We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Horseshoe Restaurant

90 High Street | Offord D'Arcy, St Neots PE19 5RH, England
+44 1480 810297
Website
Share
Save
Certificate of Excellence
All photos (113)
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent67%
  • Very good23%
  • Average6%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“pork” (22 reviews)
“sunday roast” (18 reviews)
“fillet steak” (9 reviews)
Closed Now
12:00 p.m. - 11:00 p.m. Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
90 High Street | Offord D'Arcy, St Neots PE19 5RH, England
All Details
Top 3 Reasons to Eat Here
Sponsored by: The Horseshoe Restaurant
1. Great Food
"food was excellent and the service friendly and attentive."
BobStamford
See reviews that mention excellent food and service
2. Great desserts!
"First time in years my mother ate everything"
Margaret S
See reviews that mention excellent food and service
3. Great Service.
" The service was excellent."
emmasnonna
See reviews that mention amazing service
Write a ReviewReviews (458)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 457 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely pub nice food nice people a great find very relaxing un hurried place to be well done to all thanks for a very nice time

Thank bghaycock
Restaurant's Favourite
Reviewed June 18, 2018

Enjoyed a celebratory Birthday visit to The Shoe for lunch and it didn't disappoint. The food, wine and service were all excellent. I had the goat dish which was just superb. Luckily we managed to save room for dessert this time.

Thank Toysietoad
Ian K, Owner at The Horseshoe Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2018

We are very happy that you enjoyed your food. Thanks for taking the time. It is very much appreciated.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Starter, plaice goujons, lovely. Wife had figs, interesting and enjoyable. Different from the norm. Excellent. Carvery Sunday Roast....hmmmmm Deserts, upside down pineapple cake light @ tasty + chocolate cake double lovely. Staff efficient and pleasant. Food, a joy. This place manages to produce good quality...More

Thank geoffCambs
Ian K, Owner at The Horseshoe Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Sincere thanks for your great review! The team at The 'Shoe are glowing!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Overall first impressions were good..pleasant entrance,seating in garden and children's play area.We sat inside and had a warm welcome.Two starters were ordered,Grilled shell on Tiger Prawns and pea and mint houmus with celery.Both were nicely presented and flavoursome.A mains of Beer battered cod,with chips and...More

Thank rsgregory2002
Ian K, Owner at The Horseshoe Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Sincere thanks for your feedback. We appreciate your praise of our restaurant. Obviously we are concerned about your Beer Battered Cod feedback and can only apologise it was not to your taste. Your feedback means we are investigating what happened as we are very proud...More

Reviewed August 9, 2018 via mobile

Haven’t been in for a while, but stole the opportunity this evening. The pork souvlaki was outstanding, then the delicious white chocolate and peach mousse with lavender and coconut bon bons that, if you close your eyes, you can imagine yourself in a country cottage...More

Thank NatzBart
Ian K, Owner at The Horseshoe Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Great review! Much appreciated. Sincere thanks.

Reviewed August 3, 2018 via mobile

The worst customer service ever. We walked in (2 adults and 2 kids) yesterday for dinner at about 7pm but was told to wait till 8pm as we didn’t make any reservation. The restaurant had only 5 customers max and most of the tables were...More

Thank Daiz_13
Ian K, Owner at The Horseshoe Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2018

We are sorry you did not appreciate some 30 people had booked in advance to eat between 7 & 8pm this Friday evening. Although some tables were empty there were booked customers expected and some did arrive when you were there. I'm sure you must...More

Reviewed July 30, 2018 via mobile

We got lost and were very late for our lunch reservation, but our table for six adults and a newborn was held without a fuss. It was a special family lunch and other than the Sat Nav going haywire and leading us to a dead...More

Thank LMarshUK
Ian K, Owner at The Horseshoe Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2018

Sincere thanks for your review. Much appreciated.

Reviewed July 27, 2018 via mobile

We had a family/friends meal tonight, the food was fantastic, good portions and all delicious. Friendly staff & good atmosphere too. Would definitely recommend and will be back. The double lamb chop with moussaka courgette was amazing 😋Steaks and The Shoe burger were really good...More

Thank Kate G
Ian K, Owner at The Horseshoe Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2018

Thanks very much for taking the time to review us. Much appreciated.

Reviewed July 9, 2018 via mobile

Good food, friendly staff, have been a number of times including a family Christmas Dinner, what's more to say?

Thank Buddy W
Ian K, Owner at The Horseshoe Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2018

Many thanks for taking the time to revue us. It is much appreciated.

Reviewed July 7, 2018 via mobile

I have visited this restaurant on two consecutive Sunday’s with family. Staff are pleasant on arrival and attentive throughout. The restaurant never appears particularly busy and you are invited up to the carvery which avoids large queues and knocking into others with full plates. There...More

1  Thank PaulaBev
Ian K, Owner at The Horseshoe Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2018

We do very much appreciate your constructive critique and particularly that you enjoy the majority of our offerings. We feel your comments on our vegetables is fair. The caraway with cabbage is a popular touch but its not to everyones taste. We should provide a...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 3 hotels
The Lion Hotel
376 reviews
2.94 km away
The George Hotel & Brasserie
313 reviews
2.95 km away
The Old Bridge
573 reviews
5.35 km away
Sandford House Bar and Hotel
256 reviews
5.43 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Lion at Buckden
187 reviews
2.93 km away
The Bell
74 reviews
3.11 km away
The Black Bull
170 reviews
4.02 km away
The Anchor
24 reviews
4.59 km away
Nearby Attractions
Buckden Towers
37 reviews
2.93 km away
High Harthay Outdoor Pursuits
18 reviews
3.74 km away
Southlake Aqua Park
48 reviews
4.40 km away
Paxton Pits Nature Reserve
183 reviews
5.16 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Tricia W
June 27, 2018|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Ian K | Property representative |
The 'Shoe serves 'a la carte' fresh and prepared food on the premises Monday to Saturday. Sadly, 'TheNeilDeal' is what, in polite company, is called 'mischievous'. Perhaps have a look at the other 400+ reviews? Thanks for... More
0
Votes
MrsPrefect
April 6, 2017|
Answer
Response from 980RET | Property representative |
To reassure you all of our sauces are made to order from real ingredients no pre made, processed or packaged products are used in our kitchen. In the case of the blue cheese sauce we make it using homemade veal Demi glacé... More
-1
Votes
Samira1358
November 10, 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Jonathan B | Reviewed this property |
I don't know if they're open Christmas Day, if they are then definitely!
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$9 - US$46
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Reservations, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic, Groups, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 p.m. - 9:00 p.m.
Monday
12:00 p.m. - 10:30 p.m.
Tuesday
12:00 p.m. - 10:30 p.m.
Wednesday
12:00 p.m. - 10:30 p.m.
Thursday
12:00 p.m. - 10:30 p.m.
Friday
12:00 p.m. - 10:30 p.m.
Saturday
12:00 p.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 90 High Street | Offord D'Arcy, St Neots PE19 5RH, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cambridgeshire  >  St Neots
  • Phone Number: +44 1480 810297
  • E-mail
Description
Set in the picturesque village of Offord D'Arcy between St Neots and Godmanchester, The Horseshoe successfully combines an old village pub and a gourmet restaurant. Known locally as The 'Shoe, the Grade 2 listed 395-year old period building has been extended but retains its original features and charm. The bars offer both low ceilings and rustic style, with exposed beams and Inglenook real fireplaces, whereas the restaurant has a part vaulted ceiling and a more recent design. The frequently changing menu allows you to experience internationally influenced dishes as well as the best of British cuisine. Dishes often carry a wine recommendation to help you choose the right selection. For around £25 to £30 per person, you can enjoy a three-course meal here, and should you choose something you don't like, they will offer you another choice! The Horseshoe really is lucky after all!
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing