We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Dirty Dick's Crab House

2407 S Croatan Hwy, Nags Head, NC 27959-9015
+1 252-449-2722
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent39%
  • Very good26%
  • Average17%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
“seafood” (108 reviews)
“shrimp” (83 reviews)
“crab melt” (11 reviews)
Open Now
8:00 a.m. - 10:00 p.m. Hours
CUISINES
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
2407 S Croatan Hwy, Nags Head, NC 27959-9015
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (778)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 777 reviews

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

We visited because of the name. The food we had was good. Great waitress and quick service. We were there a little late in the evening and there wasn’t a large crowd.More

Thank George H
DDXrestaurant, General Manager at Dirty Dick's Crab House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you for taking time to review us. It's nice to see that you enjoyed us and I'm hoping that the 3 star rating was an accident as you seemed to have nice things to say. I hope to see you soon and get a...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The food was barely prepared properly. We weren't notified that there was no more hushpuppy batter until we asked multiple times. Not a good experience

Thank Nichole B
DDXrestaurant, General Manager at Dirty Dick's Crab House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Was this a review that is meant for us? The reason why I ask is because we haven't run out of hush puppies in a year. Please call the restaurant to tell me more when you can. Our number is (252)449-2722. Thanks, Rob B

Reviewed 1 week ago

I had a seafood bucket that included mussels. There was no problem substituting more clams for the mussels because I am allergic. My husband, who is seafood averse, really enjoyed his strip steak.More

Thank jwgmom
DDXrestaurant, General Manager at Dirty Dick's Crab House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to review us. I'm happy we were able to accommodate. I apologize for the lack of excitement...we're ready for a stronger pulse as well but that won't be the case on this island until the weather breaks. A little...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Went at a time that the restaurant wasn't crowded. Took almost 2 hours to get everything for our meal. Only 2 people in our party! The food was good but when we asked to order crab cakes to go we were told the wrong price...More

Thank Shelley C
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This place has great service and management! While my wife and I sat and ate our dinner we couldn’t help but hear the guy next to us complaining about everything. It seemed as if he had planned on not paying so he made every excuse...More

Thank Daniel S
DDXrestaurant, General Manager at Dirty Dick's Crab House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks so much. A bunch of have been here long enough to have a feel for what we're dealing with. Most of our customers are a really great time and we appreciate them(you!!LOL). There are some that require a bit of extra attention. As I...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Loved this restaurant. Had a Caesar Salad and a great burger. Huge portions!!! Everything tasted great and had enough for lunch the next day!

Thank Keno123123
DDXrestaurant, General Manager at Dirty Dick's Crab House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much for taking the time to post this favorable review. We really try hard to show people a great time and its refreshing to read such a wonderful comment. Thanks again! Rob B

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We visited at lunch and had a great meal. Chantel was a fantastic server! Great attitude and service. We will be back!

Thank FrequentTraveler132
DDXrestaurant, General Manager at Dirty Dick's Crab House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much for your review. Chantel is also a great mom, daughter, mentor and friend as well!! She works hard and cares about people. I'm glad that you saw these qualities and were impressed enough to write a review!! Rob B

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The draw for us, as probably for most, was the play on the name. Had to stop and get a friend a shirt so we figured we’d grab a bite to eat as well. Food as just ok, nothing to write home about. Our server...More

Thank dmleblanc80
DDXrestaurant, General Manager at Dirty Dick's Crab House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

I'd like an opportunity to talk to you to find out what you had that didn't impress you. We have an extensive menu with sooo many options and we usually match entrees to people for their maximum enjoyment. Please, by all means, call the restaurant...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were traveling just for the day from Virginia to North Carolina We decided to visit the Outer Banks and Nags Head Got on GPS to find a restaurant in the Nags Head Area Dirty Dick's Crab Shack came up. Best choice the GPS has...More

Thank Laura R
DDXrestaurant, General Manager at Dirty Dick's Crab House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for taking time to post the positive review. Josh is one of my favorites too!! LOL Next time that you're in the neighborhood feel free to ask for Josh and let me know who you are so that I can thank you in person!!...More

Reviewed 2 March 2018

My husband and I, along with a couple of friends , had lunch at Dirty Dick's Crab House. . It was off season so we were seated quickly and received great service from Kendra. It was our first visit but we all agreed, Dick's will...More

Thank cxjacqswz
DDXrestaurant, General Manager at Dirty Dick's Crab House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for giving us a try. Our goal is simple...We want to show you a great time and become an option on your radar for your next visit to the area. I'm elated that Kendra showed you a great time and that the food...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 13 hotels in Nags Head
John Yancey Oceanfront Inn
449 reviews
1.00 km away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
2,689 reviews
1.36 km away
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
505 reviews
1.43 km away
Outer Banks Motor Lodge
129 reviews
1.49 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Surfin Spoon
198 reviews
.30 km away
Kill Devil Grill
1,922 reviews
1.00 km away
Morning View Coffee House and Roastery
185 reviews
.67 km away
Ladles Soups
144 reviews
1.05 km away
Nearby Attractions
Seaside Art Gallery
35 reviews
.82 km away
Dowdy Park
6 reviews
1.24 km away
Ghost Crab Quest
22 reviews
1.20 km away
The Comedy Club of the Outer Banks
29 reviews
1.35 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
chupakilldevilhills
30 January 2018|
AnswerShow all 15 answers
Response from Julie M | Property representative |
Yes, we do have a huge salad bar with 4 types of soup and a few desserts. Delish!
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$7 - US$45
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Accepts Discover, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
8:00 a.m. - 10:00 p.m.
Monday
8:00 a.m. - 10:00 p.m.
Tuesday
8:00 a.m. - 10:00 p.m.
Wednesday
8:00 a.m. - 10:00 p.m.
Thursday
8:00 a.m. - 10:00 p.m.
Friday
8:00 a.m. - 10:00 p.m.
Saturday
8:00 a.m. - 10:00 p.m.
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 2407 S Croatan Hwy, Nags Head, NC 27959-9015
  • Location: United States  >  North Carolina (NC)  >  North Carolina Coast  >  Outer Banks  >  Nags Head
  • Phone Number: +1 252-449-2722
  • E-mail
Description
Dirty Dick's Crab House is all about the FUN...in fact, the only thing we are serious about is our seafood - fresh seafood served daily!
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing