We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$8 - US$28
CUISINES
Pub, Steakhouse, Brew Pub
Special Diets
Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (242)
Filter reviews
232 results
Traveller rating
139
53
25
6
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
139
53
25
6
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chowder fries burger haddock salad beer stephen nb
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed September 9, 2021 via mobile

The worst service ever. My husband was served a flat ginger ale which was changed to a flat sprite!but that was minor in comparison to the wait for food. We waited and waited for our food to come and after a one hour wait we...got up and left. Other diners came and within 5 minutes were served starters, the excuse was the iPad didn't put the order through as sometimes there is a connection problem. Seriously? Use a PEN & PAPER then for goodness sake if you know there is an issue.More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed August 23, 2021 via mobile

Being open at 7pm on a summer Sunday evening in Miramichi means you almost win customers by default. We panic ordered here, as it seemed almost all other options were closed. Watermelon Salad was surprisingly great, the description seemed like it was bluffing but it...really worked. The hot honey chicken sandwich was a mess. Stale bun (toasting it couldn't save this guy) that had a texture and a taste like it had been freezer burnt. Some sad lettuce and condiments like you'd get on McD's burger where the staff didn't care. And the chicken itself was overcooked (maybe warmed up if it had already been frozen... Felt like it) and so tough that a few bites were inedible. Watermelon salad and "being open when no one else was" saved this place.More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed August 3, 2021 via mobile

We asked if the sweet potato fries were fresh cut. The waitress said she would check in kitchen but never told us ( they were not fresh cut). I tried to pay by AMEX and told the fees were too high. TripAdvisor states they accept...AMEX. Service was average at best. This place does not warrant being rated #1 in Miramichi.More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
Steph, Owner at O'Donaghue's Irish Pub, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2021

Hi Fraser_10, Sorry we don’t accept AMEX any longer. As you know the Credit card industry changes all the time and at this time we elect to not accept AMEX. As for your sweet potato fries, They are not fresh cut, they special order from...More

Reviewed July 24, 2021 via mobile

The staff are great. Friendly and welcoming. Nice outdoor area with plenty of seating and shade. The food was ok. Lacking in presentation, two of our four orders were wrong although it was all tasty. When you ask for a baked potato side, that’s what...you get…. a little baked potato sitting uncut on the plate with two tiny containers of butter. It’s basic pub food with no frills, but as mentioned at the start the servers were all lovely.More

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed March 12, 2021 via mobile

The food was quite poor, even for a pub. They had a soup and sandwich special. Wasn't very hungry. Just asked for the soup. Small bowl of tomato soup. Charged us full price $13 plus tax, plus tip. Very unkind. Place to go for $17...tomato soup.More

Date of visit: March 2021
Helpful?2  
Reviewed November 3, 2020

good munchie food, sweet potato fries were perfectly cooked. have eaten here and relaxed a few times since we moved here and every time a great experience

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed September 2, 2020

I was at the meal where the french fry snafu occurred, as well as the alleged poor COVID practices. My daughter-in-law was not really wrong, as explained to the rather rude owner in a DM with this review. You did seat a table of four...within 2 feet of me which you later brushed off as unimportant. My fish and chip meal was great, and so were the cold Black Horse lagers. My wife's haddock and salad were also good. The young couple also liked their meal, but not the experience with the server. I'll remind them to be more humble and willing to take one for the team the next time. (While this last statement obviously refers to our table and not the pub staff, the owner decided to use it as another reason to insult us.) ____________________________________________________________________________________________ My DM to the owner: I just finished your attack review against my daughter-in-law Liliia. First of all I was there, paid the bill and witnessed what occurred. I also tried to temper the situation, but it didn't work.. I wasn't upset at all and just wanted to enjoy my Black Horse lagers and a meal out. The whole incident was off my radar until I read what you replied with. Your response is so outrageous that it is a wonder how you can run a successful business with such a cringe-worthy approach to dealing with dissatisfied customers. You should be embarrassed and apologize to her asap. The young couple did not understand why they were given a substitution so were surprised when their order arrived sans fries. I actually asked the server to just bring them fries and add it to the bill. She didn't bring the fries so I asked again just as the couple were finishing their meal. No one asked for a "free" anything so you can drop that line of attack. English is their 3rd language so maybe the server was confused by their manner of speaking or accents. No matter, there is no excuse for your personal insults. As for COVID protocols, yes your staff seated a group of young people within a few feet of me, and nowhere close to 2 metres distancing. Plus it was at a high table and placed me in the aerosol drift zone for exposure to whatever they were exhaling. Staff also performed the post customer sanitizing as she reported. I watched after she pointed it out to me. Should I apologize to you for my sense of entitlement for daring to say such a thing? Maybe I have a black soul as well?More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed August 19, 2020

Good evening, I feel very compelled to write to you regarding a meal my husband and I and another couple had at your restaurant on August 9th. Before I go on, let me first say that although I'm not from the area, I have eaten...at your restaurant a few times with four to five people at my table each time and did not have a complaint; the food was excellent, there was great choice (even Irish items...missing now... nothing Irish), and the service was very good. Now to the evening of August 9th, our friends had offered to take us out for dinner because we had allowed them to stay with us at an Airbnb in the area and since they were unfamiliar with Miramichi they asked our suggestion as to where to go. I was very quick to respond that I'd like to go to a O'Donaghue's. Well, let me tell you that I was never so embarrassed and in more ways than one. First off, the waitress was young, but that's okay, but did not seem like she had much training, but the man at the bar who I believe was you, the owner Stephen, jumped in quickly and responded to my husband's question in regards to non-alcohol beer and our cocktails we're lovely. I think where it started to go wrong was with the appetizer, the spinach dip which arrived with many chips which were good, but the tiniest tiniest bowl of spinach dip I have ever seen. Now, let's move on to the entrees: 1) cedar planked salmon... it looks good, but the response I got from her later was "it was just okay", 2) the ribeye special (10 oz)... it was tough, not seasoned well and the potato was crap, 3) I had the steak and fries and chose a potato instead of the fries, and from that potato I took out about a ping pong sized ball of hard grey gunk (I know that you partially pre cook, but that was ridiculous and you could see it from the outside as well- should never have been served), 4) my husband had the seafood linguine- it was advertised on your menu as having "loads of scallops". Well, there were 4 scallops and a few tiny shrimp. My guess is that they probably came from a chowder pack because they were the tiny miniscule scallops and shrimp that you see in the chowder packs, not what you would see in a typical seafood linguine because there was really no seafood to see! What I have also failed to mention at this point is that it took over an hour for us to get our meal and it was not that busy and regardless of whether it was busy, no meals should take an hour unless it's fine dining and there are several courses. Finally, to top off this nightmare of a meal was when I saw the bill that our friends paid, with a tip of $10 only it came to $171.99. Let me tell you that I love to cook and I am a very good cook, and I could have gone in that kitchen and put out food in 30 minutes all four of those plates with better plating and with food that tastes good oh, well maybe not the seafood linguine if I did not have the proper seafood to put in it. I apologized when we returned to our Airbnb and expressed just how terrible I felt for them having spent money on that and that much money. I was simply going to send this to you, Steven, and not put it as a review. however, I went in to check a review a few minutes ago to check your ratings... you've got a good star rating which is what I would have expected but there is a complaint and I don't think I have ever seen management of a company reply to a complaint the way you replied. I'm a teacher, and your response reminded me very much like a kid in school who could not take responsibility for their actions and in this case responsibility for your restaurant and instead you put the blame on your client. I will post this. I do hope if you plan to comment back, that you have an apology for the young couple who paid almost $172. You can have an off night, but there was just TOO much 'off'! Heather McGrathMore

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?7  
stephenl292, Owner at O'Donaghue's Irish Pub, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2020

Heather, I hope to keep this brief but given the length of your comments it may proved difficult. First I would like to thank you for your praise of our restaurant on your past visits, it’s too bad you did not leave us a positive...More

Reviewed August 16, 2020

I have never left a negative review in my life but it was the worst experience ever! Where do I start? First of all this place DOES NOT follow COVID rules and regulations. I was watching the waitress who did not even use a sanitizer...to clean after previous customers. She just touched some spots on the table and did not clean the whole surface. In addition, they do not keep physical distance between customers. They seated customers like only 40 cm away from our table....when we asked to bring another drink, the waitress did not bring a new glass she just asked ours and went to refill it(((( Let alone the toilet... Next. I ordered the NY steak. According to menu it goes with fries (served with fries) I did not get fries with my meal. When I asked the waitress they said that fries it is a substitution and as I ordered Ceaser I should pay for fries...To add to it, they charged us for Ceaser(((( I am going to write a letter to the health authority and bring my concerns about COVID regulations at this place...More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?6  
Reviewed August 15, 2020

Was here for work, someone at another restaurant recommend me to this place for a beer. I Sat out on the Patio, the weather was perfect for a cold beer, tried their local New Maritime Beer, it was delicious and easy to go down. The...only thing that would of made this better was if there weren't so many cars going by the patio. The smell of gasoline offset the mood a bit.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
stephenl292, Owner at O'Donaghue's Irish Pub, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2020

Hi Kevin, Thanks for visiting us! Unfortunately outside downtown you are subject to the elements. Maybe one day the city will close the street to walking traffic only as other cities 🤞

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Rodd Miramichi River
755 reviews
.32 km away
Fundy Line Motel & Restaurant
47 reviews
6.74 km away
Econo Lodge Miramichi
150 reviews
7.73 km away
Travelodge by Wyndham Miramichi New Brunswick
571 reviews
7.85 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Napan Baykery
56 reviews
.25 km away
1809 Restaurant & Bar
295 reviews
.23 km away
Namaste Bistro Miramichi
17 reviews
.23 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Ritchie Wharf
128 reviews
7.62 km away
French Fort Cove
69 reviews
5.98 km away
St. Michael's Basilica
39 reviews
.45 km away
Middle Island Irish Historical Park
24 reviews
2.69 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from O'Donaghue's Irish Pub staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about O'Donaghue's Irish Pub

Yes, O'Donaghue's Irish Pub offers takeaway services.

O'Donaghue's Irish Pub is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4.5