We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The George on the Riverwalk

) #27 of 518 Restaurants in Wilmington $$ - $$$, American, Bar, Seafood
128 S Water St, Wilmington, NC 28401-4425
+1 910-763-2052
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Overview
  • Reviews
  • Menu
  • Location
  • Q&A
  • Details
Overview
  • Excellent37%
  • Very good36%
  • Average13%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“brunch” (45 reviews)
“sea bass” (7 reviews)
Closed
All hours
CUISINES
American, Bar, Seafood, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
DETAILS
128 S Water St, Wilmington, NC 28401-4425
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
Write a Review
Reviews (644)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 644 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago

With my family and a friend; atmosphere on the River walk is great ! fantastic for people watching and relaxation. Service VERY good, but I am giving this 3 stars due to pricing and the fact that nothing was exceptional enough to justify the pricing....More

1  Thank Thomas T
Reviewed 5 days ago

I will start by saying our waiter and service during this visit was fantastic. The shame of this restaurant is the location on the river is wonderful, but the food is overpriced and really pretty bad. Went with 6 adult family members Sunday evening and...More

Thank Guitarboy314
Matt B, Manager at The George on the Riverwalk, responded to this review

We're very sorry to hear you were disappointed with the food you received. Please contact us at 910-763-2052 so that we can get more details from you and work to make this right.

Reviewed 6 days ago

One of the best meals of my Vacation! When you combine gr8 food, view and service you have the makings for success!!! I love that you can bring your pet as well!!! Most decks have signs saying the health dept won't allow it but not...More

Thank megantracy
Reviewed 1 week ago

I enjoyed a shrimp cocktail and a hamburger, cooked to perfection! The atmosphere is very nice, and there is plenty of outside dining. Our waitress was very fast and accommodating, I will go back!

Thank Appeltje2015
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We went with a large crowd (18 people) and were treated so very well - and the food was awesome! We started with crab dip that was hot, plentiful, and delivered promptly. All the fish dishes were awesome - as was my wife's steak. I...More

Thank MonetaMan
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Do not get the crab stuffed lobster! It was horrible! The jambalaya lacked flavor and seasoning. The sauce almost made me throw up. The lobster was undercooked. The crab dip was a little dry but decent. The shrimp and grits was ok. The restaurant ambience...More

Thank qui22
Matt B, Manager at The George on the Riverwalk, responded to this review

Hello qui22, We're very sorry to hear of your experience. We'd love to speak with you directly and see what we can do to make things right. Please contact us anytime between 11AM and 9PM Tuesday through Sunday and we'd be happy to speak with...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Outdoor dining on the Riverwalk is absolutely charming and, from The George on the Riverwalk's patio area, you can see the river and an historic WWII ship in the distance. You walk along cobblestone streets to reach the restaurant, which sets the stage for a...More

Thank lawilson-nj
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stopped by and sat on the outside terrace. It was a great experience and Nate the server was very accommodating even though it was becoming busy as the time was around six on a Saturday. Would highly recommend the bacon crusted scallops and appetizers.

Thank Dan S
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Went there with a group visiting from Sweden and got a table on the deck. Weather was great and river view impressed our visitors. Service was prompt and friendly and the food was well prepared and tasty. Only criticism from my point of view, and...More

Thank ChuckP440
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This great place has a prime location on the Riverfront Park boardwalk along the Cape Fear River. We were visiting Wilmington and stopped in for an afternoon snack. If you can get it, sitting outside along the boardwalk is delightful. Their take on calamari is...More

Thank AnneMarie B
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Peppered Cupcake
286 reviews
.13 km away
Dock Street Oyster Bar
459 reviews
.14 km away
Elijah's Restaurant
991 reviews
.21 km away
Le Catalan
218 reviews
.08 km away
Nearby Attractions
Historic District
830 reviews
.25 km away
Cape Fear Serpentarium
380 reviews
.05 km away
Henrietta III
174 reviews
.13 km away
Children's Museum of Wilmington
110 reviews
.19 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
Jess R
Hi! What is the dress code for evening? Thank you!
2 March 2017|
Answer Show all 3 answers
Response from TheGeorgeRestaurant | Property representative |
Great question! Casual dress is permitted as boating guests are welcome during lunch and dinner service. Many guests dress up more in the evening but nothing special is required. We hope to see you soon!
1
Vote
cbehnke
Do they serve brunch on Friday ?
26 September 2016|
Answer Show all 7 answers
Response from mevans0421 | Reviewed this property |
Don't know. Sorry. But just the lunch menu is pretty varied so I don't think you would be disappointed
1
Vote
Mary Ann J
Do you have a separate room for a rehearsal dinner. Also do you have any packages for a Friday night rehearsal dinner?
23 January 2015|
Answer Show all 4 answers
Response from Matt B | Property representative |
Hello Mary Ann, I am one of the managers at The George in the Riverwalk. While we do not have a separate room for private events, we do host rehearsal dinners and various other gatherings all the time. Please give us a call... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$6 - US$36
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover, Reservations, Street Parking
Good for
Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, View, Kids, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 21:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 21:00
Thursday
11:00 - 21:00
Friday
11:00 - 22:00
Saturday
10:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 128 S Water St, Wilmington, NC 28401-4425
  • Location: United States  >  North Carolina (NC)  >  North Carolina Coast  >  Wilmington
  • Phone Number: +1 910-763-2052
Description
On the Riverwalk in Historic Downtown, The George Restaurant is Wilmington's only Downtown restaurant with a private dock for boating customers. Relax and enjoy riverfront lunch and dinner with breathtaking views. Southern Coastal Cuisine, fresh local seafood, steaks, salads, pasta, sandwiches, vegetarian dishes, kids menu and desserts. Separate Vegan/GF menu available as well. Creative martini, mixed drink and wine menus. Dogs are welcome on the outdoor deck. And don't forget to try downtown's best-kept secret for Friday, Saturday and Sunday Brunch served until 3pm. Relax on our deck and experience Wilmington's premiere hot spot for riverfront dining and sunset viewing!