We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

RSL Club Southport

Certificate of Excellence
$$ - $$$
Bar, Australian, Pub, Gluten Free Options
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
36 Scarborough St, Southport, Gold Coast, Queensland 4215, Australia
+61 7 5552 4200
Website
Today
10:00 - 01:30
Open now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Thu 10:00 - 01:30
Fri - Sat 10:00 - 02:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

133 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 131: English reviews
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

Imy group of 4 was refused entry for dinner at 7pm because I didn't have id. There were children in the bar so I don't know why I needed to produce id. Horrible experience, I won't be back and I wouldn't recommend to anyone

Helpful?
Thank Eamon K
RSLClubSouthport, Guest Relations Manager at RSL Club Southport, responded to this review

Dear Eamon Thank you for the feedback on your recent visit to RSL Club Southport. Anyone entering a licensed premise will be asked for identification if you cannot produce ID entry into the Club may be refused. This is our House Policy that minors must be accompanied by a parent/guardian whilst being on a licensed premise. We hope to see... More 

Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

If you were expecting plain old 'pub grub' you'd be wrong. The Bistro has a huge variety of dishes, with multiple vegetarian and gluten free options. Massive servings, delicious cakes and coffee for dessert. If you are there on a Friday night, you can join in the raffles too. Cheap membership as well so you can keep visiting and getting... More 

Helpful?
Thank NattyKatG
RSLClubSouthport, General Manager at RSL Club Southport, responded to this review

Hi there Thank you so much for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor and letting us know about your positive experience on your recent visit. We offer a vast range of value for money meals that we try to change regularly. Be sure to check out our new menu in the New Year! And don't forget to... More 

1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Both the meal and the AbbaLive Show were excellent value for money. We'll definitely be going back again, and in fact, we've already booked our seats for the Beatles Tribute Show (Beatlegs) next month and for the Neil Diamond Tribute Show next February.

Helpful?
Thank Frank M
RSLClubSouthport, Guest Relations Manager at RSL Club Southport, responded to this review

Hi Frank Thank you so much for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor and letting us know about your positive experience on your recent visit. Our tribute shows are very popular with our patrons which is why we continue to seek the best entertainers for you. Most of our tribute shows are $10* for Members and $15*... More 

Paradise Point, Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great value and selection of $10 meals Large open atmosphere Friendly, effiicient staff Inexpensive membership A lot of fun promotions

Helpful?
Thank missy2035
RSLClubSouthport, Guest Relations Manager at RSL Club Southport, responded to this review

Hi there Thank you so much for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor and letting us know about your positive experience on your recent visit. We offer a vast range of value for money meals that we try to change regularly. Be sure to check out our new menu in the New Year! We take pride in... More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We easily found ourselves enjoying a splendid luncheon with a free glass of beer and wine.Live music entertained in a caring group of people.The pokies were not as generous but gave us some thrills to finish our short but happy lunch hour.

Helpful?
Thank limpus642
RSLClubSouthport, Guest Relations Manager at RSL Club Southport, responded to this review

Hi there Thank you so much for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor and letting us know of your positive experience on your recent visit. We take pride in offering an affordable dining experience, first class customer service and a great live entertainment line up amongst all of the other great products and services on offer at... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2016

We go there often when we are visiting the Gold Coast. The 2 for 1 Tuesday is very popular and there is a large choice on the menu. There is usually a raffle for some meat trays that are also good value. The venue is clean and the drinks and meals are very good value.

Helpful?
Thank 1945deedee
RSLClubSouthport, Guest Relations Manager at RSL Club Southport, responded to this review

Hi there Thank you so much for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor and letting us know of your positive experience on your recent visit. We take pride in offering an affordable dining experience, first class customer service and a great live entertainment line up amongst all of the other great products and services on offer at... More 

Southport, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2016 via mobile

I have been visiting this club on a Tuesday and many other nights, and the menu changed from Atlantic Salmon and Asian salad, when the special started but the menu changed and the Salmon was taken off, I am trying to loose weight and do not want battered or crumbed fish. The menu was changed again and they now offer... More 

Helpful?
Thank Margaret B
RSLClubSouthport, Guest Relations Manager at RSL Club Southport, responded to this review

Hi Margaret We are extremely disappointed to hear that we did not meet your expectations on your recent visit and would like to speak to you in more detail regarding your experience. Could you please email operations@southportrsl.com.au or phone our Operations Manager on 5552 4200 to discuss. We hope to hear from you soon and thank you for taking the... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2016

The RSL food is what one could expect, they could definitely upgrade the menu a little. Hopefully without upgrading the cost. It is an easy place to go, and hopefully in some way support our servicemen and women.

Helpful?
Thank Elaine H
RSLClubSouthport, Manager at RSL Club Southport, responded to this review

Hi Elaine Thank you so much for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. Stay tuned for our new menu to be launched in early 2017! We aim to change our menu at least annually and have all the planning currently underway for our exciting and fresh menu launch next year. Once again thank you and we look... More 

Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2016

The lady at the front desk was lovely and helpful. My husband and I ordered the Cajun cod with salsa, chips and salad for around $16. What a disappointment. The chips were cold, the fish tasteless there wasn't much Cajun spice and the salsa was also bland, I couldn't even taste the onion. The salad had a sweet dressing and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank kathryn128
RSLClubSouthport, Manager at RSL Club Southport, responded to this review

Hi Kathryn We are extremely disappointed to hear that we did not meet your expectations on your recent visit and would like to speak to you in more detail regarding your experience. Could you please email operations@southportrsl.com.au or phone our Operations Manager on 5552 4200 to discuss. We hope to hear from you soon and thank you for taking the... More 

Canberra, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

Visting from Canberra and decided to give clubland a try and what a great experience. Reception were polite and very welcoming, food in bistro was well priced and of excellent quality. We had their gournment hamburgers, compared to the " top " hamburger restaurant we visited two nights previous, the RSL bistro was a clear winner. Have no hesitation in... More 

Helpful?
Thank johpai
RSLClubSouthport, Manager at RSL Club Southport, responded to this review

Hi there Thank you so much for your kind review and we are delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your experience whilst recently visiting RSL Club Southport. We will pass on your kind words to the team and look forward to seeing you again on your next journey to the Gold Coast. Kind Regards, Management More 

Travellers who viewed RSL Club Southport also viewed

Southport, Gold Coast
Southport, Gold Coast
 
Southport, Gold Coast
Southport, Gold Coast
 

Been to RSL Club Southport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$7 - US$19
Cuisine
Bar, Australian, Pub, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Seating, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Reservations
Good for
Groups, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Kids, Cheap Eats
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 01:30
Monday
10:00 - 01:30
Tuesday
10:00 - 01:30
Wednesday
10:00 - 01:30
Thursday
10:00 - 01:30
Friday
10:00 - 02:30
Saturday
10:00 - 02:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 36 Scarborough St, Southport, Gold Coast, Queensland 4215, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  Queensland  >  Gold Coast  >  Southport
  • Phone Number: +61 7 5552 4200

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from RSL Club Southport staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?