We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Crown

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
2 High Street, Henlow SG16 6BS, England
+44 1462 812433
Website
Today
12:00 - 22:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 - 20:00
Mon - Thu 12:00 - 21:30
Fri - Sat 12:00 - 22:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

637 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 635: English reviews
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Lovely pub with range of bar food and restaurant. Good choice of wines. Vibrant atmosphere. I have been attending the Crown over the last 18 months on business and have noticed the change in menu. I was always impressed with the quality of the menu, but recently it seems to have gone downhill. I am not sure whether I will... More 

Helpful?
Thank PMB48
Alnwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Four of us visited his Pub/Restaurant recently. The restaurant area was looking a little tired and could do with a bit of a make over. Choice of menu a bit limited . I had the gammon steak which was a little small and my wife had the vegetarian option which was advertised as a cauliflower rarebit which comprised a big... More 

Helpful?
Thank mike M
Clifton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Once again had a lovely meal, staff are very welcoming and friendly, kids get a fun pack which keeps them entertained, highly recommend!!

Helpful?
Thank deans27
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We thoroughly enjoyed our meal at the crown. We usually eat in the bar of a lunchtime, (which is always good), this was our first evening meal in the restaurant. Service was attentive and food was excellent. It made a refreshing change to see some additional options as well as the usual favourites. The Bream was cooked perfectly and the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Helbatt
UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

I have been here many times and every time the food is excellent, always tasty (portion size is a bit small) always hot and really nice. However as I have said before the service really lets this place down. We had a table booked today for lunch, we waited approx 25mins before the waitress came over to take our drinks... More 

Helpful?
Thank JacobJJ
Ruislip, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The food was good and the restaurant was clean. We were the only ones in the restaurant, however despite this, the service was poor.

Helpful?
Thank Brenda D
Paul W, Owner at The Crown, responded to this review

Hi Brenda "Reunion with Friends" Difficult to reply to this, without information of time, date, your bill. Please could you let me know via our web site page contact us. This will enable us to take action as poor service, of course, is unacceptable. Regards, Paul More 

Derbyshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Was staying in the area visiting family, and the The Crown is one of their regular's. They have often commented on how nice the food was. After looking at the menu they a little disappointed that the menu had changed - but to their credit The Crown said they could still do the burger that they were requesting. We opted... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michy1Derbyshire
Paul W, Owner at The Crown, responded to this review

Hi There! "A little disappointed" Well I was also "A little disappointed" to read your review of us here at The Crown. My apologies for the disappointing meals, the kitchen has, a result of your review, reviewed the cooking and serving of our Yorkshire puddings. We are however at a loss at The Bakewell tart complaint, as we make all... More 

Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

we had not been for a while although we live locally, been many times before but felt it was going off the boil. This visit turned that on its head. very polished from the "good evening" to the "goodbye". the menu had changed but still had a lot of local produce on it. service was good, beer good, wine good,food... More 

Helpful?
Thank alanalison2016
Paul W, Owner at The Crown, responded to this review

Hi There, Alan and Alison "a thankyou for hosting my parents" Thank you so much for the kind review of us here at The Crown. Our Team, both Front and Back of House, were all delighted to read, thanks again. Regards, Paul More 

Larchamp, France
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We visited the Crown to get away from Champneys, a very welcoming place and the staff couldn't do enough for you

Helpful?
Thank annabell409
Paul W, Owner at The Crown, responded to this review

Hi Annabell "Great food and great service" Oh thanks for the review! Regards, Paul More 

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Was looking for a quick lunch before heading back home from Champneys. Coffee was cold, however, did get a replacement one! The spare rib ends were expensive for three pieces! Could have had six pieces for that price! The staff were very pleasant and attentive. Overall a nice pub.

Helpful?
Thank champagnechez2017
Paul W, Owner at The Crown, responded to this review

Hallo There Champagne Chez "Great Pub" Thanks for review, cannot see how we got coffee cold, almost impossible from our machine. Anyway pleased was replaced. The spare end ribs are so rich, not normally more required. Thanks for praising the staff and I was pleased that overall you felt were a "nice Pub" Cheers, Paul More 

Travellers who viewed The Crown also viewed

 
Toddington, Bedfordshire
 

Been to The Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$16 - US$32
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 20:00
Monday
12:00 - 21:30
Tuesday
12:00 - 21:30
Wednesday
12:00 - 21:30
Thursday
12:00 - 21:30
Friday
12:00 - 22:00
Saturday
12:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 2 High Street, Henlow SG16 6BS, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Bedfordshire  >  Henlow
  • Phone Number: +44 1462 812433
Description
Situated on the B659 in High Street at Henlow with easy access from Junction 10 off the A1. This pretty pub with its picturesque garden is full of traditional character and the perfect place to eat, drink and relax.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Crown staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?