We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

St. Christopher's Hotel The Captain's Room

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$9 - US$20
CUISINES
Canadian
Meals
Lunch, Drinks, Breakfast, Dinner
View all details
features, about
Reviews (83)
Filter reviews
73 results
Traveller rating
15
20
20
13
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
15
20
20
13
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cod tongues omelet rice home fries ate here nova scotia both times st christopher nice dining room the cod au gratin chardonnay
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 73 reviews
Reviewed December 10, 2018

This is a clean and nice hotel it has a great view of the harbour and its close to marine Atlantic lots of parking

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Twomainers1
Denise L, General Manager at St. Christopher's Hotel The Captain's Room, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2018

Thanks for your comments, we appreciate your feedback.

Reviewed October 9, 2018 via mobile

I didn't see the separate category for the hotel and the restaurant. Please check my restaurant rating and I'll submit it again.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Blacksmith12
Denise L, General Manager at St. Christopher's Hotel The Captain's Room, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2018

Thanks for you comments and glad you enjoyed the food

Reviewed September 29, 2018 via mobile

The service was poor. Food was decent but expected better. Read all reviews of restaurants in area and thought this place was 2nd best in town also was staying in hotel. Woukd not recomend this place. It took the waitress at least 30 minutes to...More

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Ian E
Denise L, General Manager at St. Christopher's Hotel The Captain's Room, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2018

Thanks for you comments and for staying at St Christopher's hotel. Sorry you didn't have a great experience with the food in our dining room as we have had great reviews on our food. Glad you did enjoy the fish and potatoes.

Reviewed August 27, 2018 via mobile

Had the mussels as an appetizer and the pan fried cod as a main course. Both were good and the service was attentive. Not sure why there are so many negative reviews - it was a more than decent meal.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank RedMustang56
Stella P, General Manager at St. Christopher's Hotel The Captain's Room, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2018

Thank you for eating at the Captain's Room. We really appreciate your feedback!! Unfortunately during our peak tourist season it gets super busy, sometimes wait times are longer. Glad you had a great experience.

Reviewed August 26, 2018

The restaurant service was like the hotel reception. Good and efficient with delightful staff. The meals were also good.

Date of visit: July 2018
1  Thank Judi M
Stella P, General Manager at St. Christopher's Hotel The Captain's Room, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to provide a lovely review. We work hard to ensure our Guest is happy with the food and service!!

Reviewed July 28, 2018

Issues with the restaurant were one of the main reasons why the hotel (see my separate review), despite a good standard of comfort, failed to live up to my expectations. Because it caters to people arriving off the evening ferry, as well as those taking...More

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank PeasmoldWW
Denise L, General Manager at St. Christopher's Hotel The Captain's Room, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2018

My apologies for the unfavorable food. Your comments will help with working on your concerns. We appreciate the feedback and take pride in ensuring our menu has a variety of different food for everyone. I can assure you that the servers do get their tips...More

Reviewed June 25, 2018 via mobile

We stayed at the St. Christopher Hotel for a night prior to taking the ferry back to Nova Scotia. For dinner we had the cod and the salmon. Both came with a good portion of fish plus a generous serving of rice and a few...More

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank digitalcamera
Stella P, General Manager at St. Christopher's Hotel The Captain's Room, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2018

Thank you for your generous comments and for staying at St. Christopher's Hotel

Reviewed June 20, 2018

The food is ok. I have received the food cold at times, but, overall satisfactory. Service is ok, sometimes waited longer than expected but when crowded, expected.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank S6627WRdenised
Denise L, General Manager at St. Christopher's Hotel The Captain's Room, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2018

Thank you for your comments and for staying at St. Christopher's Hotel

Reviewed May 16, 2018

When one arrives at Port aux Basques and needs to spend a night in a hotel, there is none better than the St Christopher and it's restaurant "The Captain." The breakfast was great as so was the service.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank virgbrown
Stella P, General Manager at St. Christopher's Hotel The Captain's Room, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2018

Thank you for staying with us and eating at "The Captain's Dining Room". We appreciate the review!!

Reviewed January 12, 2018 via mobile

Just finished a Cod au Gratin at the hotel’s restaurant. Delicious! Lots of cod in this dish and the serving size is perfect. I’m a Newfoundlander born and bred and I am fussy about my cod fish. Cheese was bubbling hot on top, the white...More

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank Mandy R
Chris1027, General Manager at St. Christopher's Hotel The Captain's Room, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2018

Thank you for eating at The Captain's Room, St. Christopher's Hotel. Glad you enjoyed the Cod au Gratin, we appreciate the feedback!!

View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from St. Christopher's Hotel The Captain's Room staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing