39 km away
Thomsons
60 reviews
.30 km away
Nearby Attractions
Rottnest Island Visitor Centre
440 reviews
.21 km away
Rottnest Island Nature Reserve
132 reviews
.53 km away
The Basin
179 reviews
1.33 km away
Rottnest Island Museum
150 reviews
.10 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
ritzbits
6 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Glen T | Property representative |
Hi louise; I have made a reservation for you at 1230 tomorrow Regards Management
0
Votes
Paul M
16 February 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Glen T | Property representative |
Dear Paul, Thank you for your message. Riva Restaurant is open for everyone and you are more than welcome to have dinner with us. We have your reservation booked for tomorrow, February 18th. What time would you like to... More
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Australian, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Groups, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Rottnest Lodge, Kitson Street, Cockburn, Rottnest Island, Western Australia 5440, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  Western Australia  >  Greater Perth  >  Cockburn  >  Rottnest Island
  • Phone Number: +61 8 9292 5161
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing