We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Pizza, Canadian
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (71)
Filter reviews
69 results
Traveller rating
31
22
9
2
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
31
22
9
2
5
See what travellers are saying:
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed December 6, 2022

The food was absolutely delicious and the staff was very friendly. My husband and I would give this place a 10/10

Date of visit: December 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Pierre D, Owner at Papa Franco's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2022

Thank you for your comment. We appreciate your support and we are glad you enjoyed your experience. Keep well.

Reviewed May 23, 2021

While portions size is smaller than expected, service and taste is superb. Delivery service great personally I rate at 9/10, if side dish portions were increased a little that in my book would give them 10+/10

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Pierre D, Owner at Papa Franco's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2021

Hello, thank you for taking the time to write this review. We greatly appreciate it. Glad you enjoyed your meal and looking forward to seeing you again. Keep well.

Reviewed March 20, 2020

I attended your establishement for dinner. I ordered a glass of wine and my guest ordered a drink as well. We waited for our order and while waiting after a few minutes, we asked for another drink. The server said she was busy and that...she would bring it when she had time. She also said she had been working for over 45 years and needs help and cannot serve everyone by herself. She kept going on and on so we decided to finish our appetizers and drinks and went to another establishment. I realize that you are busy but your server should not have to complain to customers.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed March 1, 2020

I love that this restaurant announces its weekend specials on Facebook with nice photos. Nice touch. Last weekend, they had a shrimp pizza with creamy Alfredo sauce. I had to try it. It was delicious! I was asked if it should become a regular menu...item. Oh, yes, definitely!More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
C7867BBpierred, Owner at Papa Franco's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2020

Thank you for taking time to comment. We appreciate it. Customer opinions help us in our growth.

Reviewed February 16, 2020

Very good food, service is excellent. A little cramped seating but still ok. It's a bit too expensive for my salary but i still go once in a while

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
C7867BBpierred, Owner at Papa Franco's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2020

Thank you so much for your comment. It is always appreciated.

Reviewed January 27, 2020

I love the margarita pizza at this place. There are many other tasty items. On the last visit, my husband enjoyed a seafood lasagna. Good service and great food. Nice atmosphere, reasonable prices.

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
C7867BBpierred, Owner at Papa Franco's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2020

Thank you so much for your comments. Glad you enjoyed your experience.

Reviewed August 3, 2019 via mobile

I ordered take out food . The price on their web site doesn't match what you pay . I paid extra $1.14 which is not biggy .They offered to give me back the difference but I didn't take it as it is not about the...money, it is about the principle and to have organized business , in addition I don't want my meal to have any extra additives to it.The food is average or below. I don't think I will order from them again , not for the extra price but for the food. Front desk employees are not happy.More

Date of visit: August 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Pierre D, Owner at Papa Franco's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2019

Thank you for bringing up the discrepancy in pricing with one item. Some prices were changed recently and this one, unfortunately, was overlooked. We apologized and offered to refund the difference, which you refused. We followed good business principles and tried to correct the situation....More

Reviewed August 1, 2019

We were recently visiting Kapuskasing and wanted to go for Dinner. Papa Franco’s was recommended by our Hotel desk. The restaurant is located on the edge of town heading west on the Trans Canada. Very nice decor in the dining room and the food was...great. They offered a rib special which came as a complete meal and the ribs were excellent. I saw that they had a wood fired pizza oven so I ordered a Pizza. Great crust and ingredients were top quality. The only disappointment was the Coconut Cream Pie. Not homemade and not near up to the quality of the other food. Service was quick and pleasant. Our food came out hot and well presented. Owner was at the register and asked about our meal. Go and get a Pizza. You would not normally find a genuine Italian wood fired Pizza oven in a small northern town.More

Date of visit: July 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Pierre D, Owner at Papa Franco's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to comment. We are glad you enjoyed your experience. As for the coconut cream pie, we appreciate your mention and we will focus on improving it. Cheers!

Reviewed June 23, 2019

My Wife and I went here for dinner and foolishly ignored the Italian foods on offer and chose the pub fish (haddock) and chips. The fish was over cooked and dry. The bill was $48.57.

Date of visit: June 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed May 8, 2019 via mobile

Not only was my chicken parmigiana amazing but the service was over the top. The owner came to our table numerous times to make sure all was well. I also loved that they only use loon vodka made in our neighbouring town of Hearst! I...highly recommend this restaurant for any occasion.More

Date of visit: April 2019
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Pierre D, Owner at Papa Franco's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2019

Thank you, we appreciate your comment and we look forward to serving you again.

Reviewed December 11, 2018 via mobile

During our visit with my in-laws a few of my husband high school friends decided to meet for a meal. We were able to reserve a few tables for our gathering. The server was amazing. The menu offers a variety of entrees for everyone's taste....We were able to to enjoy a cocktail , appetizer cnd entrée. Portions are perfect and the food was excellent. I would recommend this restaurant in Kapuskasing!More

Date of visit: October 2018
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Pierre D, Owner at Papa Franco's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2018

From the whole team, a big thank you! We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the food, the service and your experience. Cheers!

Reviewed October 18, 2018

Stopped in for breakfast and was pleasantly surprised by the wonderful omelette, sausage,and potatoes. Very tasty and when I saw the brick oven was only wishing I could be there for Pizza.

Date of visit: September 2018
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Pierre D, Owner at Papa Franco's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2018

Thank you for the comment, we always appreciate it. We are glad you enjoyed your meal and look forward to seeing you again.

Reviewed October 14, 2018

From the last time we were some thing have changed . Three of our side salads came on what looked to be "Tea Saucers" thats how small they were .Even the one larger salad looked small. Mind you , mine tasted good from what was...there but my wife only got lettuce, no bacon very little dressing and no croutons.The beef fillet also looked very small . My wife always orders them when we go out and knows the cooked size ,these were small ! The worst part was that I ordered a New Strip .When it came it cut a piece form the corner and it smelt off (almost sour). So I put it down and cut another corner it did not smell but tasted off,so I put that down and tried the center of my steak. It tasted sour. I asked my wife to smell my first cut piece she said "dont eat it something is not right" So I called the server over and asked her what she thought she stated " it might be the seasoning" .I have used this same brand of steak spice for years and thats not what made it stink . The server did get me a new meal ASAP. This steak only slightly smelled so I tried a piece from the center ,but there was something not right with the taste. So I had them box up my meal ,I was done eating that nite! I thought perhaps it was me and my taste buds were off. So it waited for the next day to try to have another piece but it was bad as well. It is very unusual to get 2 bad pieces of meat ,unless they came from the same package .I have cooked for 40 years ,butchered wild game ,fowl and fish so I kinda know when things are bad .I thought long and hard on this review as the last time we ate there it was great. Were the small portions just 1 time thing ,did they get the meat like that and did know ? I hope if we go back there the next time they go back to their old ways ,of good portion sizes and good food.More

Date of visit: October 2018
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Pierre D, Owner at Papa Franco's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2018

Thank you for your comment. We appreciate the fact that you took your time to describe what had happened on your last visit. First regarding the salads, we recently introduced a smaller salad to accompany meals. Many people commented that our small salad was to...More

Reviewed September 20, 2018 via mobile

What a wonderful place to have dinner, great food and very nice atmosphere, will eat here again. Delicious wood oven pizzas.

Date of visit: September 2018
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Pierre D, Owner at Papa Franco's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2018

Thank you for the comment, we appreciate it. We are glad you enjoyed your experience. Looking forward to your next visit.

Reviewed July 2, 2018 via mobile

My mother-in-law and I went for supper and our meals were delicious. We both had plenty to eat, we even brought some back home. We order chicken Parmesan and a clubhouse platter.

Date of visit: July 2018
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Pierre D, Owner at Papa Franco's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to comment. It is very helpful to us and we appreciate it.

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Travelodge Kapuskasing
291 reviews
1.43 km away
Comfort Inn Kapuskasing
84 reviews
2.69 km away
Super 8 by Wyndham Kapuskasing
461 reviews
5.57 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Le Kaprice
64 reviews
1.19 km away
O'Briens Classic Grill
72 reviews
1.24 km away
Back to the Grind
27 reviews
1.21 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Kapuskasing Public Library
2 reviews
.77 km away
Centre Regional de Loisirs Culturels
1.03 km away
Ron Morel Memorial Museum
23 reviews
1.11 km away
Riverside Park
1.14 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Papa Franco's Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

PAPA FRANCO'S RESTAURANT, Kapuskasing - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Papa Franco's Restaurant

Yes, Papa Franco's Restaurant offers takeaway services.

Papa Franco's Restaurant is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 3.5