We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Penny's Place

$$ - $$$Barbecue, ,
23 Dufferin Street | Hwy 7, Perth, Ontario K7H 3B3, Canada
+1 613-267-6394
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent46%
  • Very good38%
  • Average1%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible10%
Travellers talk about
“hash browns” (8 reviews)
“home fries” (8 reviews)
“sandwiches” (5 reviews)
Closed
Hours
CUISINES
Barbecue, Diner, Canadian, Grill, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
23 Dufferin Street | Hwy 7, Perth, Ontario K7H 3B3, Canada
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (70)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We both had the 2 egg special with breakfast meat, potatoes, toast and coffee. If you come hungry, you'll leave full. Great staff. Highly recommend.

Thank RonaldWSmith
Reviewed August 6, 2018

Restaurant was super busy and short staffed and they still managed to get us seated, with coffee and our order in good time. They had a great selection for breakfast. I REALLY like hollandaise sauce as a side (to eat with the home fries and...More

Thank Michael D
Pennyann B, Owner at Penny's Place, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are currently a little understaffed and have found it difficult to build a larger team in our little town but we do try and make due in the mean time. We’re always happy to hear...More

Reviewed July 30, 2018 via mobile

What a great place to have breakfast (that's all day)! The homefries are to die for and the wait staff were friendly and prompt.More

Thank Pat K
Pennyann B, Owner at Penny's Place, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review. We always love to hear feedback. We take our potatoes very seriously around here as we don’t just open a bag of potatoes and throw them in the deep fryer. We peel,...More

Reviewed July 25, 2018 via mobile

Woman behind the counter stuck her bare finger in my wife’s food when it was given to her COLD! She said “It’s Fine”. We left. Don’t waste your money here. Go somewhere where they will treat you respectfully.More

Thank elvisholden
Pennyann B, Owner at Penny's Place, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2018

Sir, this is completely unacceptable, shameful and completely disappointing someone on my team would do this. We will not stand for this. I am completly ashamed and disappointed something like this would happen. I can not apologize enough for the incredibly poor actions taken by...More

Reviewed July 17, 2018

I am sure there are other restaurants in the area that serve a good breakfast, but it was excellent at Penny's early Thursday July 12/18. Found my way there using the reviews on Tripadvisor and was not disappointed. Very good service and pretty well the...More

Thank Mike C
Pennyann B, Owner at Penny's Place, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. And we’re happy to hear you’ve finally found the right place for breakfast in Perth! We strive to be creative, innovative and delicious. I’m sorry you found it a little salty I will...More

Reviewed June 24, 2018 via mobile

On a whim while travelling from Ottawa to Toronto we stopped for breakfast on a Sunday morning in Perth Ontario. So glad we did. Very friendly prompt service and ample serving of fresh breakfast goodies. They have plenty of options on their menus plus multiple...More

Thank ChinookTravel_12
Pennyann B, Owner at Penny's Place, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review. It’s so awesome to hear how much you enjoyed it. We do try to offer something for everyone so it’s always great when people notice those things. And yes we are much...More

Reviewed June 18, 2018

A great variety of home style breakfasts. Whether dining solo, as a couple or group of family/friends you will find great service, very good food, reasonable prices and relaxed atmosphere.

Thank 34gore
Pennyann B, Owner at Penny's Place, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2018

Thanks for taking the time to write about your experience with us. We’re pleased to hear you enjoyed yourself. Is there anything we could have done to take it from a 4 star experience to a 5 star experience? Thanks again!

Reviewed June 14, 2018 via mobile

Terrible coffee No decaf Hash browns had a nasty aftertaste Smoked salmon in omelette was so salty it was inedible. Sausages deep fried maybe? They were spilt open Eggs were ok Service ok but slow. Not enough staff No refund offered on the pile of...More

Thank canuckabroad_13
Pennyann B, Owner at Penny's Place, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2018

I’m terribly sorry you didn’t enjoy your meal. I would like to start off by saying I’m sorry you found our service slow. Your server is new and is in training. I’m sorry she didn’t meet your standers we are working on her speed and...More

Reviewed May 30, 2018

My daughter and I entered the restaurant and were told that we were to sit elsewhere and were pointed to another general direction. We chose another four-seater booth and were told we could not sit at a booth at all....the owner (I presumed) wanted to...More

1  Thank LynnM453
Pennyann B, Owner at Penny's Place, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2018

I would like to start off by saying perhaps you found me bossy because I am straight forward and don’t take any BS, so to speak. You were told to sit at any table for 2 and sat at a table for 4. We asked...More

Reviewed May 28, 2018

Rude right from the start and should have just left. We where greeted by waitress yelling to us from across the restaurant how many in our party and where we all present. Husband was parking car and was advised that they do not seat until...More

2  Thank 592cherylea
Pennyann B, Owner at Penny's Place, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2018

I am terribly sorry you found our little restaurant so repulsive!! We are a different style restaurant and we have different rules then others because we are so small and that isn’t for everyone. There is a sign at the door that explains how we...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 5 hotels in Perth
Perth Plaza Motel
36 reviews
.28 km away
Tay Inn
91 reviews
1.00 km away
Colonial House Motor Inn
41 reviews
1.28 km away
Best Western Plus Perth Parkside Inn & Spa
468 reviews
1.55 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Hungry 7
154 reviews
.16 km away
The Hot Wok
68 reviews
1.21 km away
Jersey Joe's Pizza & Subs
34 reviews
1.21 km away
Nearby Attractions
Perth Brewery
35 reviews
1.00 km away
Top Shelf Distillers
27 reviews
.15 km away
Foodsmiths
29 reviews
.54 km away
Perth Museum
29 reviews
1.48 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Thelma M
June 29, 2016|
Answer
Response from FarmerBric | Reviewed this property |
Sorry, but I don't know if they are open on Sundays. They probably don't take reservations because of the operation (ie. Diner format), but we have never been turned away. They have 5 booths serving 4 pers, and 20... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$12
Cuisine
Barbecue, Diner, Canadian, Grill, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Parking Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
7:00 a.m. - 3:00 p.m.
Monday
6:00 a.m. - 3:00 p.m.
Thursday
6:00 a.m. - 3:00 p.m.
Friday
6:00 a.m. - 3:00 p.m.
Saturday
7:00 a.m. - 3:00 p.m.
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 23 Dufferin Street | Hwy 7, Perth, Ontario K7H 3B3, Canada
  • Location: Canada  >  Ontario  >  Perth
  • Phone Number: +1 613-267-6394
  • E-mail
Description
Initially opened by local Ottawa native Penny Bell in 1994. She raised her daughters in the restaurant business; Dawn Bell owns and operates Michaels Table, and Pennyann Bell is Chef and Manager at Penny's Place.

Becoming famous for breakfast in the early years, Penny's has expanded their menu over the years. Offering an extensive lunch menu and a never ending breakfast menu as well!

Offering house smoked Chicken, Pastrami, homemade Desserts, fresh cut Fries and real Homefries & Hashbrowns. Dishing up a new specials every couple week and our home made soups are only availably while supply lasts!

Penny's has become a staple for the locals, and a popular hot spot for summer vacationers in the beautiful cottage country that surrounds the area.

With easy access located right off HWY 7 before the first set of lights in the beautiful town of Perth.

Our parking lot is large with lots of room for people to stop by with their trailers, campers and whatever else their hauling while they grab a bite to eat!

Please note: As we are a small diner, we often end up with a line up out the door. A key part to our success is controlling our seating to ensure we are able to seat as many people as possible each and every day.

This may mean that some days you have to wait for your entire group to arrive before your seated and sometimes we have to seat you at tables that match your group size.

We don't do this because we like too but because it is a necessary part of our business to ensure we are able make the most of each day and serve everyone who visits us.

On that note...we welcome one and all into our business and hope to see everyone some day, some time!

Thank you kindly for your business in the past, the present and the future.

From

Everyone at Penny's Place!
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing