We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Duke of Gloucester

$$ - $$$, British,
University Way, Crewe CW1 5HW, England
+44 1270 539380
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent36%
  • Very good33%
  • Average13%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
University Way, Crewe CW1 5HW, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (343)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 342 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Upon arrival we were welcomed and taken to our table of choice (in the restaurant) immediately. We took our time to choose our meal but not an issue as enjoyed good vino whilst chatting. We ordered from the 'specials' menu and it surpassed our expectations,...More

Thank Tricia G
Joe L, General Manager at The Duke of Gloucester, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi - Brillaint to receive such positive feedback and thanks for taking the time to put it on TripAdvisor. Really glad to see you had a good time - hopefully see you again soon.

Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

Me and my family visited for Sunday dinner. I had the beef and it was really well cooked, all the veg were cooked really well and it arrived piping hot. Would definitely recommend!

Thank Claires14_cs
Joe L, General Manager at The Duke of Gloucester, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Great feedback is really appreciated I'm glad to see you enjoyed your roast on Sunday. I will make sure to pass on your comments to the team. Hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 27 August 2017 via mobile

Six of us went and ordered food which was gorgeous. The staff are lovely and the pub is very clean. We stayed for the quiz which is very well organised and good fun.

Thank Sue P
Joe L, General Manager at The Duke of Gloucester, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Great to read! Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. Hopefully see you again soon - Joe

Reviewed 25 August 2017 via mobile

Poor service for a large party. Most people had to wait a long time to be served their food and many were eating about half an hour after others on the same table had finished. Table by table service would've been much better than making...More

Thank Andy M
Joe L, General Manager at The Duke of Gloucester, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dissapointing to read. I do apologise that the service let us down on this occasion. If you have time would you mind contacting me directly at duke.gloucester@jwlees.co.uk to discuss further.

Reviewed 22 August 2017 via mobile

We visit the DoG most Fridays for dinner. The food is usually excellent. I thoroughly recommend the chicken and mushroom pie which is absolutely gorgeous. The staff are invariably brilliant, a special shout out for our friend Adele. My beer of choice is the MPA,...More

Thank marmar2016
Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

Good location, we were staying at the ibis hotel around the corner- pub had lots of parking, clean and tidy, staff very welcoming. A bit quiet but staff very attentive. Good selection on the menu inc roasts. Decent portion size and nothing too much trouble...More

Thank SRM1967
Joe L, General Manager at The Duke of Gloucester, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review of your visit. It's great to get such positive feedback and I'll make sure to pass it on to the team. Hopefully see you again soon.

Reviewed 16 August 2017

Called in on a Saturday lunchtime in preparation for a visit to Gresty Road . Even with a hotel opposite there was plenty of parking, that said the restaurant was not at all busy emphasised more so by being a large open venue. Staff were...More

1  Thank Grandparentsontours
Reviewed 15 August 2017

Been here many times whilst staying at the hotel next door. Staff are very friendly but the food is disappointing as portions are small and average fast catering style. The pub needs more cleaning as tables often covered in beer rings and salt/food - removing...More

1  Thank marmalade47
Joe L, General Manager at The Duke of Gloucester, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Glad to read the positive comments and really appreciate the constructive feedback. Hopefully we can address these points and look forward to seeing you soon.

Reviewed 10 August 2017 via mobile

Stopped off for dinner with work colleagues. Whilst the staff where friendly and helpful unfortunately the food was a let down. Five of us ate and none of us were impressed with the meals. I chose chicken wings to start which were ok, but the...More

Thank clairehI988QE
Joe L, General Manager at The Duke of Gloucester, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2017

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. I was glad to see your favourable comments about the front of house team and I will be sure to pass those on. I was dissapointed to read that you didn't enjoy the food however and...More

Reviewed 28 July 2017 via mobile

The food was good for the price you paid. The Staff were friendly and helpful. Over all a good experience

Thank Kathryn H
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Haslington Tandoori
31 reviews
1.47 km away
Rookery Wood Farm
584 reviews
1.41 km away
Bella Italia Crewe
445 reviews
1.37 km away
Nearby Attractions
Crewe Heritage Centre
130 reviews
1.46 km away
Grand Junction Retail Park
32 reviews
1.40 km away
The Alexandra Stadium
24 reviews
1.56 km away
Good Time Charlies
36 reviews
1.53 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
normanorminton
22 January 2017|
Answer
Response from Joe L | Property representative |
Hi Yes we do have full disabled facilities. Kind Regards Joe
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$5 - US$23
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Good for
Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
9:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Monday
11:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Tuesday
11:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Wednesday
11:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Thursday
11:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Friday
11:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Saturday
9:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: University Way, Crewe CW1 5HW, England (Formerly Tje Duke of Gloucester)
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cheshire  >  Crewe
  • Phone Number: +44 1270 539380
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing