We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Captain Ratty's

202 Middle St, at 330 S. Front St, New Bern, NC 28560-2142
+1 252-633-2088
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent35%
  • Very good40%
  • Average15%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“seafood” (74 reviews)
“shrimp” (62 reviews)
“corn muffins” (10 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
American, Bar, Seafood, Soups
$$ - $$$
202 Middle St, at 330 S. Front St, New Bern, NC 28560-2142
Write a Review
Reviews (620)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

171 - 180 of 620 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2016 via mobile

Great food and service, what more can you ask for! For appetizers the cannonball shrimp are my favorite and my wife loves the fried green tomatoes. For dinner they have some of the best shrimp and grits I've ever had!

Thank db1113
Reviewed 9 April 2016

Great seafood place. Recommended are the Shrimp and Grits, the fried shrimp, the seafood platter, and most of all- the CRABCAKES! Must try! Absolutely delicious. Good atmosphere and friendly service.

Thank 9travelgirl9
Reviewed 8 April 2016

This restaurant received many great reviews and is highly ranked among some 120 restaurants in New Bern, NC. The staff was very efficient as well as friendly. There were numerous servers who waited on our table and they all seemed to be supportive of each...More

Thank Joyce M
Reviewed 6 April 2016

Great steaks and good choice of sides perfectly cooked and presented.Impressive wine list domestic and old world. Lovely staff and service. No room for dessert!

Thank Colin G
Reviewed 1 April 2016

This is a wonderful, unpretentious seafood restaurant. Started with a dozen raw oysters, on special at 68 cents each. Our dinners (me the blackened salmon, my wife the crabcakes) were well prepared and tasty. Wine selection was good. Ended with a wonderful key lime pie....More

Thank jackdash
Reviewed 31 March 2016

I usually like to treat myself to a meal downtown when I can. Captain Ratty's has never disappointed. I just had their Chicken Cob Salad and it was delicious. However, they could of chosen another plate for the salad. I was hard trying to eat...More

Thank madridclaudina
Reviewed 30 March 2016

We've eaten at Captain Ratty's many times, and we've never been disappointed. My family's favorites: Cannonball shrimp, fish tacos, and sautéed scallops.

Thank CarolCKon
Reviewed 29 March 2016 via mobile

We just so happened to stumble in here and we're so pleasantly surprised. We had a wonderful dinner here at Captain Ratty's, the service was fantastic, the food was amazing- I truly cannot say enough about this wonderful place. We had a group of seven,...More

Thank trishking0410
Reviewed 28 March 2016 via mobile

We had a reservation in the wine room. Pretty cool room. Everybody enjoyed their food. Oysters and calamari for apps. Burgers,chicken parm, scallops, rueben all very good. The wait staff was friendly. Prices were decent. I would go again in the summer and do the...More

Thank Anne C
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 27 March 2016 via mobile

We arrived an hour before close. My wife is in the food industry in front of house. Sometimes servers will be grumpy with late customers. The couple that came in after us came in with a child and a bag of taco bell. After eating...More

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Nearby Restaurants
Morgan's Tavern & Grill
1,252 reviews
.16 km away
Bay Leaf
487 reviews
.21 km away
The Chelsea
710 reviews
.33 km away
Bakers Kitchen
741 reviews
.08 km away
Nearby Attractions
Carolina Creations Fine Art & Contemporary Gallery
80 reviews
.17 km away
New Bern Fireman's Museum
99 reviews
.39 km away
Bear City Fudge Company
43 reviews
.12 km away
New Bern Farmers Market
38 reviews
.14 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
Elizabeth W
This couple that gave Captain Ratty a bad review came in with an attitude in the first place, we were sitting right next to the hostess when they came in and overheard the whole conversation. They were rude, the couple didn't even give the young hostess a chance. It was very busy February 12th for dinner and there were several people waiting..they came in and expected to be seated.....then threatened the hostess that they will be getting a bad review on TripAdvisor. My only recommendation for the next time is to give the customer a longer wait period and hope that maybe a table will be ready before the time lapsed.
13 February 2017|
Answer Show all 5 answers
Response from Elizabeth W | Reviewed this property |
I felt the couple was completely out of line, nasty and used TripAdvisor to "payback" the restaurant for not giving them a time frame for getting seated.
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Average prices
US$4 - US$29
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Open Hours
08:00 - 21:00
11:30 - 21:00
11:30 - 21:00
11:30 - 21:00
11:30 - 21:00
11:30 - 22:00
08:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 202 Middle St, at 330 S. Front St, New Bern, NC 28560-2142
  • Location: United States  >  North Carolina (NC)  >  North Carolina Coast  >  New Bern
  • Phone Number: +1 252-633-2088
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing