We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Red Lion

) #2 of 8 Restaurants in Stoke Poges $$ - $$$ , British,
Stoke Green, Stoke Poges SL2 4HN, England
+44 1753 535115
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent38%
  • Very good35%
  • Average16%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“roast dinner” (10 reviews)
“steak” (22 reviews)
Open Now
11:00 - 23:00All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Stoke Green, Stoke Poges SL2 4HN, England
Write a Review
Reviews (389)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 386 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

Lovely atmosphere. Pleasant food, well cooked and presented. Efficient staff. Nothing too much trouble. Most enjoyable.

Thank Mike M
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

We came for a friend's birthday dinner on a Saturday night. There were 10 of us. The initial drinks order was wrong, very slow and the server had to keep going to check if they had what we wanted in stock. One of our group...More

Thank Ess17
General Manager A, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

We would like the opportunity to make this up to you. Please contact our manager at location-email so we can make your experience a positive one. Ess17, we regret to hear that you had this experience with us.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Went for a father day meal today, appalling service, distasteful food, flies all around the food. Considering it was such a warms day, a solution for this weather for customer experience whilst dining should of been considered. Will still visit for drinking, avoid dining.More

Thank Nina K
General Manager A, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Nina K, we regret to hear that you had this experience with us. We will take all of your comments on board and review our practices accordingly. Unfortunately the day you dined with us was a hot one so in order to try and keep...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Came here over the weekend for a birthday. The vibe is always good but would say that the service can be slow in busier times. Food felt rushed this time around and was a far cry away from its normal standard. Had a straightforward pizza...More

Thank Shamit R
General Manager A, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

We would like an opportunity to make this up to you. If you are willing, please reach out to us at enquiry@theredlionstokepoges.co.uk so we can work towards a resolution. Hi Shamit R, we regret to hear that you are displeased with your recent experience with...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Whilst the food in general wasn't bad, our complaint about one of the dishes wasn't followed up and more or less ignored. Otherwise the food was what you'd expect as standard pub grub. The mezze starter was good, but the service let them down.More

Thank David B
General Manager A, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi David B, we regret your most recent visit with us was not up to the standards we strive for. Here at The Red Lion, Stoke Poges, we are always looking for ways to improve; we appreciate your input. If you would be willing, we...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Busy atmosphere in this pub, nice outdoor seating available disappointing food, lobster and crab pot didn't taste of either lobster or crab. Meze plate was goodMore

Thank Homer6315
General Manager A, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Homer6315, we appreciate your honest review. We set a high standard for ourselves, so we are disappointed to hear that your experience with us was not a positive one. We would like the opportunity to find out how we can better assist you in...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very busy environment usually, especially early evening. I had lobster and crab pot which was tasteless and I found the food was expensive for what we actually gotMore

Thank LCStatham
General Manager A, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Lcstatham, we pride ourselves on providing exceptional service, so we are disappointed to hear that your visit with us was anything less than satisfactory. When you have an opportunity, please reach out to us at 01753535115 so we can try to restore your confidence in...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We visited as a family on Sunday and were very pleasantly surprised. The food was absolutely delicious. We had 4 roast dinners and you could not fault them, the meat was cooked well, everything was very fresh. Finding a good roast dinner without booking weeks...More

Thank Laura-Biddulph
General Manager A, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello Laura-biddulph, thank you; we appreciate your feedback! We hope to see you soon!

Reviewed 19 May 2017 via mobile

Even though I live in Windsor with many a restaurant to chose from, I just can't stop going back to The Red Lion. First stumbled upon as my first born spent quite some time in special care at Wexham Park Hospital, it's now one of...More

Thank joanna b
General Manager A, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Joanna, thank you for the high star rating! Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us at The Red Lion, Stoke Poges. We're happy we could meet your expectations! We're looking forward to your next visit with us! Kind Regards Sandra...More

Reviewed 28 April 2017 via mobile

Went today with a friend for a catch up lunch. Food was lovely and would highly recommend going. The fixed price menu was great. Staff were friendly. Will definitely be coming back to try the Sunday roast.

Thank splat101
General Manager A, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2017

Splat101, thank you so much for the positive review! Looking forward to see you back soon Red Lion Team

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Humphry's Restaurant
164 reviews
1.57 km away
The Stag Country Pub and Dining
110 reviews
1.38 km away
Pinewood Nurseries Farm Shop & Cafe
14 reviews
.95 km away
Nearby Attractions
Stoke Park Spa
133 reviews
1.73 km away
Black Park
330 reviews
2.19 km away
Pinewood Cinema
16 reviews
3.72 km away
Burnham Beeches
64 reviews
4.42 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
bms299
Do you serve real ale?
3 October 2016|
Answer Show all 6 answers
Response from RedLionStokeGreen | Property representative |
Yes we do. We have 2 real ales on the bar. At the moment they are Sharps Doombar from Rock in Cornwall and Fuller's London Pride from Chiswick.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$6 - US$13
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 22:30
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 23:00
Saturday
11:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Stoke Green, Stoke Poges SL2 4HN, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Buckinghamshire  >  Stoke Poges
  • Phone Number: +44 1753 535115
  • E-mail
Description
An idyllic retreat set in beautiful country house-style surroundings, The Red Lion - Stoke Green serves a menu of gourmet European recipes. Trained in high-class cookery schools in Spain and Italy, the chefs bring a wealth of experience, and demonstrate knowledge of a breadth of classic and complex cooking techniques. Partnering with Rothschild wine merchants, guests can choose a bottle from the well-stocked cellar.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing