We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Charcoal - CLOSED

75 Hotel Road | Western, Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia 10370, Sri Lanka
+94 11 2 715717
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent64%
  • Very good25%
  • Average7%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible1%
29 Dec 2015
“They are closing!”
24 Dec 2015
“Cosy Little Cafe”
Restaurant Hours Closed
Cafe, American, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
$$ - $$$
75 Hotel Road | Western, Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia 10370, Sri Lanka
All Details
Reviews (81)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2015

I may have enjoyed the last burger at Charcoal. They are closing the restaurant side and focusing, instead on their art. This is a loss for the Mount Lavinia area.

Thank YZDean
Reviewed 24 December 2015

Great ambience, great location, great staff, nice food and no taxes or service charges. They have a limited menu, but everything is pretty good. Nice place to chill with a few friends, or to read a book or get some work done alone. Would be...More

Thank Kosala L
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 24 December 2015 via mobile

Very modest and humble cafe - does exactly what you expect, cheap and cheerful food and drink all served with a smile. A real shame it is to shut soon - we wish the team all the best with their next project.

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 21 December 2015

We stopped in for afternoon coffee and their coffee is among the best we have had in Sri Lanka.mthe staff were super friendly and nice. However my only negative was the mean portions of cheese cake and brownies. They weren't cheap and they were good...More

2  Thank Eric J
Reviewed 19 December 2015

great little chill out space we went for some cuppicino and iced coffee , the chocolate mint cake was great

Thank 14travelingAl
Reviewed 6 December 2015 via mobile

If you enjoy a treat, I highly recommend the brownie. It was delicious and if I had more time in Dehiwala would have had it a second time!

Thank Bella P
Reviewed 20 November 2015

I too had a horrible chicken sandwich at Charcoal the last time I visited Sri Lanka and I have a photo of it to prove the fact which I shall attach with this post. It consisted of an absolutely dreadful paper thin piece of processed...More

5  Thank Brandon O
Priscilla A, Owner at Charcoal, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2015

Dear Brandon, Thank you for your review. May I say that yes, that sandwich does look quite sad, and I do apologise for it and the attitude with which it was served. However, in our defense, may I add that we have not had that...More

Reviewed 14 November 2015

While they make a big fuss about their sandwiches, they are in fact rather poor. The chicken sandwich we ate had only one paper thin slice of processed chicken and the hummus wrap had no visible hummus whatsoever. Their so-called "home made" cakes and biscuits...More

4  Thank Willem D
Priscilla A, Owner at Charcoal, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2015

Dear Willem, First of all I am truly sorry that you were uncomfortable. We do have the most comfortable couches and bean bags, but perhaps you chose to sit on our stools that are meant for artists. Secondly, we do not have a 'Chicken Sandwich'...More

Reviewed 2 October 2015 via mobile

Cozy little family run restaurant. Friendly staff and good food. What else would one want 😊. Fantastic little children's art gallery run alongside.

Thank Indika S
Priscilla A, Owner at Charcoal, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2015

Dear Indika, Thank you for your brilliant review. We appreciate your patronage and hope to see you at Charcoal soon. Kindest Regards, Priscilla

Reviewed 9 September 2015

I'll start by pointing out that the coffee here is good. The food is quite another thing and that is what makes this place such a poor choice to eat. The biscuits are hard like a rock and the sandwiches are not very good. The...More

8  Thank Richard L
Priscilla A, Owner at Charcoal, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2015

Dear dear Richard, Thank you for your review. We are so glad you enjoy Sri Lankan grown coffee. We are truly proud of it, in terms of it's historical significance. We try to promote all things local and help sustain local industries wherever possible. We...More

Nearby Restaurants
The Angler
216 reviews
.02 km away
Governor's Restaurant
339 reviews
.24 km away
Thai Cuisine La Rambla
288 reviews
.05 km away
La Voile Blanche
297 reviews
.78 km away
Nearby Attractions
Our Turtle Conservation Project
92 reviews
.87 km away
Mount Lavinia Beach
1,218 reviews
.70 km away
Tuk Tuk Rental
20 reviews
1.17 km away
Scuba Addicts
10 reviews
1.18 km away
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Average prices
US$2 - US$5
Good for
Open Hours
10:00 AM - 8:00 PM
10:00 AM - 8:00 PM
10:00 AM - 8:00 PM
10:00 AM - 8:00 PM
10:00 AM - 8:00 PM
10:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 75 Hotel Road | Western, Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia 10370, Sri Lanka
  • Location: Asia  >  Sri Lanka  >  Western Province  >  Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
  • Phone Number: +94 11 2 715717
  • E-mail
Our space has a Cafe, an Art gallery,an open Terrace and lessons in Art & Music.

Our Cafe, is a community hangout for all music lovers. The most played genre being Jazz. However, we do play Rock & contemporary music now and again.
The food!! This is what we all look forward to and something that warms our hearts and brings about togetherness, gives us joy and comfort somehow. The food we serve is always freshly made. There's nothing like fresh food. We offer Sri Lankan coffee,tea, Signature Burgers, freshly made sandwiches & desserts that are the whipped together in a frenzy of creative & exuberant passion. We hire our space for Theme parties, coffee mornings, tea parties & meetings. There are a few rules about smoking - only tobacco and only on the terrace after 7pm.

Our facility offers two art galleries 'The Dutch Entrance' and the 'Sunset Terrace' could be rented for exhibitions, book launches, poetry readings, plays, live acoustic music and other art related events. We encourage freedom of expression in every form.

We've got all kinds of creative classes to get your imagination going and fine-tune those skills & that dormant right brain!!! Presently, classes are offered in Art Education, Piano & Guitar lessons.

Do enjoy our space at Charcoal and take full advantage of your right to express freely!
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing