We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Bears Head

$$ - $$$, British,
Newcastle Road South | Brereton, Sandbach CW11 1RS, England
+44 1477 544732
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent38%
  • Very good32%
  • Average15%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“lobster” (8 reviews)
“chicken pie” (9 reviews)
“pudding” (27 reviews)
Open Now
12:00 PM - 11:00 PMAll hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Newcastle Road South | Brereton, Sandbach CW11 1RS, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (572)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 571 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We go quite often as it's easy enough to take our 1 year old. Food is to a good standard with a good children's menu too. Warm atmosphere and cosy on a cold Sunday afternoon.

Thank KS_1009
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Wanted a late Sunday afternoon lunch, and what a great place to go. Family celebration for lunch, really welcoming place. Great friendly staff who absolutely know how to look after people, natural good hospitality. Good atmosphere, excellent food, you must try the Squid and Prawn...More

Thank Andrew W
Stuart R, General Manager at The Bears Head, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Andrew Thank you for your great review. The bread sticks and prawn and squid tempura are proving very popular indeed. I am glad you enjoyed them. I have to agree with you on the Rhubarb Gin and ginger ale, it is one of my...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely food , really can't fault it. Shame about the rude , unfriendly bar staff. Long wait on food and drinks. If they went any slower they would stop.

Thank Jackcheshire20
Stuart R, General Manager at The Bears Head, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi there Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed the food and will also make sure I investigate the issue in regards to your comments with my staff. Regards Stuart

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed on a Sunday evening in a lovely room. Room was great and clean and great quality bedding, felt brand new. We didn't get chance to eat but walking through the restaurant wished we had planned our trip better so that we could have tried...More

Thank daz1975
Stuart R, General Manager at The Bears Head, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Daz thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. Conveniently the bedding was brand new so I am glad you enjoyed it. Make sure you dine with us on your next visit. We have a new menu which guest seem...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We went as a party of three..was looking forward to the spicy pizza to only find out they had none! Which makes me wonder if they buy their products in?? Which defeats the home cooked food motto.. They had ran out of most meals on...More

Thank j b
Stuart R, General Manager at The Bears Head, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi JB I am sorry to hear you had such poor visit. I would like to assure you we do not buy our food in. We use nominated suppliers only that we purchase from to control stocking policies. If you care to discuss the matter...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I, along with my family and boyfriend, love The Bears Head! Whether it’s a special occasion or just a meal out, it’s the best! I cannot fault the place. Some of the staff now know what we drink and it adds a personal touch to...More

Thank Rochelle O
Stuart R, General Manager at The Bears Head, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Rochelle Thanks for leaving a review. It is great to hear that you are a regular visitor and our team look after you so well. We look forward to seeing you a lot in the future. Bob in soon and try our new menu....More

Reviewed 18 October 2017 via mobile

We visited the Bears Head on a Saturday evening it was fairly quiet on arrival. We weren’t greeted due to the bar staff just seating someone else for dinner. When we were shown to our table after a few mins a lovely waitress came over...More

Thank bintess
General Manager A, Manager at The Bears Head, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Bintess, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you back again soon! The Bear's Head

Reviewed 16 October 2017

Gorgeous pub, lovely ambience, friendly staff. Food is lovely, can't fault it. Only let down was a bit of a wait at the bar to get served, wasn't mega busy but they obviously needed more staff on this particular Saturday night. Will definitely return when...More

Thank Julie G
Stuart R, General Manager at The Bears Head, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Julie Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am pleased to here you enjoyed your visit and apologise about the wait at the bar. We look forward to seeing you again. Stuart and The Team

Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

Popped in for a quick tea and had so much fun it escalated Cheese starter and sharing platter as you can see devoured Youngest son sea food risotto excellent a lot of sea food in there Eldest son fish and chips this never disappoints Karen...More

1  Thank kenton_16
Stuart R, General Manager at The Bears Head, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Hi Kenton Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am pleased to hear that all members of your family enjoyed their meals and my recommendation of how to have your steak cooked was correct. We look forward to seeing you again...More

Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

The bears head has a lovely setting and is well maintained and clean. The menu has good option and is well priced. The mushrooms and pate for starters are very good and the roast dinners and fish and chips are also lovely. Good service throughout....More

Thank Matt P
Stuart R, General Manager at The Bears Head, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Hi Matt Thank you for leaving us a review. I will make sure to pass your kind words back to my kitchen team. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Stuart and The Team

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Swettenham Arms
797 reviews
3.76 km away
The George & Dragon
417 reviews
3.32 km away
Don Alberto
237 reviews
3.26 km away
The Cobbles
72 reviews
3.23 km away
Nearby Attractions
Delta Force Paintball Holmes Chapel
141 reviews
1.12 km away
Brereton Heath Local Nature Reserve
154 reviews
2.17 km away
Pirates Paradise
40 reviews
2.75 km away
Red Lion Inn Goostrey
24 reviews
5.66 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Yazz H
14 November 2017|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from Jenny Audlem C | Reviewed this property |
I’m sorry I don’t know about the rooms. If you phone the Bears Head they will tell you.
1
Vote
Carol B
12 October 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Stuart R | Property representative |
Hello Carol, yes we do allow dogs in the bar area and you can eat in there too! We hope to see you soon!
1
Vote
blankey2015
21 June 2016|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Ukdaytrippe | Reviewed this property |
Average food price £6 starter and £10 main Manu available online
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly, Kids, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 10:30 PM
Monday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
10:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Newcastle Road South | Brereton, Sandbach CW11 1RS, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cheshire  >  Sandbach
  • Phone Number: +44 1477 544732
Description
The Bear's Head in Brereton is a country pub & restaurant oozing rural charm and rustic character. Our picturesque surroundings provide the perfect backdrop for savouring the hearty, seasonal pub-food on our menu, and the carefully nurtured cask ales and fine wines gracing our bar.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing